We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$318
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk(San Antonio)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$289
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$1,855
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni La Mansion del Rio(San Antonio)
US$179
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$325
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crockett Hotel(San Antonio)
US$282
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omni San Antonio Hotel(San Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$192
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveller rating
193
161
64
30
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
161
64
30
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall lotsmall hotelclaw foot bathtubthe river walkwafflesbalcony roomnice continental breakfastthird floorchoice hotelswalking distancean older buildingdowntown attractionsthe ac unitbed and pillowswaffle makerstaff was very friendly and helpfulconvention center
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 480 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed staying in this hotel. Good location with only a short walk to the Riverwalk.
Rooms were quite large.
Breakfast was really nice with a lovely area on each floor to sit and eat it if you preferred to sitting in your room. Nice atmosphere. I would definitely stay again..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poochiebluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. We were there for a night out on the Riverwalk so the location for that was good. Only complaints is that there is not a parking garage close by and the room was pretty dark with a small bathroom. I would recommend this hotel to a traveling couple, but not a family due to the size of the bathrooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanekCanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Some people complain about the parking. There's parking all around this hotel. Our room was great with a balconey. The trolley stops around the corner and takes you to the Alamo. The River Walk entrance is half a block from the hotel. The bathroom was small but useable. Lovely boutique hotel, and well work the price. Fresh brewed coffee in the lobby is very good. Staff very accommodating. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back. A lot less road noise, also that's where the balconey is.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Hotel was in a great location,value for money. Our room was fantastic with a door onto the balcony. Continental breakfast was more than enough. Staff were attentive and friendly. The hotel is an old building but renovated. Felt like we were in a western hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that opens onto the balcony, then you are not on the main road which is very quiet anyway.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dipster3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We knew going in that the parking was going to not be ideal, but we found that to be the least of our trouble. The room smelled bad, but we chalked it up to age. But no hot water the whole stay? Very annoying. We both took cold showers. So much for using that wonderful whirlpool tub they advertise! The staff made no effort to notify its patrons by phone, notice in lobby, note under the door, nothing. We finally called the desk after 10 minutes of cold water running and asked. Oh, and did I mention the in-room coffee maker didn't work, either? Maybe the earwig in the bathtub was the straw that broke the camel's back for me! We also used a $100 voucher on an $89 room, and they still made us pay the $11.90 taxes. Calling that even would have been a good faith effort to making things right. They would not consider doing anything to compensate for the trouble. Very disappointing and will not return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank arlyn4466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews