We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #111 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The hotel seemed good for all the research I did on the internet but found a few things worth mentioning. Parking is difficult - we arrived late on a Saturday evening and had to park a few lots down the street - within 100 yards but didn't know that I would have to pay! The front desk was a bit short in her responses but the overall appearance upon entering was nice. We had a first floor room which overlooked the back parking lot with raised some concerns for my wife in regards to security. It appears the maid service was not thorough - we found someone else identification card on the floor and some female undergarment hanging on the shower rod!!! The bed was very uncomfortable and my back reminded me of that in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MadTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed for two weekday nights. Clean room, nicely appointed. You definitely want to ask for a 2nd or 3rd floor balcony room. Parking was scarce & cost $10 per night--park behind the hotel if you can--there are about 10 spaces there you access by an alley at the right side of the building. Small bathroom and a clawfoot bathtub that we thought was charming, but could be problematic for someone with any kind of mobility problems, as the sides are pretty high. Rate was a lot lower than other nearby hotels; we'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd or 3rd floor balcony room, park in back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

If you are looking for something other than a mega hotel in San Antonio, this fits the bill. Small and quiet, the rooms were clean and comfortable. Affordable and close to most of the major attractions. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Good for families. It was a nice change from the big chain experience.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, choose a room away from the bus stop corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

My first impression was not what I expected. The parking was a small lot across the street. Unloading the car would be difficult. The front door was broken and the lobby was small. After the initial evaluation things started improving. Although the room was small it was clean and nicely decorated. The furniture was good quality and it had a flat screenTV. The AC had a remote control so you don't have to get out of bed to make adjustments. The complimentary items in the bathroom were better than usual and nicely placed. The free breakfast was adiquate althought the area was small. It was next to the elevator so it was simple to take your tray to the second floor where there were nice tables and chairs. When staying at this hotel you need to remember this is not a five star hotel. It is a nice hotel. It's clean, has reasonable rates, it's close to the River Walk and has free breakfast and Internet. Most five star hotels don't give you free breakfast or Internet. Maybe if you plan to spend all your time in your room you may want to spend the extra money for a five star hotel. If your going to spend most of your time sightseeing then this is a great hotel. You get what you pay for plus a little more. Did I mention the staff is very friendly and helpful?

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Parkinghog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We recently spent 2 days at the O’Brien in San Antonio and although we didn't have a bad experience there our stay wasn't an especially good one. The hotel was selected based on location, price, and availability of handicapped facilities for one of our traveling party. The location to the River Walk was good, the price was reasonable, the handicapped room was very nice, and the breakfast was free. If any of those items are important to you make a reservation and enjoy the sights of San Antonio. On the other hand, if some of the small things make a difference to you read on before making your decision. Our room was not particularly clean, especially the carpet which had large and numerous stains. Parking at the hotel is limited in the extreme, with only two small lots available to approximately 20 hotel guests. The free breakfast was set up on small counters in the hotel lobby and after collecting your food on trays you take the elevator up to a dark second floor seating area. Desk service was difficult because there was only one young lady working the night shift and she couldn't leave the area. There are larger hotels with better access to the River Walk and a number of these hotels have nice restaurants right on the premises. Most of these hotels also have large staffs and adequate parking facilities. You will however pay more for a room if these amenities are important to you.

Room Tip: Arrive early and don't plan on moving your car. Ask to see your room first, mine may be the exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALLENRHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

As a fan of historic boutique hotels, we were pleasantly surprised by the O'Brien Hotel. The room was large, clean and modern. Noise from the road was present but not that bad. Parking is an issue but it was overall a great value. Will not hesitate to stay here again.

1  Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 May 2013

In selecting the O'Brien Historic Hotel, we were looking for a unique place with character and amenities. We were not disappointed. The room was very clean, comfortable, and quiet, even on the street side. We wondered how far it would be to the big sites along the Riverwalk, and were pleasantly surprised to find everything close by. We were very happy with our choice of hotel, and will go back when we have the chance!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are less expensive, but not noisy. The rooms on the back have the balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank texaschic987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Crockett Hotel
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 116 Navarro St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2933
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £68 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O'Brien Historic Hotel Downtown Riverwalk offers quiet luxury in the heart of Downtown San Antonio. We are centrally located one block from the famous Riverwalk (which offers an array of restaurants, shops and nightlife), four blocks from the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, three blocks from the Alamo Plaza. You can take a breath-taking walk on the Riverwalk and enjoy the history and magic that San Antonio has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection San Antonio
San Antonio Clarion Collection
Clarion San Antonio
O'Brien Historic Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing