We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #101 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real gem!”
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Not on the Riverwalk, but walking distance to almost everything makes this a very good value. We were very pleasantly surprised. Clean, helpful staff, comfortable beds, etc.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffy217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    157
    61
    28
    25
See reviews for
74
165
22
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We loved this hotel! We paid $85 per night, which was a deal considering it was just 2 blocks from the River Walk. The bed was possibly the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in...really! We slept better than we did at home. We had the room closest to the front door and desk and thought this would be a problem (noise). How wrong we were. The only two complaints I have are 1. we had to take the lampshades off (the room was dim) and 2. we had to step in high to get into the shower/jacuzzi (if you get this room). We loved the 10 foot celings and old hotel charm. It's not as fancy as the Menninger or Emily Morgan, but they had a nice continental breakfast we could carry to our room and enjoy (plus cappucino/ cafe mocha available all day).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hogansfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Tx.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2009

I totaly enjoyed the turn down service, the friendly staff, the atmospere, and especially the location! It is quaint, cozy and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tx_roze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We were hesitant about our O'Brien reservation after reading what others had written, but our experience could not have been better. We had a 3rd-floor, king-bed, balcony room, it was quiet, clean, comfortable bed, attractive and updated. The location is ideal, away from the noise and crowds of the "main" riverwalk area, but only minutes away from a riverwalk entrance, and another few minutes walk to the restaurants and shops. Parking was not a problem for us (we used hotel parking), but there are not enough spots for every room, they advertise parking is limited--and it is--but we saw parking at adjacent lots for a reasonable price. Breakfast was slightly better than adequate--we had choices, and got what we needed to start the day. Free internet, wireless in the lobby, but they gave us a cord to connect in the room. Based on our experience, I would recommend the hotel, the staff was courteous and we had no surprises.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravelFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonial Heights, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2009

I agree with the previous review. However, the room was smaller than other hotels nearby. Although it is on located near the Riverwalk, it is located at the far end of the Riverwalk. The room had a nice whirlpool bath, free wireless internet, and a VERY small breakfast. The minuses are no fridge, small room, limited parking for an additional $10, the business center does not have business applications on the computer (Word 2003, Word 2007, XP, Powerpoint, etc.) so in most cases, you cannot use the printer. If your room is near the street, you will definitely hear traffic noises throughout the night. This would not be my first hotel recommendation to anyone visiting San Antonio. Not bad, but not my first and I've stayed at over 10 hotels in San Antonio.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriLions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2009

After hearing a lot of great reviews my fiance and I were very excited about staying at this hotel, especially since we were getting a discount from my organization. We are young travelers, and not very picky, but this hotel was just an extreme disappointment.
The parking was a bit of a hassle, but we were able to get lucky and park in the lot across the street. We didn't move the car the entire time for fear that we would be stuck without a spot.
We had a balcony room with a king. The first thing that we noticed when we walked in was an overpowering smell, like something stale or old stagnant water. We figured that it was hot outside, the AC wasn't on yet, and maybe the air needed to start circulating since this was an older building. We opened the balcony door and turned on the AC. It did not work and the smell bothered us the entire time, so much that when we had a friend come visit that night, I was embarassed to let him use our bathroom before heading out, because the room smelled so terrible.
The next thing that really upset us was when we went to bed late that night, I noticed that the sheets felt filthy. There were so many grains of dirt or something on them, that I had to actually remove the sheets and beat them on the balcony. We would have called management that night, but it was so late and we were so tired that we resigned ourselves to just sleep on the sheets.
My fiance and I had been camping the prior weekend and what I felt waking up in a tent the morning after is very similair to what I felt waking up in this hotel. Dirty and tired. The continental breakfast was nothing special, and we got out of the hotel as soon as possible.
We are mostly disappointed because we had read so many wonderful reviews and were expecting a top notch place, and especially for the price we paid to stay there. However, we probably would have been better off staying at a Motel 6.
I will add that the front desk staff was very helpful and kind, but perhaps they need to hire a better cleaning crew.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeacherTravelerRPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 February 2009

When one mentions the Clarion - O'Brien with 69 rooms, they may envision a small hotel that is either well patrolled or quaint. This hotel is adequate in both regards. My personal experience was influenced by being placed on the ground floor, just around the corner from the front desk.

The room was newly renovated and had a whirlpool bath. Once you closed the curtains, you were transposed to a lovely, well-appointed room with adequate space and facilities.
The hotel, I am told, had a fitness room that was unavailable, however, arrangements had been made to use a nearby health club as an alternative.

The desk clerk, Cynthia, was a sweetheart. I would come out of my room to flirt with her when I was in need of companionship. She was very helpful with suggestions about where to go for fun and good eats.

The hotel is located about a block and a half from the "Riverwalk", however, not the busiest part of the "walk". Another four blocks and you're in "the thick of things". A very pleasant experience. The hotel has a continental breakfast in the morning with seating on the second floor. The food for breakfast is located in the lobby and can be very ackward to sit and consume. Fortunately, being on the first floor, I could take whatever back to my room.

I would visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 356 in San Antonio
1,906 reviews
East Side
Riverwalk Vista
Riverwalk Vista
#24 of 356 in San Antonio
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
The Fairmount
#188 of 356 in San Antonio
158 reviews
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 116 Navarro St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2933
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O'Brien Historic Hotel Downtown Riverwalk offers quiet luxury in the heart of Downtown San Antonio. We are centrally located one block from the famous Riverwalk (which offers an array of restaurants, shops and nightlife), four blocks from the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, three blocks from the Alamo Plaza. You can take a breath-taking walk on the Riverwalk and enjoy the history and magic that San Antonio has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection San Antonio
San Antonio Clarion Collection
Clarion San Antonio
O'Brien Historic Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing