We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport
Ranked #74 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Rosa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here one night while driving across the country with our dog. When we checked in they forgot to have me sign the pet agreement so they could charge me $75 for a pet fee. Then when she asked me to sign it she made it seem like I was trying to sneak the dog in even though my reservation clearly stated I was traveling with a pet. The first room they gave us still had the ozone machine in it going full blast. The second room they gave us had a broken cooling/heating system. And finally, when we requested a small fridge to keep our traveling food cool we were told "none of them work right" and we had to do without. All in all I was very disappointed. We paid more to stay here than any other Hilton property we stayed at during a two week trip and it was the worst stay we had. When I told them all this their response was "Gosh, so sorry. Would you like some extra cookies?" Two chocolate chip cookies do not make up for all this trouble and cost.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy E, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
I am so sorry for the trouble you experienced here at our property. What you encountered is not a reflection of our high standards. I would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you and to make it right.

jeremy.edens@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    292
    226
    134
    69
See reviews for
294
153
73
468
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The hotel is on the older sider, but that adds some charm. The rooms that open to the courtyard are quieter than I expected. The front desk and restaurant staff were great. Friendly and excellent service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opening into the inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chester M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy E, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for the review. We agree with you that our hotel has charm and character. I will be sure to share your comments about the front desk and restaurant staff with them. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Wells, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The stay at the Double Tree was a excellent stay. I would recomend this Hotel to all my friends and co-workers. The staff was really atentive in helping and all the cleaning staff did a good job. The pool was a great expriance all and in a good location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Silvestre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy E, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for the great review!! We welcome you back with open arms and warm DoubleTree cookies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I appreciated the delicious warm chocolate chip walnut cookie upon check in. The staff was very friendly and the facilities are very clean and comfortable. I will be returning to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kristie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy E, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for the great review! Warm DoubleTree Chocolate Chip cookies are awaiting your return! Hope to see you again sometime soon. - Jeremy E and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The room was ok but I do not like the french doors, so you need to ask for a room with a regular door. Also, the restaurant is understaffed so it is very slow. Check in was efficient. End of stay bill should be put under door so you have to check out. Check was efficient, though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
My apolgies for the slow service in the restaurant. I worked in there with them yesterday, and have gone over your review with the service personnel. Doubletree's "Green Iniative", does not allow for us the put copies of folio's under guestroom doors any longer unless requested specifically. We are happy to e-mail a copy to you on your check-out day. If you stay with us again, I would be happy to note that request on your dossier, or you may let the desk know at check-in. Thank you for letting me know we issues you encountered with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The thermostat in the room was not working properly and it was either to hot or to cold.. Not enough personnel working at checkout.. Could not talk to anyone as one person was checking out guests. The lines of checkout were long as that one person struggled to take care of them all.. They use to put your bill under your door before checkout and you could review it then..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
My apologies that we were not staffed properly to handle your complaint. As part of our "green" iniative, we no longer deliver folios for every guest. It you would like to let me know, I can add it to our Hilton dossier and it will be delivered the next time you stay. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florence, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I was used to staying at the Hilton at the airport when visiting San Antonio, but they were booked. I had never stayed at the DoubleTree before but was pleasantly surprised. I had read reviews about it being an older hotel, and it is. However, I stayed on the Hilton Honors floor and the room was very nice (it looked like it had been renovated). I also loved the staff; very professional and accommodating!! My only complaint is the pillows were too soft!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Regina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to post such a nice review. Those rooms haven't been renovated, but they are nicely furnished. Look forward to seeing you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Uptown Loop
Hilton San Antonio Airport
Hilton San Antonio Airport
#59 of 354 in San Antonio
631 reviews
Uptown Broadway
Four Points by Sheraton San Antonio Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown Broadway
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport
Uptown Broadway
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport
Address: 37 NE Loop 410, at McCullough, San Antonio, TX 78216-5822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#33 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport. Located just minutes from San Antonio International Airport (SAT) on Interstate 410, across from the upscale North Star Shopping Mall. Our centrally located hotel offers close proximity to the downtown Riverwalk area and many major attractions such as SeaWorld and Fiesta Texas. Discover many things to do in San Antonio with our 24-hour shuttle service to the airport and nearby businesses. Enjoy spacious accommodations equipped with a range of thoughtful amenities including High Def LCD televisions to signature bedding. The guestrooms were designed with your comfort in mind. The DoubleTree by Hilton features fantastic facility amenities including a picturesque courtyard with a pool and hot tub, Cascabel Restaurant & Bar and Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Antonio
San Antonio Doubletree
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing