We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fun Weekend Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Palacio del Rio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Ranked #13 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun Weekend Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Loved everything about this property! Ideal location on the Riverwalk, we never had to take the car out once we parked. Easy walking for shopping and dining. Had a room on the 6th floor overlooking the RiverWalk. Comfy beds, mini-fridge and a very cold A/C, (which you need in TX)! We sat on our balcony in the evenings watching the river boat cruises down below. Had breakfast each morning downstairs in the hotel restaurant. Full buffet breakfast with cooked to order omelet station, along with a wide selection of cereals, pastries, and other hot items and an assortment of beverages. You can dine inside or outside and we chose outside along the river. Can't wait to return !

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, overlooking the river :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenJo-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear JenJo-Trip:

Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to write such a great review! It is great to hear you enjoyed the balcony views and found time to also enjoy the River's Edge Patio Bar & Cafe! We cant wait for you to return too!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,387
    770
    225
    88
    56
See reviews for
444
683
64
995
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Very nice & comfortable hotel. Great location. Right along the riverwalk. Would recommend staying on the 10th floor or lower so you can get a good view of the riverwalk and the people. Valet parking is quite expensive ($39) so be ready.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Chansamone D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hotel is undergoing renovation. My wife is a Hilton Diamond which meant absolutely nothing at this hotel as there are no amenities, or at least none offered, for Diamond members. The worst part of this hotel is its parking program, Parking is 2 blocks away and is $25.00 per night or you can valet it for $35.00 per night which we did. After waiting, along with most of the other guests, for 1.5 hours on Sunday at checkout for our car we asked for the keys to be given to us and we would go find it and were told no. Then went to the front desk where a manager removed the charge, got the key, walked the two blocks to the 8 story parking structure, rode the elevator up 6 floors which was as far as it went, then hiked two more floors on the car ramps (no stairs are available) to get our car. That walk was the best customer service we received.
All of the restaurants at night have the same core menu.
Air conditioning in the room was mediocre.

Room Tip: Cannot think of any
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tfaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear tfaris:

Thank you for staying with us recently and for your wife being a loyal Diamond Member! I am sorry your status level was not recognized at check-in and therefore we failed to communicate the various benefits available to you. We will review these opportunities with the front desk staff to better serve our loyal clientele.

Thank you also for your feedback about the parking garage. We will review our signage package to help direct guests to the stairs that are available.

We are happy to report the Lobby Bar renovation was completed yesterday.

We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback and hope to have a second chance to regain your trust the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Excellent stay in SanAntonio, I loved it. Awesome location, warm hospitality of the staff members, good rooms with wi-fi, nice view of the river walk, different restaurants and coffee shops, helpful waiters (I was helped a lot by a waiter to choose my dish being a totally stranger among latin food). If I visit the place again, obviously I would like to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TitanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Over rated. I stayed on the 10th floor. Paid a premium for a river view. Instead I got to stare at some kind of ugly metal round building. The part of the river walk I did see I had to lean over my balcony and stare straight down to see anything decent. Room was tragically small and tight. Yes there are updated fixtures and such but the restroom wasn't great. I just have a problem stepping into a cheap tub and shower curtain in what was almost a $275 a night room. Tv was....cheap. there was dust EVERYWHERE. opened the curtain to the balcony and the light exposed a couple blankets of dust and what ever else. The hallways smelled damp, unclean. The pool is ridiculously small. Not a bad view of things from there but it was as small as I've ever seen. The "Jacuzzi" or hot tub is tiny. Big enough for one couple only. Definitely be haVing strangers feet all over you in that thing. The bars downstairs were ok if you weren't social or a people person. Definitely not hot spots. The lobby seating area isn't inviting as it's kinda tucked around a stair case. Not good space for even a family to sit. Yes the staff was polite and smiling and helpful. Theres nothing disgusting about this hotel. It's over all clean. From my personal opinion tho there's not enough charm or spirit to make me want to go back. And since I was told I wouldn't know what floor or room number I would get until check in I'd say most bookings are a gamble when you ask for a river view.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Moe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear More W -

Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to write a review.. Thank you for recognizing our team members as being polite and smiling.

We will share your comments with our housekeeping team to improve upon the dust you experienced in your room. We are also investigating different solutions for the jacuzzi that may be more appropriate for our situation.

We understand the seating arrangement in the lobby was not ideal during your stay. Now that our lobby bar update is completed, a more inviting and expansive area to gather is available and looks great!

Lastly, Hilton recently launched E-Check-in. This mobile service allows guests to preselect their room which will help eliminate the guess work.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you will give us a second chance the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Very average for the $$. They definitely take advantage of their river location. The check in took quite some time ans parking is a very expensive addition to the price of the room. The room was quite noisy from hall noise also.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Mike W -

We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to tell us about your experience.

Thank you for your feedback about our parking. We will share your comments with the management team as we evaluate future pricing I am sorry the current parking rates were not easily viewable from our website and confirmations.

Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The location was impeccable! We ended up on the 17th floor with a balcony, but it faced the road. Spend a little extra for the river view. Even on the 17th floor, the road noise was very loud. Room was clean and very spacious. You're within walking distance to everything.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Randa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,731 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Palacio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Palacio del Rio

Property: Hilton Palacio del Rio
Address: 200 South Alamo Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Palacio del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore San Antonio from the Hilton Palacio del Rio and enjoy our San Antonio hotel’s contemporary, hacienda style setting. Spectacularly situated on the banks of the famous San Antonio River Walk, this San Antonio hotel offers 485 Guest Rooms with private balconies and a range of thoughtful amenities including modern 37-inch HD TVs, high-speed internet access and a connectivity center. Unwind with a great night’s sleep in a comfy bed and admire breathtaking panoramas across San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hilton Palacio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Palacio Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio
Palacio Del Rio Hilton
San Antonio Hilton
Hilton Palacio Del Rio San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing