We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #111 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The room was very clean. But small. The bath room was very very nice. The staff was great. The riverwalk was one block away. Very good location. The parking at the hotel was poor. We jag to pay to park a block away.

Room Tip: Need a microwave. Need a table to eat on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trivia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOBGM, General Manager at O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Trivia L;

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We were pleased to hear your observation that the room and bathroom were clean and nice. Our staff takes a lot of pride in working towards a high standard of quality for our rooms.

We also take our guests suggestions into consideration.

Again, thank you for taking the time to comment. We appreciate it!

Scott Oakey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is a beautiful little hotel 2 blocks away from the heart of San Antonio. The riverwalk is 2 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The hotel itself was neat and the staff was very friendly and helpful with everything. We travelled to SA from Europe and stayed in this hotel for 9 nights. I have nothing but warm memories of our trip

I recommend this hotel for all kinds of people. The hotel was peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ville S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOBGM, General Manager at O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Ville S:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate hearing all the positive comments about our staff and will be sure to pass along to them. It was great to hear that you would recommend our hotel to everyone.

We hope when you travel to the United States again, you will stay with us again.

Scott Oakey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Three nights here. Does everything we would expect of a small hotel.
Location is quite good and drive in from airport straightforward. Never had a parking problem, but rather like the breakfast arrangements, I'd not want to be staying with a convention crowd where everything is packed full. Only about 18 spaces in the near carpark for 30+ rooms.
Lobby service for DIY breakfast was often rather crowded.
Single-glazed (historic!) sash windows not the best for keeping traffic noise at bay.

Room Tip: Probaby a room at the back would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MIDLANDS-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOBGM, General Manager at O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Midlands-UK:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your wonderful comments about the location and glad you like the breakfast arrangements.

Unfortunately, there isn't anywhere we can add parking spaces to on the property. We hope you were informed you that there was parking behind the hotel as well as across the street in the parking lot.

Thank you for your suggestions regarding the windows. We have taken it into consideration.

We hope you will return again in the future and, once again, appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts.

Scott Oakey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Yes, the room was a bit small, but we were there to be tourists - Riverwalk, LaVillita, etc. We wanted a place to sleep, shower, etc. Bedding was nice and bed was comfortable. We had access to the balcony but the weather wasn't conducive to sitting there! Continental breakfast was quite nice, bagels, muffins, waffles, hot and cold cereal, yogurt, milk, juice, hot tea, several versions of coffee.

Somewhat limited in where to go to eat your food, but all in all, the price was wonderful and we were only 2 blocks from the Riverwalk. All the employees were very nice and helpful. This is certainly where I would stay on future trips to San Antonio, and I would highly recommend it to family and friends.

This building is 100 yrs old and doesn't have all the 'amenities' the larger chains have (which I don't use), such as pool, exercise room, etc. but then I am not paying for things I don't use either. They do offer high speed internet at no charge, and 70 channels of TV if you really need that.

Room Tip: if you are staying in pleasant weather ask for a balcony room (2nd or 3rd floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMS_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOBGM, General Manager at O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear CMS_on_vacation;

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your comments during your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your kind words about your happiness with the room, breakfast and our employees. It sounds like our hotel was a perfect fit for your needs. I will be sure to share your comments with our employees. Feedback like that lets them see that their efforts are noticed and appreciated.

Thank you, again, for your comments. We hope you stay with us if you ever return to San Antonio.

Scott Oakey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We spent 1 night here and thought it was a very nice hotel. It's a quaint place, small with 39 rooms. Very clean and front desk very friendly. Only draw back was the very limited parking lot. Would stay here again, the location is great.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank marian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOBGM, General Manager at O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Marian P;

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. We were happy to hear that your stay with us was a good one. We were especially pleased to hear your observation of our cleanliness and friendliness which is something we take pride in. I'll be sure to pass along your comments to our staff.

We hope you will return to visit us if you are in the San Antonio area.

Scott Oakey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Weekend trip with friends. Hotel is walking distance from the riverwalk, nearby mall and many downtown attractions. We did not have to use the car at all. (Hotel has parking across the street for $10/per day)

There is a coffee/tea/hot chocolate machine in the lobby that works day and night, which was great. Breakfast was great and rooms were a good size. There is a common balcony that we did not use due to the cold weather, but had a great view :)

Would recommend

Room Tip: Breakfast sitting area is on the 2nd floor, so those rooms may become noisy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOBGM, General Manager at O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear N Y:

Thanks for taking time out of your day to share your thoughts with us regarding your recent stay with us. We were pleased to learn that it was a good one. Good, or bad, we use the comments we receive as a 'tool' in order to improve on our product and service.

We hope to see you again if you are ever in San Antonio.

Scott Oakey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My husband and I booked 4 nights here for a vacation in San Antonio. The location of the place is great - two blocks away from the Riverwalk. However, the front desk staff almost gave us frostbite from the cold reception we got. We never felt welcome and felt more like we were intruding or imposing on them. The rooms are nice, but kind of dark and traffic noise was an issue even though we were on third (and the highest) floor. The promised turn down service at night was delivered. After two nights we checked out early and went elsewhere where we felt welcome and appreciated. Would not stay there again unless they hire staff who can smile, say hello and be friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Like2travelColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOBGM, General Manager at O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Like2travelColorado;

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us regarding your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, rooms and turn down service.

I would like to apologize for your unhappiness with our front desk staff. Good or bad, we use the comments we receive as a way to improve on our service and I've already discussed, and reviewed training, with our staff

Once again, thank you for your review. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future. We will do our best to make sure your stay is an enjoyable experience this time.

Scott Oakey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
1,999 reviews
The Fairmount
#200 of 358 in San Antonio
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Hotel Gibbs
Hotel Gibbs
#92 of 358 in San Antonio
721 reviews
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 116 Navarro St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2933
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £81 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O'Brien Historic Hotel Downtown Riverwalk offers quiet luxury in the heart of Downtown San Antonio. We are centrally located one block from the famous Riverwalk (which offers an array of restaurants, shops and nightlife), four blocks from the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, three blocks from the Alamo Plaza. You can take a breath-taking walk on the Riverwalk and enjoy the history and magic that San Antonio has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection San Antonio
San Antonio Clarion Collection
Clarion San Antonio
O'Brien Historic Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing