We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay with Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Ranked #14 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay with Great Service”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My colleague and I stayed at the Hilton Palacio del Rio as exhibitors at a conference in San Antonio.

We had a rental car and were expecting boxes shipped to us as materials. We had limited time upon arrival to figure out parking and the boxes to prepare for the conference. The hotel staff, especially Philip B at the front desk and Russ Massengill at the UPS store, provided exceptional service to us and added tremendously to our stay.

Philip was very patient with us, giving us directions, helping us with our parking and other needs, not just upon arrival but during our entire stay. We appreciated his help very much!

We had some trouble with boxes arriving late, and Russ was patient and helpful to us to figure out their whereabouts and to move them in and out of the car, all on a Friday afternoon. As we left the conference, Russ helped us with shipping them back, which was a big relief.

We had a very productive weekend for business, and Phillip and Russ at the hotel truly made a difference in our stay and made our lives much easier. Next time we visit San Antonio, we will definitely stay at the Hilton again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ningjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Ningic - Thank you for staying with us while exhibiting at the recent convention! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and especially for recognizing Phillip and Russ for providing exceptional service. We will share your comments with the entire team! Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,558
    843
    246
    98
    58
See reviews for
491
756
73
1,122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Joseph b. from valet is the total diffrence. I'm impressed by his hospitality and service. He needs to be recognized more than he knows. The hotel is beautiful and the remodel is superior. Every person was a delight to talk to. Highly recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, TX
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I haven't stayed at this Hilton since they renovated. The rooms are nice and clean and the location is right on the riverwalk. We came to celebrate our 11th anniversary without the kids. I was hoping to catch up on some sleep but was kept awake by the noise in the adjoining room. The first night it was a family with kids that apparently did not have a bedtime earlier than 11pm. The second night was the worst though as we were rudely awaken to the sounds of slamming, laughing and cursing at about 2am. Sounded like a bunch of very drunk college boys. We ended up having to call security and they did stop after security came up, but sleep had alluded me by than. So, don't stay here if you want to get some rest.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank klobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear klobb - Thank you for choosing the Hilton Palacio del Rio to celebrate your 11th Anniversary and taking the time to write a review. I am sorry the noise from the adjoining room disturbed your stay and will share your comments with the management staff. We are currently working on a solution to modify the door sweeps and thresholds to improve the sound proofing. It is good to hear our security staff was quick to respond. We hope to regain your trust the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

In town for an overnight business trip. Perfect location. Easy walk to work and easier walk to the river. Vice nice property update in progress. Rooms were very well appointed. TV is HD, but a little dated. Lots of room to spread out. Good desk and plenty of outlets for charging devices. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
240 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Location right along the main part of the famous San Antonio Riverwalk, near the Arneson theater area, is the best thing this hotel has going for it. However, that location often brings with it very loud noise late into the evening due to piped or live music along the Riverwalk venues. Very loud, pounding music/bass went on past 10pm on some nights. Parking was $30 per day extra on top of a room rate upwards of $200 per night (and that was a lowered convention special rate)! Also, no breakfast provided or even a café where breakfast could be easily accessed. One has to go down to the Riverwalk and find a restaurant, many of which do not provide breakfast. There is a McDonalds and a Whataburger within a fairly easy walk on the city side, but that's kind of disappointing as a choice when staying in this beautiful tourist area. Hilton rooms were nothing special and service was sporadic...often rooms were not serviced until late afternoon or early evening...totally unacceptable to me for this supposed "luxury " hotel. Even the toilet tissue in the rooms was of VERY low, thin quality. Even valet parking attendants and bell hops were overly intrusive for my tastes making one feel awkward when not choosing their services. Overall, it did not meet my expectations for a "luxury" hotel at this price and depends a bit too much on the location. Even WiFi is usually an extra charge. We would definitely choose to try another establishment before staying here again if we ever come back to the area.

Room Tip: You decide...River side gives a better view, but comes with a lot of noise from the Riverwalk restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonworshipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Sonworshipper - Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to write a review. I am sorry our restaurant signage did not guide you to our very own River's Edge Cafe + Patio Bar off the elevator landing. We serve a great breakfast buffet every morning, in addition to full lunch and dinner service. We will definitely look at more conspicuous placement to assist our guests. We will also share your comments with the housekeeping team to help us prioritize service requests. I apologize for not meeting your expectations and hope you will give us a second chance the next time you visit San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed at the Hilton Palacio while attending a conference. The conference center is across the street so it's really convenient. It's also nice to be able to walk back via the river walk. The hotel is nicely appointed and very clean. Beds are super comfy and staff are very helpful and friendly.
A room with a balcony overlooking the river walk is a bonus.
Lots of good restaurant choices near by.
Overall- this is not a "5" star hotel but it is in a good location, clean, well appointed and has a friendly staff. It's a great choice when in the San Antonio area.
BTW- I was also there during the Spurs playoffs. Man was it loud! But fun!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the river walk side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmicdebris3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is very nice, clean, and with easy access to the city. But most of all the people who run it makes your stay worthwhile, they really do go the extra mile to make sure you feel welcome. Mr. John Cardenas the senior manager has superb people skills. No bull. He is very kind and knows how to address any concerns you may have, as he did with mine. I was in San Antonio on business and internet access is a must have for me. I had no issues with getting a strong signal and getting all of my work done from my hotel room. Do I recommend the establishment? I do. A great place to stay. I'm going back next time around on vacation with my family to San Antonio. And I will book my room at the Hilton Palacio del Rio.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms on the river side are nice, but more expensive. If you're on a budget, you still won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salvador D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,663 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,008 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 355 in San Antonio
2,957 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 355 in San Antonio
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Palacio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Palacio del Rio

Property: Hilton Palacio del Rio
Address: 200 S Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Palacio del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore San Antonio from the Hilton Palacio del Rio and enjoy our San Antonio hotel’s contemporary, hacienda style setting. Spectacularly situated on the banks of the famous San Antonio River Walk, this San Antonio hotel offers 485 Guest Rooms with private balconies and a range of thoughtful amenities including modern 37-inch HD TVs, high-speed internet access and a connectivity center. Unwind with a great night’s sleep in a comfy bed and admire breathtaking panoramas across San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Palacio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Palacio Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio
Palacio Del Rio Hilton
San Antonio Hilton
Hilton Palacio Del Rio San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing