We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location...Clean, comfortable rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter
Ranked #37 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
204 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Ideal Location...Clean, comfortable rooms!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Went to San Antonio to spend a couple of days for relaxation before business. The hotel was in great shape. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Only negative is that there wasn't a makeup mirror. It's in the perfect spot if you want to explore the riverwalk. The boats are parked literally right outside the hotel. A lot of great restaurants and bars within walking distance. Because the hotel has a lot of rooms, make sure to give yourself time if you park your car with Valet. Area was a bit jammed over the weekend with several conferences going on in the city. Staff was extremely friendly ... which is important! Enjoyed breakfast as well. Definitely would return!

Room Tip: If you want a view of the Riverwalk, you'll need to ask for it. Also, the higher up, the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    551
    203
    69
    33
See reviews for
247
210
45
756
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carrollton, Ky
Level Contributor
353 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Very nice Marriott located at the Riverwalk. What else could you want if not driving your own car? I have actually stayed here, not during a convention & with a balcony overlooking the riverwalk. On this trip, it was strictly a working "vacation". Clean & roomy accommodations. Good service & friendly employees. Didn't eat at the restaurant because all food was catered for this event, which was plentiful & delicious.

Room Tip: Fun with a balcony overlooking the Riverwalk. Try NOT to get a room near the elevators unless you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelers1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed at Marriott River Center 15 Feb 2014. We got everything we asked for, a room on the 38th floor with a view, extra pillow and towels. The reception desk was polite, and professional. The Hotel is clean considering it is really an "extension" of the Riverwalk. The lobby has a full Starbucks and is a great place to people watch. I can't really complain, the only downside was no shower cap in the room and the lobby bar was under construction. Nothing was really a 'downer". We will stay again, if we can get government rate. All decent hotels on the riverwalk are kinda pricey. It was pretty much an all "positive" stay.

Green Features: Not a concern for me when I stay, i want quality, not there to save the earth. So what if I use an extra towel or use a little extra hot water? It's about me, when I travel for fun.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed during Valentine's weekend and the service is amazing. The valet, check in, concierge, and housekeeping are so courteous. They make you feel so special. We have stayed in a lot of hotels on the Riverwalk but this one has had the friendliest staff hands down. There was construction going on but it didn't bother us at all. We loved the location and the access to the mall.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyDee30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Manager at San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear SuzyDee30,
Thank you for your great post. Every guest that walks through our doors is special to us, thank you for letting us know we made you feel so special. We love being of service to you and I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you brilliantly again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetmore, Michigan
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

It's a Marriott, it's in a great location and it's way over priced. Stayed 5 nights on business, only way you could afford it. Wifi is $13/day regular, $18/day hi speed. That's PER DAY! But you are on the river walk and close to downtown which was nice. And there's a concert hall accross the street in the convention center bldg. Everything worked fine, beds were comfortable, room was clean, service friendly but wouldn't go again (unless someone else was paying for it).

Room Tip: Make sure your credit card has a high limit before going. Also, besides going the river walk, be su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Manager at San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. While it might seem that our rates are high, we are competitively priced with other hotels in the area. As you mentioned, we are in a great location, convenient to most everything you might want to do while in San Antonio. It's hard to beat being right on the beautiful River Walk. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Although the bed was very comfortable and the view from the 30th floor was great, there were some serious irritations with this hotel. First, I did not have reliable hot water. The front desk apologized and suggested letting the water run for five minutes or so. The first day, I did eventually get hot water. The second day, it sputtered and stopped running. The third day, it worked.

Second, I do not understand why a hotel charges more than $200 per room per night and still finds it necessary to charge for internet. In this day and age, you might as well charge for use of the towels, too.

Now, on the bright side, the location was great and the concierge was very helpful suggesting restaurants. The meeting facilities were comfortable, and the food was very good. I'd go back, but I would have lower expectations.

Room Tip: Get away from the elevators as they are noisy. Try to get a room overlooking the Rivercenter Mall a...
See more room tips
Green Features: Great concept. Still, we need hot water! But I did appreciate that the hotel staff did not get me new towels just because. Most other hotels will even when you tell them not to. Kudos on that point.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNTROUTTHNTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Manager at San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the lack of hot water in your room. I know how irritating that must have been. I have made the appropriate individuals aware of the hot water issues you encountered. As with all full-service hotels, we do charge for internet service, however, the hotel does provide complimentary internet access in the lobby and in the conference level. The hotel is perfectly located on the River Walk, surrounded by many great restaurants and I’m pleased to know our very capable concierge staff was able to make great suggestions. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Ok so I live here but for my bday I wanted to party it up and stay downtown close to all the bars and hotspots. We didn't stay in the room much but what little we did see was great views(especially on the 39th floor) comfy beds although for two it's quite small if your in a double and spacious room size. If you want to head out to bars I highly recommend club Sirius to start and finish off at the kremlin which is on the riverwalk where the music is poppin and no one knows your name. So back to the hotel they have a mall attached to it which is great if your here on business and want to kill se time. Good for tourist too but nothing you can't buy back at home. Because of location and amenities it's a great choice but book early because it books up fast. As a travel agent I put my stamp of approval on this hotel

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelagentyukimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
#44 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#20 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,168 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,892 reviews
East Side
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
#65 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter

Property: San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter
Address: 101 Bowie St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3901
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#58 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#71 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter 4*
Number of rooms: 1001
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter Hotel San Antonio
Marriott San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing