We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Icon by NAME”
Review of Menger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Menger Hotel
Ranked #21 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We have never stayed there so we booked a room for a family vacation. The valet service was nice but it went down hill from there. The porter said "We'll bring you bags right up!" It was a busy evening so the desk manager checked us in, he never smiled or had anything nice to say or questions about our trip like "can I help you with anything else?"...it was unpleasant. We entered out "Days Inn" (I mean drab/dull, no decor what so ever) equivalent room #5144 and waited, and waited, and waited for our luggage. After 20min I went and got it myself. I think the new (1950s) addition must not be comparable to the historic section. BTW: there was a ball of black hair in the tub and the room needs a makeover.
Anyway, I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MQM1Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

I truly appreciate you taking the time to advise Trip Advisor of your experiences during your stay.

We are excited to announce that the hotel guest rooms will be renovated and we look forward to the changes.

We hope when you are able to return to San Antonio, you will once again consider the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,254 - 2,260 of 2,670 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

The Menger hotel is a family tradition; we haven't considered another hotel in San Antonio since our first visit since 1994 with our children and we have always enjoyed our stays at the hotel.
After 5 years, my husband and I just spent a couple of nights there and noticed that it hasn’t been kept up to the hotel standards, our room smelled damp.
We always eat at the Colonial Room restaurant, and this time we were a bit disappointed that the array of pastries that once were displayed at breakfast is no longer offered. Our waitress was very accommodating and attentive and she offered us substitutes. Glad to see that homemade ice cream is still offered at the lunch buffet. We also miss the beautiful green walls in the restaurant; otherwise, the atmosphere is still exceptional. We still plan on returning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mschoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

I truly thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with Trip Advisor.We are always pleased that families such as your traditionally enjoy their return and they notice the differences.

We are in the process of a renovation in the rooms and are excited about the changes.Our Colonial Dining Room buffets offer a various items and we also have a menu service. We appreciate your comments regarding the pastries. Your comments will be shared with the ladies and gentlemen of the Colonial Dining Room as our committment to excellence is reinforced.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your return visit.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel and had mixed feelings about it.

I will start with the positives:

The Mengor has a great location. It is within walking distance of the Alamo, Riverwalk, Mall, Convention Center, Ripley attractions, and many other places. Also there is a lot to look at while walking around the hotel. Heated outdoor pool, hottub, fitness room (few cardio machines) and a good restaurant. Also the staff is very friendly.

Now with the negatives:

They charged $27.03 per day for parking. This is not optional since there is nowhere else to park. Also they do not tell you the price of parking until you are checking out and are paying for it. If you are planning to stay here, make sure you factor this into your decision when looking at the price of the rooms so that you don't leave feeling ripped off like I did.

Also the room itself is very small considering the price per night. Just the room alone would make me believe this was a 1 or 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiger52680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.

Several commercial parking areas are available within walking distance of the Historic Menger hotel and our valet service provides in and out privileges at a daily rate and are comparable to downtown hotels.

We hope when you return to San Antonio, you will once again consider the Historic Menger Hotel as your hotel of choice.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This historic hotel is dirty. There was dust "fur" in the bathroom, housekeeping was virtually non existent. Don't waste your time staying there. There are many hotels on the RiverWalk that are much nicer. Service was terrible. In addition, they charged $25 per day to park your car.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veglover38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your delighful dining experience with Trip Advisor.

The ladies and gentlemen of our staff are committed to providing exemplary guest services and we appreciate your kind notes. Your comments will be shared with our staff.

We look forward to your return and hope when the opportunity arises you will also consider our the Historic Menger Hotel as your lodging choice.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

A classy old hotel in a prime location in San Antonio. Literally across the street from the Alamo and 50 yards from the Riverwalk. Lots of history and tradition here. Creaky floors, old style fixtures add to the ambiance of a hotel that is 150 years old. The concierge, Ernesto, is very helpful and will take time to talk to you about the historic and "ghostly" happenings of the hotel.

The lunch buffet is excellent at $15.50 per person. Lots of good food, great selection, nice dessert table, fine linens and free hot or iced tea. The staff was very helpful getting my wife a salad dressing that wasn't at the buffet and getting my children these huge strawberries when the fruit tray ran out. You can Valet park for FREE (get stub validated at restaurant) and have up to TWO hours to eat, tour the hotel and walk around the riverwalk.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We toured this hotel but didn't stay there. I asked the front desk person for directions and he was very helpful. This hotel is gorgeous. Stop in and see it, even if you don't stay there.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Darlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We have returned home from our stay at the Menger Hotel and wanted to share our experience. The room was comfy and quiet and of course, we always enjoy being adjacent to the Alamo and the Riverwalk. The staff had a great "Can do" attitude.Don't miss the Menger Bar, one can feel the presence of Teddy Roosevelt and his Rough Riders. Try the Colonial Restaurant for a made to order omelet and an excellent Bacon Cheeseburger and fries,

Since we were attending "Dawn at the Alamo" and needed to be on the Alamo grounds at 5:30 am, it worked beautifully to stay at the Menger.

The Menger is a must stay location for those seeking an exceptional historical hotel accommodations, and location, location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to share your delightful experience with Trip Advisor.

The Historic Menger Hotel's location across the street from the Alamo and very close to other historical sites throughout the city provides our guests with the opportunity to epxerience a memorable visit to downtown San Antonio.

We will share our comments with the ladies and gentlemen of our staff as reinforcement of our commitment to our history and guest satisfaction.

We look forward to your return to the Historic Menger Hotel when your travels bring you back to San Antonio.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 357 in San Antonio
2,093 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 357 in San Antonio
4,090 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
3,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,325 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
3,272 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menger Hotel

Address: 204 Alamo Plz, San Antonio, TX 78205-2687
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#74 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#104 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £114 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Menger Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1859 hotel next to Alamo, 1 block from Riverwalk. Originally built in 1859, The Menger Hotel is located in central San Antonio, one block from the famed Riverwalk, the Children's Museum, and the Buckhorn Museum. Nearby points of interest also include the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, and San Antonio Central Library. The hotel's Colonial Room Restaurant serves American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch. The historic Menger Bar, a replica of London's House of Lords Pub, features cherry paneling and booth seating. Room service is also available.The Menger Hotel's tropical courtyard garden looks out onto an outdoor heated pool. On-site recreational amenities also include a spa tub, a sauna, and a fitness facility with cardiovascular equipment. The full-service Alamo Plaza Spa offers spa treatments including massages, scrubs, facials, and a Finnish sauna. More than 11,618 square feet of flexible function space accommodates up to 750 guests and includes the Plaza Ballroom, 9 meeting and conference rooms, poolside rooms, and a terrace that overlooks the Menger Court. Valet parking is available (surcharge). Complimentary wireless Internet access is offered in all public areas. The Menger Hotel is a smoke-free property.Built in 1859, the five-story Menger Hotel is next to the Alamo and just one block from the Children's Museum and the shops at the Riverwalk; the arts community of La Villita is four blocks away. The hotel features the Colonial Room Restaurant and the historic Menger Bar, a replica of London’s House of Lord’s Pub. Additional amenities include an outdoor pool, a spa tub, and a spa offering European-style treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Menger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menger Hotel San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing