We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Great and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Ranked #13 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hilton property over Memorial Day weekend. I booked 2 rooms. The rooms were lovely. The beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The bedding was excellent. And everything was clean and fresh. Really a great experience that exceeded my expectations. All members I our party, even those that generally don't sleep wee slept great. I would love to know what the brand of the mattress is. When I replace my bed at home, Thea beds are a contender.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,912 - 1,918 of 2,998 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

On the Riverwalk and close to the Alamo, the hotel has a nice feel to it. Staff was helpful with advice and a restaurant reservation. Only less-than-optimum experience was being briefly stuck in a balky elevator. Happily, help came quickly. I'd visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

great hotel in the middle of everything. very nice rooms, convention center across the street on one side, river walk on the other. Comfortable lobby and friendly staff. The large conference rooms are well designed. Breakout rooms I was in were long and narrow and had no sound system, meaning the speaker has to raise his/her voice to be heard in the back (not relaxing for the vocal cords). The exercise room is rather small for a full sized hotel. The only glitches were a towel with brown stain on it and the noise. We stayed on the 21st floor on downtown side and directly below us on the 5th floor is a terrace and one night there was a wedding with a band that played on and on. The other two nights were the nights the Spurs won their first two playoff games so horns honked till after midnight. Can't fault the hotel for that.

Room Tip: River side might be quieter if there's a party going on on the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Hotel is very centrally located in the downtown/riverwalk area lots of attractions and restaurants close by. valet and self parking are a little expensive but they do allow in and out and the price is comparable with other hotels in the area. Rooms are very nice and exceptionally clean. Staff is mostly excellent.

Nikka at the front desk was exceptional and went out of her way to make our honeymoon a very special one! Eddie at the bell desk was also great! Thanks to you both again!

The only negative experience we had was when we requested a late checkout and were asked what time we would like to checkout and then were told that the hotel was negative rooms for the next day and late checkouts were not possible. No late checkout in itself was not a problem but why ask what time we would like to checkout if late checkout wasn't a possibility.

Had a great time there and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floors will be quieter and have a better view. Trains do frequent this area and being a down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JorgeJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I am sitting in my hotel room right now. It is after 10 pm. It is a Tuesday night. There is an event going on in one of the outdoor spaces of the hotel. With very loud music making it impossible to sleep. The hotel's "quiet hours" start at 9pm - which includes signs posted in the hallways requesting guests be respectful of noise levels. Apparently this does not extend to their scheduled events. I contacted staff and they stated the music will go until at least 10:30pm. Per her comments, this is an occurrence that "does not happen very often." She was not apologetic about the noise. I would absolutely inquire about scheduled events when considering a stay here. There are many other nice hotels nearby. I would suggest you consider one of them instead.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank MplsTheGoodLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear MplsTheGoodLife - Thank you for staying with us recently. We are very sorry the music from the event disturbed your evening. While the staff member is correct in saying this does not happen often, we did not handle your particular situation very well. We appreciate your feedback and will use this as an opportunity to improve. We hope to have a second chance to regain your trust in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Excellent stay on River Walk - beautiful area, great food, entertainment on river, lots of history within walking distance. be sure to see The Alamo movie in Mall before you tur the Alamo. Boat ride on river walk a necessity!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank barbaramG8247MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The service and cleanliness of the hotel was wonderful and all the staff very helpful. The security at the hotel made me feel safe too. The access to the River Walk was perfect. Every question we had was answered happily and quickly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,141 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#17 of 358 in San Antonio
3,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,982 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,277 reviews
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Palacio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Palacio del Rio

Address: 200 S Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £122 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Palacio del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore San Antonio from the Hilton Palacio del Rio and enjoy our San Antonio hotel’s contemporary, hacienda style setting. Spectacularly situated on the banks of the famous San Antonio River Walk, this San Antonio hotel offers 485 Guest Rooms with private balconies and a range of thoughtful amenities including modern 37-inch HD TVs, high-speed internet access and a connectivity center. Unwind with a great night’s sleep in a comfy bed and admire breathtaking panoramas across San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Palacio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Palacio Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio
Palacio Del Rio Hilton
San Antonio Hilton
Hilton Palacio Del Rio San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing