We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel saved my anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Ranked #13 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This hotel saved my anniversary”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I booked an anniversary trip for myself and husband and my parents. The hotel I booked gave my room away. So there we were with my elderly parents and no room. We happened into the Palacio Del Rio and explained our situation. Erica took excellent care of us and even apologized for the other hotel by giving us a free dinner in their fabulous Ibiza restaurant! The rooms were wonderful with the best view ever and private balconies. Every time we encountered a staff member, we were greeted with a big hello and how are you. Everyone was wonderfully nice an genuine. You saved my anniversary and that other hotel did me a favor by giving away my room! This will be my go-to hotel for San Antonio, anytime!!

Room Tip: The elevator system was a bit tricky, but was we were given the "how to" by the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,555
    837
    246
    97
    58
See reviews for
489
753
72
1,118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winona, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This hotel probably has what you're looking for, no matter what type of vacation you're on. My wife and I stayed here on the nights from Oct 11, 2012 until Oct 14, 2012. I like history, she likes shopping, we both love atmosphere. LaVillita? next door, Rivercenter Mall? a block, convention center? across the street, Hemisfair Park? across the street, Tower of the Americas? in Hemisfair park, Alamo? two blocks, Mercado? about 8 blocks, Spanish Governor's Palacio?, about 6 blocks. river taxi/river tour? in front of the hotel. These are all easy walks, (keeping in mind we're old folks.)
The Hotel's lower level opens directly on the Riverfront, and makes it very easy to get to all of the restaurants and clubs the riverfront has to offer. We walked up and down the area looking for "something different" for dinner and often found ourselves frequently eating at the hotel's Ibiza restaurant. The food was great, the prices very reasonable, and the service spectacular. When you plant your butt for dinner, ask if Sierra is working, she'll give you great service, a smile, and workable advice about what you need to know to make your stay even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: The hotel faces almost exactly east/west. If you want morning sun and city view from your balcony, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gone2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Just a short note to recommend the outstanding customer service I recently enjoyed while staying at this Hilton. In particular ther service offered by Shiela both in the Hotel and at the sports bar by the river walk was nothing short of inspirational. Thank you for making my stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This hotel is in great walking distance to the Almo, downtown, Rivercenter mall and river walk. It is even walking distance to Market square - if you can walk 1-2 miles at a time.

The staff is friendly. It is clean. The only thing that I noticed is the road noise. We stayed on the 14th floor. I slept with ear plugs in and could still hear the traffic below. The entire outside wall is windows with a balcony. I don't know if the RiverWalk side is quieter or not - I would think so.

Room Tip: Perhaps River walk side - might be less street noise. Higher floors would help, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafterlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Can't say enough about how impressed we with the impeccable customer service observed during our say this past weekend :)
Every single employee that we encountered during our stay greeted us with a smile and a welcoming comment !
The accommodations were beautiful and well kept.
Housekeeping even took time to say hello and "how are you enjoying your stay" as we passed them in the hallway !
It was our anniversary and Maria (operator I believe is her title) upgraded our room to a river walk view and even treated us to breakfast the day of our departure !!
We are frequent wordly travelers and I do not believe I have ever witnessed such an impeccably trained staff as we did at this Hilton in San Antonio Texas :)
The management and staff are to be commented :)
Thank you

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VScott1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Did a quick overnight at the Hilton last weekend. We opted for the pre-check in on the HH site. Room remodeling is complete. We stayed on 17th floor (HH Gold member). Had a nice balcony view and excellent breakfast buffet. TIPS - Even number rooms face RW, odd have city view. Cheap parking at SA city lot on corner of Market and Bowie. $9.00/day (starts counting at 0800 hrs), cash or checks only, no CC. Easy 3 block walk to Hilton (right past River Center Mall entrance). It was cool on Sunday and there was a hot chocolate station in the valet waiting area, nice touch. Good stay. Good location. BYOB and enjoy!

Room Tip: Odd numbers face city, even face RW. Some floors are designated for HH members. All have balconies...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cactus_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Really enjoyed our stay on the river walk. The hotel staff were among the friendliest we have encountered any where. We always felt welcomed each time we walked in or out of the hotel. The wait staff in the restaurant were also very friendly and attentive. Our room was on the 11th floor. It was very clean, but the traffic noise was a little loud. The rooms have been updated, so everything was nice and clean. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a great river walk experience. Orlando with guest services was also helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeedaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,643 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,128 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 355 in San Antonio
2,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 355 in San Antonio
1,449 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#21 of 355 in San Antonio
2,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Palacio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Palacio del Rio

Property: Hilton Palacio del Rio
Address: 200 S Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Palacio del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore San Antonio from the Hilton Palacio del Rio and enjoy our San Antonio hotel’s contemporary, hacienda style setting. Spectacularly situated on the banks of the famous San Antonio River Walk, this San Antonio hotel offers 485 Guest Rooms with private balconies and a range of thoughtful amenities including modern 37-inch HD TVs, high-speed internet access and a connectivity center. Unwind with a great night’s sleep in a comfy bed and admire breathtaking panoramas across San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Palacio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Palacio Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio
Palacio Del Rio Hilton
San Antonio Hilton
Hilton Palacio Del Rio San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing