We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable accommodation for a few days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter
Ranked #40 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Acceptable accommodation for a few days”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed for a meeting at the convention center. Located next to the Marriott Riverside. Excellent location, next to the fake river and a shopping mall, and across the street from the convention center. A short walk to Alamo. Nice lobby and lobby bar, Starbucks, etc. This is a notch below and probably cheaper than the sister hotel Marriott Riverside across the street. The rooms are a little worn out, and not as nice as the Riverside. The 24 hour card access gym is much smaller than the Riverside but OK, as long as it is not too crowded. TVs on the tread mills and elliptical machines that are not the newest models. Towels and water available. Did not look at the pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    559
    205
    71
    34
See reviews for
248
212
45
768
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Statham, GA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Location only earns this hotel's ranking..the room prices are off the chain even with convention pricing. The hotel is old and needs a pressure washing. The rooms are only available from floor 25 and up. The view is good but the guest rooms are small, no refrigerator, no free internet. Parking is $25 per day and internet $9.95 daily. Even Marriott Elite status didn't help here. The flat screen tv is the only modern amenity but when you turned it to one side it shorted out. I really wanted to leave and book elsewhere but I decided to make the best of it considering its ideal location. There are several small businesses inside like a FedEx shipping station and a Starbucks which make it convenient to the business traveler. We didn't check out the pool or workout area on the 4th floor nor did we try the restaurant or room service. We were so blown away by the room rate that we didn't feel comfortable spending any more money here. Definitely not a 4 in review..my 3 was barely earned. Do your homework. Walk a little.. This ain't it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank marco770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband, one year old daughter and I spent three nights at the Rivercenter. He was in a conference at the hotel for 9 hours on Saturday and the hotel's location was perfect for the baby and I to go exploring. It's attached to the Rivercenter Mall and the riverwalk area is right out the back door. Just around the corner is the Alamo. People said we wouldn't need our car all weekend and they were right.

Our room was very clean and the housekeeping staff were very helpful when we did need something. We asked in advance for a room higher up with a great view and for a crib to be in the room. All of these requests were met.

Room Tip: If you get a room facing the riverwalk, expect some noise later into the evening. We paid extra fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustLisaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Manager at San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I’m happy to know you and your daughter had good time exploring our very walkable city. We have a top-notch staff and I’m so glad we took great care of you. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

I would have given this hotel 4 stars, but on my last day, someone checked into the room next door. I was able to hear everything my neighbor said and did. The tv, which I don't think was excessively loud, was loud enough to hear in my room and kept me awake all night.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Majgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I was warned that the rooms would be small, which they are, and that didn't bother me, but the lack of amenities did. Expect a hair dryer, an iron and ironing board, and a small safe. That's it. Oh, and a $3.50 bottle of water. On my way home, I stayed at a "motel" that cost $90 a night, including taxes, (against the Rivercenter's $265) and has it beat hands down. The staff is terrific (handling 1400+ conference-goers as well as their usual guests with alacrity and aplomb) and the location is good -- right on the Riverwalk (or a spur of it, at least). But a little research will surely get you better value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyCamper31264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

There were many good things about the hotel (friendy helpful staff and its location among other things).
The hotel breakfast was poor - I've had some much better hotel breakfasts in the US, both as far as quality and range of choice was concerned. The coffee was weak.
The in-house Starbucks closed too early in the day (6 pm).
A major irritant was the Internet, where I couldn't find any alternative to payment by the day (cumbersome to have to repeat the producure every day for three devices). Why don't they include Internet in the overall price - it would make things so much simpler.
The room was spacious, comfortable. and clean but the windows were dirty.

Some administrative routines were poor - I didn't receive the requested copy of the bills.
The hotel wasn't that easy to contact either. I had to ring back the first time and couldn't find an e-mail address where I could send a message.
Overall, a good quality hotel but perhaps a bit complacent - distinct absence of the "Wow" factor.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
142 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Every now and then I have a hotel experience that blows me away. This place was it. I expected a big, impersonal convention hotel. While the hotel is large and busy, from the valet, to the front desk, to housekeeping, everyone was friendly, warm, efficient and welcoming. The moment we got out of the car, the valet charmed us with a huge smile and a warm welcome, and everyone we encountered from that moment on was the same way.

We used mobile check in, and it was unbelievably fast. I figured since we were staying on points, we would be assigned a small room next to the elevator, but we were actually upgraded. Our room was quiet, incredibly appointed and great. The fitness center had the size and diversity of a full scale gym. No waiting for a machine here!! The location is right on the Riverwalk and an easy walk to everything. Of course, the Italian restaurant at the hotel is amazing, so staying isn't a bad option. The bar is great too. I stay in San Antonio from time to time and have always avoided this place because I wanted something more intimate and charming. Never again. This place has everything. Superb location. Excellent staff. Great rooms. Great fitness center. I wish we had stayed longer!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherHoustonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
#42 of 355 in San Antonio
1,184 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 355 in San Antonio
2,792 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#20 of 355 in San Antonio
3,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#21 of 355 in San Antonio
2,949 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
#71 of 355 in San Antonio
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter

Property: San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter
Address: 101 Bowie St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3901
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#58 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#71 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter 4*
Number of rooms: 1001
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter Hotel San Antonio
Marriott San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing