We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Antique but nice just needs some small improvements” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Menger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Menger Hotel
Ranked #29 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Antique but nice just needs some small improvements”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Hotel is not actually bad, I liked the whole antique feeling especially it being considered a historic site and haunted but, I think the bathrooms need some remodeling, beds can be a little more comfortable and the balcony for the rooms can use some remodeling. The elevators since it's an old building definitely took a long time as expected. The pool area wasn't so bad. Staff was great, valet parking was great and perfect area right next to the Alamo, the mall is attached and the riverwalk is across the street as well as all of the local fun museums. Overall I give it an 8 out of 10 just needs basic improvements but, hopefully keeping to the antique historic look.

Room Tip: If you want a haunted room I was told you need to stay in the historic wing. And oddly enough those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Generro_Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with Trip Advisor.

It is very rewarding when a guest recognizes our efforts toward historic preservation while offering modern conveniences to our guests. It is our goal that every guest leave with fond memories and we are pleased that we exceeded your expectation.s

We look forward to your return to the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    673
    294
    159
    137
See reviews for
444
640
71
558
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This was my anniversary and this hotel was on my bucket list.
Our biggest disappointment was the air being turned off every night! Because the hotel is a historical property the air is turned off in the whole hotel if the temperature falls to 40 F. They turned it back on in the morning, but our room did not cool until after we were trying to dress. It was 76 F!!! I would never have made reservations had I known this! .
I was disappointed with attention to detail. The 5th floor needs updating. There was ladies knee highs previously worn left on the floor in front of the air purifier. Bathroom floor needed attention. Bellmen need a makeover.

The buffet breakfast was excellent but over priced for $20 per person. Room service was prompt and delicious... Excellent coffee.

The Executive Manager was very very understanding and professional. When we spoke to management about our disappointment, we were compensated fairly and that was very much appreciated. I was expecting much more from this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on a lower floor if you are heat sensitive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerryandRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Your comments to Trip Advisor are truly appreciated.

We are pleased that our Management Team responded when you expressed your concerns regarding your stay. We are striving to improve our services to ensure that this does not occur in the future.

We hope when you are able to return to San Antonio, you will once again select the Historic Menger Hotel for your lodging needs.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I am the type who usually have complaints about everything, this hotel is an exception. Walking in you feel a since of calm. The outside of the hotel does not prepare you, for the beauty inside. The staff and the spirits, are very nice. While walking around at 3:00 am in the old section with my daughter. We were talking about going to the next floor, the elevator door opened by itself. The only other live person we saw was a security gaurd, who asked if we were looking for ghost's. I told him that I mainly was interested the architecture of the hotel, I had interest in the spirits since I am co-founder of a paranormal group. He let me know that I was in the right place for both architecture, and spirits. While there we got a full body apparition, picture of two women faces staring at us, the elevator door opening four us, banging in a bathroom stall, a evp of a woman saying "ouch" as I set down on a seat in the bathroom, a woman agreeing with me when I said old furniture is better than the stuff you found today, a woman following us (we saw out of corner of your eye, and footsteps behind us (all the activity we caught, you have NO problem seeing or hearing what was caught). Even though we caught activity, I still liked the feel of the building itself. Worth every penny to stay. We was 2 seconds from the alamo, 5 from the mall and river walk, and in the middle of every other location you want to visit. As for the bad, we stayed a night at another hotel, instead of staying the full three nights at The Menger Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share the highlights of the beautiful Historic Menger Hotel.

It is always rewarding when a guest recognizes our efforts toward historic perservation. The ladies and gentlemen of our staff will be pleased their goal of guest satisfaction exceeded your expectations.

we look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to San Antonio and the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
188 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

If you are going to San Antonio, you need to stay at this charming historic hotel. The location is great for visiting the beautiful Riverwalk and you are directly across the street from the Alamo. From the airport is it about a $25 cab ride.

At the front desk, you are greeted by a pleasant staff member who warmly welcomes you, provides a bit of history and explains that there is a walking tour of the hotel to learn more if interested before you head up to your room.

When we arrive at our room, it was bright and pleasant. Pretty much everything you would need was provided.

After unpacking, we head down to explore the hotel. Everywhere you turn there are moments of history displays in the window boxes going down the hallways, antique pianos, paintings and three unique shops. Our favorite shop was the one where they had numerous famous battles displayed using miniature soldiers and backdrops. Just unbelievable! The gardens and pool set off the property nicely. There is a beautiful restaurant that offers breakfast, lunch and dinner.

But don’t miss stopping by and having a drink at the Menger Bar, which is an exact replica of London’s House of Lord’s Pub. It is also said this is where Teddy Roosevelt recruited his Rough Riders. Again lots of historical items displayed for you to see and read.

All in all a terrific value and a great place to relax and take in the sites.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debfannin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Your comments to Trip Advisor are appreciated.

The ladies and gentlemen of our staff will be pleased to learn that their efforts toward exemplary guest satisfaction were recognized.

We look forward to your return to the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
webster, ny
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is our 3rd stay at the Menger. For the reasonable price, we get history and old elegance. The hotel is located next door to the Alamo and across the street from the riverwalk entrance and trolley service. The Rivercenter Mall entrance is along side of the hotel as well. For about $55. pp you can enjoy a 3 course dinner, hotel tour and ghost tour. The hotel has older and newer rooms. A fridge in the room is available upon request. Shower water may need to run for awhile to get hot, air conditioning may need some explaining, but the service is ready to help. The rocking chairs in the courtyard are wonderful for cigars or sipping wine. Experience the easy charm of past. It will add to your San Antonio experience!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
We truly appreicate you taking the time to share your experience of your stay with Trip Advisor.

As the oldest hotel that has continued operations west of the Mississippi, we are pleased to learn that our efforts toward historic perservation are recognized. We are pleased that you enjoyed our garden as it is a favorite place to relax.

We look forward to your return to the Historic Menger Hotel .

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Managaer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishkek, Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

The brunch setting allowed lots of time to sit and enjoy the room with such a huge selection of great food. Fernando Santa Fe, the guitarist on stage, also played for hours some of the most famous pieces for the Spanish guitar. I recommend it for a special occasion.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dylan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
We are very pleased that you took the time to share with Trip Advisor your experiences with The Colonial Dining Room.

It is always rewarding when we receive praise from our long term guests with our efforts to exemplary guest satisfaction recognized..

We look forward to your return!

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Haven't stayed at the Menger but love their Sunday Brunch. Went today for probably our 10th time and enjoyed a guitarist who was very talented and a great entertainer. The brunch is to die for with great variety and everything cooked to perfection. Even if you don't stay here, EAT HERE! We live in San Antonio and this is a frequent special treat for us.

Room Tip: Sorry, can't comment on their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbuelitaSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.

The ladies and gentlemen of our Colonial Dining Room and kitchen staff will be pleased that their efforts were recognized and appreciated. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff as reinforcement of our committment to exemplary guest satisfaction.

We hope when you have the opportunity for an overnight stay, you will choose the Historic Menger Hotel as your lodging choice and we look forward once again to your return to our Sunday Brunch.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#21 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#9 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#16 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menger Hotel

Property: Menger Hotel
Address: 204 Alamo Plz, San Antonio, TX 78205-2687
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#84 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#103 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Menger Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1859 hotel next to Alamo, 1 block from Riverwalk. Originally built in 1859, The Menger Hotel is located in central San Antonio, one block from the famed Riverwalk, the Children's Museum, and the Buckhorn Museum. Nearby points of interest also include the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, and San Antonio Central Library. The hotel's Colonial Room Restaurant serves American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch. The historic Menger Bar, a replica of London's House of Lords Pub, features cherry paneling and booth seating. Room service is also available.The Menger Hotel's tropical courtyard garden looks out onto an outdoor heated pool. On-site recreational amenities also include a spa tub, a sauna, and a fitness facility with cardiovascular equipment. The full-service Alamo Plaza Spa offers spa treatments including massages, scrubs, facials, and a Finnish sauna. More than 11,618 square feet of flexible function space accommodates up to 750 guests and includes the Plaza Ballroom, 9 meeting and conference rooms, poolside rooms, and a terrace that overlooks the Menger Court. Valet parking is available (surcharge). Complimentary wireless Internet access is offered in all public areas. The Menger Hotel is a smoke-free property.Built in 1859, the five-story Menger Hotel is next to the Alamo and just one block from the Children's Museum and the shops at the Riverwalk; the arts community of La Villita is four blocks away. The hotel features the Colonial Room Restaurant and the historic Menger Bar, a replica of London’s House of Lord’s Pub. Additional amenities include an outdoor pool, a spa tub, and a spa offering European-style treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Menger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menger Hotel San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing