We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully decorated & great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #110 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed staying in this hotel. Good location with only a short walk to the Riverwalk.
Rooms were quite large.
Breakfast was really nice with a lovely area on each floor to sit and eat it if you preferred to sitting in your room. Nice atmosphere. I would definitely stay again..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poochiebluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
There are newer reviews for O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. We were there for a night out on the Riverwalk so the location for that was good. Only complaints is that there is not a parking garage close by and the room was pretty dark with a small bathroom. I would recommend this hotel to a traveling couple, but not a family due to the size of the bathrooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanekCanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Some people complain about the parking. There's parking all around this hotel. Our room was great with a balconey. The trolley stops around the corner and takes you to the Alamo. The River Walk entrance is half a block from the hotel. The bathroom was small but useable. Lovely boutique hotel, and well work the price. Fresh brewed coffee in the lobby is very good. Staff very accommodating. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back. A lot less road noise, also that's where the balconey is.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Hotel was in a great location,value for money. Our room was fantastic with a door onto the balcony. Continental breakfast was more than enough. Staff were attentive and friendly. The hotel is an old building but renovated. Felt like we were in a western hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that opens onto the balcony, then you are not on the main road which is very quiet an...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dipster3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We knew going in that the parking was going to not be ideal, but we found that to be the least of our trouble. The room smelled bad, but we chalked it up to age. But no hot water the whole stay? Very annoying. We both took cold showers. So much for using that wonderful whirlpool tub they advertise! The staff made no effort to notify its patrons by phone, notice in lobby, note under the door, nothing. We finally called the desk after 10 minutes of cold water running and asked. Oh, and did I mention the in-room coffee maker didn't work, either? Maybe the earwig in the bathtub was the straw that broke the camel's back for me! We also used a $100 voucher on an $89 room, and they still made us pay the $11.90 taxes. Calling that even would have been a good faith effort to making things right. They would not consider doing anything to compensate for the trouble. Very disappointing and will not return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank arlyn4466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The hotel seemed good for all the research I did on the internet but found a few things worth mentioning. Parking is difficult - we arrived late on a Saturday evening and had to park a few lots down the street - within 100 yards but didn't know that I would have to pay! The front desk was a bit short in her responses but the overall appearance upon entering was nice. We had a first floor room which overlooked the back parking lot with raised some concerns for my wife in regards to security. It appears the maid service was not thorough - we found someone else identification card on the floor and some female undergarment hanging on the shower rod!!! The bed was very uncomfortable and my back reminded me of that in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MadTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed for two weekday nights. Clean room, nicely appointed. You definitely want to ask for a 2nd or 3rd floor balcony room. Parking was scarce & cost $10 per night--park behind the hotel if you can--there are about 10 spaces there you access by an alley at the right side of the building. Small bathroom and a clawfoot bathtub that we thought was charming, but could be problematic for someone with any kind of mobility problems, as the sides are pretty high. Rate was a lot lower than other nearby hotels; we'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd or 3rd floor balcony room, park in back of hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
The Fairmount
#199 of 358 in San Antonio
159 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 116 Navarro St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2933
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £74 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O'Brien Historic Hotel Downtown Riverwalk offers quiet luxury in the heart of Downtown San Antonio. We are centrally located one block from the famous Riverwalk (which offers an array of restaurants, shops and nightlife), four blocks from the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, three blocks from the Alamo Plaza. You can take a breath-taking walk on the Riverwalk and enjoy the history and magic that San Antonio has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection San Antonio
San Antonio Clarion Collection
Clarion San Antonio
O'Brien Historic Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing