We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very sweet hotel in a quiet nook of San Antonio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #109 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is a really lovely and quiet boutique hotel within walking distance of the Riverwalk. I'd probably give it more like 4.25 stars, but that was not an option.

I liked the location but parking was a bit snug. Ideally, the property would contract with a bigger parking venue.

What I loved was the staff, the coziness of the room, TV, amenities, balcony (it's shared with others on your floor), tables in the lobby of one's floor (for eating or whatever you like). I also loved the coffee maker, where I was able to make vanilla cappuccinos to my heart's content (three in a day!)

The coffeemaker broke while we were there. Of course the staff was apologetic, and it was fixed in a couple hours, but they need a fall-back position. I recommend a huge coffeemaker in the back that could be pulled out for such emergencies (and it is an emergency if you're flying out that morning!)

Overall a warm and inviting hotel with sweet personnel and that Southern hospitality for which San Antone is known.

PS I recommend the Iron Cactus for dinner! Perfect (muy bueno) Mex. food, on the Riverwalk.

Room Tip: Study the map carefully. Navarro is a really confusing street that winds around. Many one-way street...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurieweegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOBGM, General Manager at O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Laurieweegs:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us in December. We appreciate all responses, good or bad, and use these as a way to improve the hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us while visiting San Antonio. You have made me, and my staff, feel awesome with your kind words.

We look forward to your return as our guest in the future. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Sincerely,
Scott Oakey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
There are newer reviews for O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

This hotel is very outdated, the smells in the room is terrible;
We were assigned a room at the end of the first floor; the room's door faces couple refrigerators (ice machine and vendor machine etc.), the noises was terrified.
We had to go back front desk to change the room, we got an opposite side room. but same kind noise, we could not figure out where it came from, we could have good sleep any way.
People should avoid this old hotel, you need pay parking fee if you have car.

Room Tip: avoid this hotel if you can
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOBGM, General Manager at O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear cgigate:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments during your stay with us in December. I would like to apologize that your visit with us was not a positive one. Good, or bad, we use the comments we receive as a tool in order to improve on our product and service. Housekeeping and Maintenance were notified after we received your comments about the noise coming from the ice machine as well as the ‘smell’ in your guest room.

I ask you to give us another try in the future and we will do our best to make sure your stay is an enjoyable experience.

Thanks, again, for your taking time to comment on your stay.

Sincerely,
Scott Oakey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The O'Brien Historic Hotel was recommended by a friend from Houston. Was a little awkward trying to find it - as much because I'd only been to San Antonio twice before, and found the streets a little confusing. However, when we finally arrived, the receptionist couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Due to our late arrival, we had a room overlooking the car-park at the rear, but the room itself was clean and comfortable.
You can be on riverwalk in minutes, either by walking along the road to the bridge, and then down - OR walk across La Vllitta down to the amphitheatre on the /riverwalk, right by "Selina's" bridge.. (given it's nickname after the release of the film 'Selina'). A very romantic place to be...

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor to the rear, and you can look out over towards La Villitta and the Riverwalk...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gravity-Graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOBGM, General Manager at O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Gravity-Graham

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your stay with us last year. We really appreciate your wonderful comments. It sounds like our hotel was the perfect fit for your needs. We value you as a guest and know that you have a variety of choices when selecting the right hotel.

We were happy to hear that our front desk staff was friendly and helpful. I always share guest comments with my staff and enjoy their expressions while reading reviews such as yours.

Thanks again for letting us know how you felt about your stay. We hope that if you are in San Antonio again, you will stay with us.

Sincerely
Scott Oakey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

The O'Brien Historic Hotel was a lifesaver for us. As we arrived quite late on a Saturday evening, we found closed doors and fully-booked hotels everywhere we looked. However, when we arrived at the O'Brien we were welcomed in by a lovely receptionist. She gave recommendations for what to see in the city and was most helpful. The hotel is located very close to the scenic River Walk, where you'll fond lots and lots of restaurants and tourist shops. The Tower of the Americas is also within walking distance. The room (first floor, no balcony) was clean and quiet, and perfect for a one night stay. Breakfast was simple, but filling, with a small variety of dishes available (Texas-shaped waffles, yum). Overall, I'd say this small hotel might be easy to miss among the high-rise giants that surround it, but this is the place I'll stay if I ever return to San Antonio.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank SiriTax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOBGM, General Manager at O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear SiriTax;

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us in November. We were very pleased to learn that we had a room for you when nobody else did and that you enjoyed your time here at our property while visiting San Antonio.

We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

We look forward to seeing you if you ever return to San Antonio.

Sincerely,
Scott Oakey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a balcony view room. The room was great, and the balcony was nice and quiet place to go and relax. All the hotel personnel we dealt with were friendly and very helpful. This would be my pick of places to stay in downtown San Antonio. Can't beat the location. The hotel manager was extremely helpful.
I have stayed in a lot of rooms in recent years, and although I'm not super hard to please, I am very hard to impress! The O'brien impressed me.

Room Tip: The balcony view rooms are the quietest and have a nice view of the La Vilita, even though there is...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOBGM, General Manager at O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear John L:

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay with us during November and for giving us a five-star rating!!! We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. Your comments were shared with our staff and they were feeling great after hearing them!!!

Thanks again for your wonderful comments. It sounds like The O’Brien was a perfect fit for your needs. I hope to meet you on your next visit to San Antonio.

Sincerely,
Scott Oakey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Our second stay at the O'brien Hotel, which can't be beat for location and price, in my mind. Two types of rooms--those with "city view" and those with "balcony." The first time we were in a balcony room and really enjoyed looking out over La Villita each morning (yes, there is a parking lot between the hotel and La Villita, and the balcony is not private, but runs the whole length of the building, but its still a pleasant view). This time we were in a city view room, and though the room was nice, the street noise was quite loud and I can't recommend it for that reason. Also, the city view room was much smaller, though that may have been due to location in the building (end rooms-at least on the balcony side-are larger). That said, the location is just a block from the river walk, which is why you are there anyway, right? Small parking lot ($10/night--unlimited in/out--a steal in downtown SA). Bedding is plush and mattresses high-end. Decor very nice. Room is clean. Breakfast included (yogurt, fruit, pastry, bagel, waffle, cereal, tea, milk, juice), though oddly, you serve yourself on the first floor, and carry it to your room or an eating area on the second floor (trays provided). A little quirky. Staff mostly pleasant, some more helpful than others. Not a lot of staff, so if the phone is ringing, people in line, might take a few minutes to check in/out. A great hotel if you can get a balcony room, a solid choice--safe, clean, convenient--otherwise. Beware rooms on the first floor basically look out at...nothing, especially if in the back of the building.

Room Tip: Choose second and third floor rooms with a balcony (second floor balcony is covered, third is not...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sati09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOBGM, General Manager at O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear sati09;

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to contact us to let us know about your stay with us in November. Good or bad, we use the comments we receive as a ‘tool’ in order to improve on our product and service. We value you as our guest and we know that you have plenty of choices when selecting a hotel and are pleased you chose us for a SECOND time!

Our staff takes great pride in working towards a high standard of quality for our establishment and it’s good to know that their efforts on the clean rooms and breakfast did not go unnoticed.

Thanks again for sharing your comments with us. We hope that you return to visit us the next time you are in the San Antonio area.

Sincerely,
Scott Oakey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We can't say enough good things abou this hotel. Price, Staff, Cleaniness, the Huge Bath Tub.
Delissa and Arthur run the front desk and were both so helpful with directtions to attraction.

Oscar the Maintenance Supervisor also helped us out when our door lock decided to just start buzzing. He came in from home at 7:30 PM to fix it. It only took him a minute to correct the problem.

The Texas sized waffles were a big treat. And sitting on the balcony in the morning with coffee and in the evening with a cold beer was just perfect.

We will definately be back to San Antonio and the O'Brien Hotel

Room Tip: The second story balcony was perfect for us.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOBGM, General Manager at O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Franny P:

Thank you so much for the terrific comments you shared during your stay with us in November. Your comments were passed along to Delissa, Arthur and Oscar. It was wonderful to hear how you appreciated that Oscar went above and beyond by coming in from home to fix your door lock. Delissa and Arthur, at our front desk, are very knowledgeable and we are pleased they were able to help you with directions.

It sounds like our hotel was a perfect fit for your needs. Your feedback lets our staff see that their hard work is both noticed and appreciated.

Thanks again for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We hope that we see you again whenever you visit San Antonio.

Sincerely,
Scott Oakey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
The Fairmount
#199 of 358 in San Antonio
159 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 116 Navarro St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2933
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £74 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O'Brien Historic Hotel Downtown Riverwalk offers quiet luxury in the heart of Downtown San Antonio. We are centrally located one block from the famous Riverwalk (which offers an array of restaurants, shops and nightlife), four blocks from the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, three blocks from the Alamo Plaza. You can take a breath-taking walk on the Riverwalk and enjoy the history and magic that San Antonio has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection San Antonio
San Antonio Clarion Collection
Clarion San Antonio
O'Brien Historic Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing