We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location on the Riverwalk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Palacio del Rio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Ranked #14 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Lockhart, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Location on the Riverwalk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a very nice, clean Hilton right on the Riverwalk. It's above Durty Nelly's so you can enjoy one of the Riverwalk's oldest establishments without walking too far.
This Hilton has exceptional customer service. There was a mix-up with our reservation on a busy week and while we had an email confirmation, the hotel did not have our reservation in the system. Michelle at the front desk straightened everything out in a very professional way. She even explained to us how the mix-up may have happened (and we now know to call the hotel to confirm the reservation when we attend future conferences).
The hotel is modern and updated with really cool elevators. The room was nice and clean. The bathroom was very clean. We slept quite comfortably.

This hotel is well-located, clean and updated but the service was the highlight of our stay! In addition to Michelle's excellent customer service, we had a great experience with the lady in the coffee shop, housekeeping and maintenance. The morning of our stay, I noticed there was dust in the coffee pot in my room. I went downstairs to buy a cup of coffee from the little shop in the lobby. I casually mentioned the dust in the coffee pot and the lady at the counter gave me a complimentary cup of Starbucks. She seemed very concerned about the dust and asked for my room number. I got back to my room and within 5 minutes, the head of the housekeeping department knocked on the door. She examined the pot, called maintenance and had a brand new coffee pot brought up. Now THAT is outstanding customer service from a team of people working together! I will most definitely return to this Hilton!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aus_cole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,454
    799
    229
    93
    57
See reviews for
460
706
67
1,053
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

World's smallest pool with TONS of people from other hotels sneaking in. Seriously very small. We booked the hotel because they had a pool and it was NOT WORTH IT. I was so disappointed.

Our rooms were fine. The view was not really of the Riverwalk but more of a large watertower near the Riverwalk. The refrigerator was not working so they brought us another one. When we requested more towels, etc., the staff was really quick and very nice.

The location was GREAT. There was a suitable fitness room. I'll try another hotel when I come back to San Antonio, though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taves7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Elvira Ginsberg had a birthday cake platter sent to my wife in the room within minutes of check-in. What a nice touch. Please thank her. The old hotel upgrades are amazing. I stayed there as a child visiting HemisFar in 1968. What a gem and beautiful job the Hilton Group has done restoring it for years to come. Rusty Roberts~

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rusty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is conveniently located on the Riverwalk and provides easy access to many restaurants. The river cruise boats depart right in front of the hotel and it is a wonderful way to learn more about the Riverwalk. The Alamo is one block away and the Conference Center is across the street. The rooms are clean, beautifully decorated, and the staff is friendly and well-informed about San Antonio. The breakfast buffet is elaborate and even features an omelet making station. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be using it for future trips to San Antonio.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This Hilton is across the street from the SA Convention Center and in the RiverWalk. Loved the restaurants at the hotel and convenient for lunch brakes. Only negative was A/C in room was lacking but they provided a nice big fan.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The air conditioner didn't cool the room very well. We only stayed 2 nights so I didn't complain because I didn't want to have to deal with it. We just dealt with it. Otherwise it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiawatha, Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I and our teenaged daughter spent several nights here during Spring Break. The location for touring this area of San Antonio was perfect. The Riverwalk was right outside the doors. The breakfast buffet was a bit pricey, but very good and the staff was attentive. Our room was very nice. The ceilings are a bit low due to the design standard when the hotel was built. Our room had been very tastefully updated and was very elegant. We spent a fair amount of time on our balcony that overlooked the Riverwalk and also gave us a very pleasant view of La Villita. We would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Absolutely ask for a Riverwalk view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,382 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,821 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Palacio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Palacio del Rio

Property: Hilton Palacio del Rio
Address: 200 South Alamo Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Palacio del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore San Antonio from the Hilton Palacio del Rio and enjoy our San Antonio hotel’s contemporary, hacienda style setting. Spectacularly situated on the banks of the famous San Antonio River Walk, this San Antonio hotel offers 485 Guest Rooms with private balconies and a range of thoughtful amenities including modern 37-inch HD TVs, high-speed internet access and a connectivity center. Unwind with a great night’s sleep in a comfy bed and admire breathtaking panoramas across San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hilton Palacio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Palacio Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio
Palacio Del Rio Hilton
San Antonio Hilton
Hilton Palacio Del Rio San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing