We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOISY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Ranked #13 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“NOISY”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Nice people, clean, modern rooms as you would expect with a Hilton. BUT....this is among the noisiest hotels I've been in - sounded like an elephant above me, I could hear the conversation through the wall next to me and they weren't even yelling and the street noise was absolutely obnoxious. If you sleep well stay here - if you don't then don't even think of staying at this one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AteT00Much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear AteTOOMuch - Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to tell us about your experience. It is great to hear you enjoyed our staff, recent renovations and that our housekeeping team delivered on the details. We have been experiencing more traffic noise lately, as Spurs fans celebrate after winning games during the playoffs (sorry Miami fans). We are also addressing the lack of insulation between rooms that adjoin. We hope to regain your trust the next time you visit San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,531
    826
    240
    95
    58
See reviews for
474
743
71
1,105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Palacio Del Rio for our anniversary weekend. We wanted to stay somewhere close to the Alamo, the Riverwalk, and the Rivercenter Mall and the Palacio delivered on all three. Since we had a river-view room, we were able to watch the show in the outdoor theater on the river. The shows would often go on until about 10:30. So, if you go to bed early, you may want avoid the river-view rooms. My wife and I had a great stay and would definitely stay at the Palacio again. PS: The Palacio is very close to Casa Rio, an excellent restaurant. If you go to Casa Rio, try the Tortilla Soup!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went to celebrate our anniversary at this beautiful hotel. The room service staff was awesome and did a great you with our amenity. Housekeeper Ana was extremely nice and helpful. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is actually a great hotel and I have stayed there several times. However, yesterday I checked out and today realized I left my IPad in the room. I called and Brian at the lost and found department was very responsive and prompt. He said the IPad wasn't found. I know I left it there. I know where it was. I hope it turns up. In the meantime, I am told there isn't anything they can do but put in an incident report. I am writing in the hopes that if others have had things go missing, they will speak up. I have the option on my IPad to be able to track it, so as soon as someone try to go online, I will be able to tell where it is. I hope this was just an oversight and look forward to the return of the IPad. Again, this is a lovely place to stay, but I am very sad about my lost item. It was my fault for leaving it there, but I do know it was there when I left.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Michelle M - Thank you for staying with us again recently! We very much appreciate the positive comments about our property. I am sorry your Ipad is missing and I know our security department is looking into the situation as well as contacting you directly. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Nicely appointed rooms with automatic lighting. Great downtown location, balcony overlooking the river. It was very quiet despite the crowded area it was in.
The room was very clean (other than some dark hair in the shower that didn't come from me).

I wasn't all that impressed with having two people come knocking on the door (and starting to enter the room) when I had a do not disturb sign on the door. I was given a late checkout, but both the guy with the large trash can, and the house keeper who knocked did it before check out. If that is the routine, why even put the 'do not disturb' signs on the doors for guests to use?

Room Tip: I was on the eighth floor, and could not really hear any noise down below with the patio door closed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great location right on the river walk with easy access from highway. Good elements of the hotel include a nice pool and good fitness center. Overall property is dated and showing signs of wear. Additionally, disappointed that we had requested (and confirmed) a king bed, but were informed only two twins available. Hotel comped parking to compensate, but would rather have simple received what we were promised.

Room Tip: Great views of Riverwalk, but will be asked to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Brett H - Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to write a review. Thank you for the positive comments about our location, pool and fitness center. We appreciate your feedback about not delivering on the bed type expectation. We will share your comments with the Front Desk team to improve on this area. I apologize that we failed to deliver and what what confirmed. We hope to regain your trust the next time your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I checked in. Went up to my room that had been specifically requested with a reservation, river view 5th or 6th floor. Got a room on the 5th floor; great right? NO! THE BED WAS MADE BUT SOMEONE HAD BEEN SLEEPING ON THE BED! The pillow had the endention of a head the bed was wrinkled, bodily fluids on the white comforter!! I went into the bathroom and found an opened and used soap bar, dirty towel on the bath counter & a used condum on the floor!!! I immediately called the front desk and was told they would either put me in a room with two double beds or in a king room on the 18th floor! I explained that I had requested a river view on a lower floor. I was rudely told "too bad that's all we have''...ah no I'm checking out I said. Got to the front desk and was directed to the manager who didn't even apologize! When I demanded that my card NOT be charged she said the card was authorized at check in & run. All they can do is check me out and "hopefully the refund will only take 3 days!'' $300.00 a night $600.00 tied up of unusable funds!
Then I'm rudely told that they found me a room, but you said all you had was the 18th floor..well lower floor but NO RIVER VIEW... uggg what don't you understand?? Geez, just get me get out of this hot crappy hotel!! Beware of the filthy rooms and RUDE employees!

Room Tip: Plenty of other very nice hotels on he river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We certainly understand the importance of guest feedback. On behalf of the Hilton Hilton Palacio del Rio Team, I would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. I deeply regret the confusion regarding your reservation and apologize that we checked you into a room that was not ready. I can assure you, we at the Hilton team are continually searching for ways to improve the quality of service our guests receive. Your experience and comments have been shared with the staff as a reminder of how each of us can affect customer service. I personally, can certainly understand the disappointment you felt with your stay not being all you expected. This is not indicative of the service Hilton prides itself on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,559 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,959 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Palacio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Palacio del Rio

Property: Hilton Palacio del Rio
Address: 200 S Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Palacio del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore San Antonio from the Hilton Palacio del Rio and enjoy our San Antonio hotel’s contemporary, hacienda style setting. Spectacularly situated on the banks of the famous San Antonio River Walk, this San Antonio hotel offers 485 Guest Rooms with private balconies and a range of thoughtful amenities including modern 37-inch HD TVs, high-speed internet access and a connectivity center. Unwind with a great night’s sleep in a comfy bed and admire breathtaking panoramas across San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Palacio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Palacio Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio
Palacio Del Rio Hilton
San Antonio Hilton
Hilton Palacio Del Rio San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing