We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently renovated. Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Ranked #13 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC, USA
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Recently renovated. Great location.”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I recently spent a week at the Hilton Palacio del Rio for a work event at the Convention Center. The hotel appears to be in the final stages of a full renovation, with some minor plaster work still occurring in the lobby area. My hallway, room and bath had a warm, modern design and were spotlessly clean. The suite included a sitting room with television, bar and balcony. The bedroom was a king bed, sitting chair, desk, desk chair and a second balcony. The large bath with granite, marble and tile had separate bath and shower. My room, on the convention center side, had great balcony views of the Tower of the Americas.

The hotel is located on the River Walk and includes several restaurants and bars on the river level. Additionally, all of the many River Walk restaurants, bars and shops are only steps away. Walking left out of the front doors will take you directly to the Alamo in about 5 minutes. The Convention Center is directly across the street (the entrance is less than a 3 minute walk from the Hilton).

I was very pleased with my stay and look forward to staying there again next year when our event returns to San Antonio.

Note: The ceilings are abnormally low in this hotel. They appear to be about 7’. While not a problem for me at 5’11”, I suspect this could be disconcerting for some taller travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,600
    860
    255
    102
    61
See reviews for
510
771
73
1,159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We live in the San Antonio area and with the RIverwalk and all the festivals that take place downtown we elect to stay downtown. The Hilton Palacio del Rio is our favorite hotel. It's located right on the Riverwalk and easy to get to. We have never had a bad experience checking in or during our stay. To me it looks like the hotel was remodeled, so all the rooms have a clean, new appearance. Also, every room has a balcony either facing the Riverwalk or the street side. Both sides offer very nice views of Downtown San Antonio. With all the restaurants available on the Riverwalk we've never eaten at the hotels restaurant, but Durty Nellies Irish Pub is a fun place in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0B_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyer, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My husband, sister and I were guests of the Hilton Palacio Del Rio in San Antonio at the end of May 2013, with an arrival date of May 18, 2013 and a scheduled departure date of May 24, 2013.
Upon our arrival, we parked in the circle drive at the main entrance of the hotel to unpack the car. Before we had a chance to even check in or ask for a cart, a Hilton employee jumped in to the driver’s seat of our car and moved it a few feet closer to the center of the circle drive. After unloading the car onto a cart, we found that the car would not shift out of park. The Hilton parking employee was the last person to drive the car, even though he was not asked or authorized to do so.
After some stressful discussions with Hilton staff members, the manager of the parking staff that evening, Mr. Joseph Bahkeet, found a mechanic to come to the Hilton to take a look at the car. This mechanic was able to repair the shifter on site, but after he did so, the key would not come out of the ignition. Now, we are told that the car must be taken to his station for further repair, but since this was Saturday, he would not be able to look at it until Monday. So we have to pay the mechanic $180.00 in cash for coming out and fixing one thing and causing another issue. Now we have a car with a key stuck in the ignition that has to sit in a parking lot until Monday and we are out $180.00 so far, on repairs for something we were not responsible for breaking in the first place. Not to mention the stress and poor beginning to our vacation.
To the positive, I must commend Mr. Joseph Bahkeet, and the Hotel manager that evening, Mr. Federico Mato, for their assistance. They were helpful and accommodating. Mr. Joseph Bahkeet, in particular, showed great empathy and follow through with this very unfortunate situation. Mr. Federico Mato authorized free breakfasts and parking for us as a gesture of apology from the Hotel.
On Monday, Mr. Bahkeet made sure our car was taken to the repair station and kept us informed as to the progress of the repair. That evening, Mr. Bahkeet drove us to the station to pick up our vehicle. Now we are faced, in addition to the $180.00 already paid, with a second bill of $345.52. So, $525.52 later, and three days of our vacation later, we now have our car back.
Unfortunately, we did not have the most pleasant or relaxing vacation. We ended up having to leave a day early because my husband wanted to have the car checked out at home with our mechanic before having to return to work. Our two rooms were paid in advance, so we were left with credits of $211.37 on each room.
The Hilton desk staff said that there was nothing they could do about a refund since the rooms were paid in advance and there was no day Manager to speak with at the time of our check out.
I wish I could say I was happy with our stay at the Hilton Palacio Del Rio, but I found it very stressful and certainly not in line with Hilton’s image of a quality service hotel. I do want to single Mr. Bahkeet out for exceptional service and going the extra mile for us, but I did hope that Hilton would at least credit us the $422.74 for the early check out, since Hilton took no responsibility in paying for the costly repairs to our vehicle.
Sincerely,
Thomas Roach and Jo Anna Bryk Roach

Room Tip: Don't get a balcony that faces the Riverwalk construction or you will hear jack hammers much of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
We appreciate you staying with us recently and taking the time to write a review. I am sorry your stay was disrupted by the mechanical issues of your car. I will research the reservation and prepayment challenges and get back to you directly. Thank you for takling the time to recognize Joseph and Federico for going the extra mile to help. We will share these comments with the entire team. I hope we have the opportunity for a second chance the next time you visit San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleson, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend celebrating our anniversary in San Antonio. We spent one night at the Hilton. It was very busy while we were there and still each and every staff member tended to us as if we were the only ones there. Phillip B. took care of every need we had and went out of his way to make sure we were happy. With the two bars, restaurant, and the river walk right out the front door. There is no reason to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: The river side room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for the great review and telling us about your experience! We will also take the time to recognize Phillip for a job well done! We appreciate you staying with us and can't wait for you stay here again too! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milllington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The elevator program was extremely unique & the most responsive I've ever seen. My room was on the 7th floor & never waited more than 5 seconds to get a ride. I took it min 6 times. The location is very close to the River walk where all the resataurants are located.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 757 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We have a lot to relate about this property, all extremely positive!

The hotel was busy when we arrived, probably typical for San Antonio being a tourist city and with it being the summer season. We previously decided to use self-park; even so, the valet parking staff moved our vehicle to a safe place and we were able to enter the hotel in order to check-in. Busy as it was, check-in was very smooth with a courteous front desk staff. After check-in, the valet assisted us to our car and we then parked in the garage.

With all of our travel, we have never thought about coordinating leisure plans with the hotel in advance, like one would do with cruise ship excursions. In this case, we called the Director of Sales & Marketing, Mr. Brian Getman to discuss our anniversary. The following day Mr. Getman apparently made a referral because we received an email from the "Journey Ambassador" offering to assist us with flowers and other amenities in the room upon arrival, water taxis, a carriage ride through the King William District, etc. etc. etc. We previously have not booked these types of activities in advance and it was nice knowing it could be done in advance, thereby saving valuable time for other experiences. Whether or not one partakes is not the point, having such a service available sets the bar high. Otherwise, last minute booking at a busy property could be frustrating and a waste of vacation time.

When we made it to the room, we were ever so impressed. The entire room was very clean and the bedding comfortable. We highly recommend a room upgrade if it is available. There are two room options, one facing the Tower of Americas and the other the river. We had the river and recommend it (reasonable $ upgrade). Room service arrived with wine, chocolate covered strawberries, candy, and a floral. I think just about anything can be ordered in advance - which references the "Journey Ambassador" again. "Luz" delivered the goodies and she was both professional and friendly. The next morning we ordered room service for breakfast and it was delivered made to order and served hot... impressive, filling, and delicious.

We read herein from other posters that there was riverfront construction. We noted that it was actually across the river on the other side and it was completed the day that left. Regardless, we found that the guest elevators take guests directly to the riverwalk if they press the -2 floor button. This was quite convenient and all the main guest room elevators have this feature.

The hotel has undergone significant renovation since we were last here years ago and we found it to be beautiful, worth the expense, and perfectly located. Again, we recommend a suite, which is an upgrade, but perfect if there is a special occasion. We have traveled extensively and based on our previous experiences with other hotels and resorts, our opinion is that this hotel is worth the stay. It was really difficult to write this review because it was a constant one good experience following another. In summation, not only were the major items of importance handled in a noteworthy manner, so were the minor ones.

Yes, Conrad Hilton would be proud, and so should the current CEO of the Hilton Hotel chain! We thank the entire staff for a very memorable anniversary experience, and especially Mr. Brian Getman.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaltaBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you so much for celebrating your Anniversary with us! It was an honor to have you and your lovely Bride return 40-years to the day. Thank you for recognizing the entire staff for making your special day memorable and I am humbled at being singled out so prominently. It truly was a pleasure to help. All the best and we look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olmedo, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Great place. We had a room at the 18th floor with the view of the River side walk. The room was nice and big! Air conditioning, coffee machine and very nice toilet with a powerful shower.
The location was great, we would just leave the hotel and we had everything by walk distance, like the Cathedral of San Fernando and the Alamo!
I do recommend this place. If I happen to be in San Antonio again, I will stay here for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,077 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 358 in San Antonio
3,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,783 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 358 in San Antonio
3,047 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Palacio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Palacio del Rio

Property: Hilton Palacio del Rio
Address: 200 S Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Palacio del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore San Antonio from the Hilton Palacio del Rio and enjoy our San Antonio hotel’s contemporary, hacienda style setting. Spectacularly situated on the banks of the famous San Antonio River Walk, this San Antonio hotel offers 485 Guest Rooms with private balconies and a range of thoughtful amenities including modern 37-inch HD TVs, high-speed internet access and a connectivity center. Unwind with a great night’s sleep in a comfy bed and admire breathtaking panoramas across San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Palacio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Palacio Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio
Palacio Del Rio Hilton
San Antonio Hilton
Hilton Palacio Del Rio San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing