We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Ranked #61 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I love the Marriott Plaza in San Antonio. It’s a great experience every time I stay. I love the short walk to the Riverwalk and so many other attractions. Staff members are always so helpful and kind. The amenities are great and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am so happy that you had a wonderful experience and that all our team members you encountered were wonderful hosts. That is our goal. I know our team is so passionate about ensuring our guests have a wonderful and memorable experience.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to see you the next time you visit the Riverwalk!

Always At Your Service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    253
    89
    54
    29
See reviews for
151
172
39
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I loved this hotel. The check-in was very easy and the front staff was very friendly. The had flavored in the lobby which was nice considering it was warm outside. The rooms were nice and updated. Everything you needed. The view from my room was looking over the courtyard which was a great view of the pool. Good location to restaurants in the area. Clean rooms and hotel grounds too. Breakfast was good and quick. Will stay again for sure. Reasonable price as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room, view of pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ferrell_cat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio! Thank you for sharing your photos as well. We have such beautiful grounds and it is something that is unique to us, being a downtown hotel.

As a Marriott, our goal is to be amazing hosts and I am so happy to hear that our team helped you in whatever you needed during your stay. I know they genuinely care about each guest. Thank you so much for sharing.

I am glad you enjoyed our water. It can get nice and warm here in Texas, so providing some cool refreshment when our guests arrive, is just a small way we say thank you.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback! We hope to see you again during your next trip to San Antonio.

Always At Your Service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
On the move
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed one-night and left with a lasting impression of a very friendly hotel. Upon check-in Natasha provided a gracious welcome at the front-desk. As we were exiting the hotel for dinner the guy at the front door wished us a nice night on the town. We had breakfast in the morning and our sever David was very attentive. At checkout, we asked some questions at the front desk regarding bike routes and received a map from Dianella and Thurston. I enjoyed my stay because of the kindness of the staff, beginning from our arrival with Natasha. The purpose of the trip was to enjoy San Antonio for a day and the hotel provided a location that was just a short stroll to the Riverwalk with a very kind staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wise-sage I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I was delighted to read your review on your recent stay with us. I am so thrilled that Dianella, Thurston, Natasha and David really made a lasting impression. I know our team sincerely wants to exceed every guest’s expectations and create wonderful memories for our guests. They were so excited to see these comments. It was our pleasure to be of service and do hope we see you the next time you visit the San Antonio area.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmendorf, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is very nice and has very nice rooms. I love the room I had that was a nice size with balcony with two chairs and table. also since i was on top floor the room had sloped ceiling in the room. the staff was very nice and helpfully. This hotel is about 2 blocks from river walk. about 1 block from convention center. the pool area is very nice with a courtyard and has some old buildings around which are historical. they were evening peacocks in the courtyard. This hotel has nice lobby. I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: rooms facing Alamo street has a good view of the city skyline. the other rooms are facing the courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freedumusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay with us at the Marriott Plaza. I am so thrilled you had a wonderful experience and especially enjoyed our grounds. It is very unique to be on 6.5 acres in downtown and our entire team really wants our guests to feel it is, almost like being in a little oasis. The peacocks help too :)

Thank you so much and we hope we have the pleasure to serve you during your next trip to San Antonio!

Always At Your Service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed at the Marriott for a brief 2 day stay, attending a conference. Every staff member, from the front desk to the concierge, from the restaurant wait staff to housecleaning were exceptional. I had several diet-related requests every day and was met with nothing but professionalism and eagerness to help me. I relate their customer service to that of Nordstrom's. I was very pleased with the staff and facility. Great place for a conference.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Renee Z,.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Thank you so much for the accolades. I have shared this with our entire team and they are thrilled. It is our pleasure to be of service to you and anything we can do, we will.

We hope to see you the next time you are in the San Antonio area!

Thank you again for your patronage and for your comments.

Always At Your Service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I came to this hotel during a deluge. Perhaps that hampered my experience, but what I saw was crumbly, poorly-lit, old Marriott that needed a face-lift or two. Maybe a rebranding. The room itself was reminiscent of nicer hotels I stayed in about 20 years ago. Meaning everything was clean enough, and the bed was comfortable. However, it suffered from a common Marriott problem of being not-quite-modern enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectation in regards to the modernization. I appreciate your feedback and will share it accordingly.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay for our anniversary! We received excellent service from Front Desk personnel to the Housekeeping personnel to the Bartender in the evenings. The hot tub was great before walking around downtown and the property had nice photo locations. We will recommend family and friend coming in town to stay at this location! Thank you for a wonderful weekend! A.Chance

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Andre C.

Thank you for your review and Happy 22nd Anniversary! Thank you so much for choosing to spend it with us. I am thrilled to hear you had a wonderful experience and that all our team members were ready to serve. Our goal is to make sure each guest has a memorable experience and I am so pleased you did.

Thank you so much for recommending us to others as well. I sincerely appreciate that. We will be sure we are ready to welcome them to our hotel and San Antonio.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you for your 23rd Anniversary too!

Always At Your Service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
The Fairmount
#159 of 354 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
East Side
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
#47 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#19 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Plaza San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Property: Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Address: 555 South Alamo Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#52 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#53 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Plaza San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your Marriott Plaza San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
Marriott San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott
Marriott Plaza San Antonio Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing