We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Historical, Classical, Affordable, Best Hotel in San Antonio”
Review of Menger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Menger Hotel
Ranked #23 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

First time in San Antonio and I accidentally picked this hotel out of a hundred. I was looking for an affordable hotel walking distance from the Alamo and the River Walk and this one appeared to be one. The wife and I stayed for 2 nights. We got to the hotel and it was more beautiful than all the pictures online. All reviews will tell you about being a historic site, I want to stress the amount of history in all areas of the hotel, it’s a beautiful museum! Everywhere you turn there’s a chance to take a picture with something interesting in the background. It’s like walking into a classical hotel with all the amenities of any modern hotel in San Antonio. The room we stayed had one bed, with a living room area nicely decorated with really beautiful furniture. It made us feel very happy and welcome. We dined at the hotel, and the food was beyond good. We ordered the steak and I just have to say WOW! They have live music at night, his name is Fernando who plays classical songs on his guitar. He played 3 songs for us, and made us feel really happy to be there. At night it’s really quiet and you can have a very personal and romantic dinner. The Alamo is literally next door. Walk outside, turn right and there it is! The Riverwalk is to the left and is also very close. I want to personally thank the receptionist Hanna for helping us book the room, Fernando for his personal touch in making our night so special with his guitar. The cleaning staff for having such a clean room for us. The valet for taking good care of our car and having it ready for us whenever we called. And a special thanks to the Menger management for having such a beautiful hotel, and for all the historic art displays. If this is your first time in San Antonio(and you’re not sure where to stay), and you’ve never seen the Alamo, love everything that has to do with history, this is the hotel to stay at. Very affordable, rich in history but modern in every way, friendly staff and everything is next door, no need to use the car unless you’re going to Sea World.

Room Tip: Any room is really worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

When a guest takes the time to share their experience with Trip Advisor, it is always appreciated.

We are pleased that our efforts toward exemplary guest satisfaction and historic preservation were recognized. Your comments will be shared and appreciated by the ladies and gentlemen of our staff. We are proud of being the neighbor to the Historic Alamo and the San Antonio Riverwalk.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to San Antonio and the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,876 - 1,882 of 2,519 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

I am a little leery of staying in "historic" hotels, but this one was a pleasant surprise!! The room was super clean, bed linens were of excellent quality and the service at the front desk was exceptional. The restaurant inside the Menger serves an awesome breakfast buffet that no one wants to miss. There is so much history from Teddy Roosevelt, hatchet welding Carry Nation to the mysteries of the Hotel itself. Beautiful gardens to enjoy anytime of the day and very large lobby for relaxing. The River Walk is just around the corner and is 1 block for great restaurants that you can dine outside by the River. I went for business, but would be a great place to stay for a family vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

We truly appreciate your response to Trip Advisor.

It is our goal that every guest leave with fond memories and we are pleased that our efforts are recognized. We have shared your comments with the ladies and gentlemen of our staff are reinforcement of our committment to excellance.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to San Antonio and the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed at The Menger for one night in May. Beautiful old hotel (1858) with a pleasant and helpful staff. In the hope of encountering something paranormal, we asked for a room in the oldest part of the hotel. The room was quite small and had not be updated in many years (decades?) as evidenced by the box tv and worn furniture. Still, the room was comfortable, and we enjoyed our stay. The location is excellent with Mall, Riverwalk, and Alamo just a block or two away. No bumps in the night other than stubbing my toe on the raised bathroom floor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidMcTier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience during your stay with Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that our efforts toward historic preservation were appreciated. Your comments have been shared with the ladies and gentlemen of our staff as we committ to our goal of exemplary guest satisfaction.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to San Antonio and the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

If you are looking for a hotel with all new technology, in vogue decor, 5 restaurants, 4 bars and 500 rooms - book another Hotel! If you want a hotel that is personal, very friendly, historical, has one GREAT restaurant, a nice pool and is quite possibly haunted - book the Menger!! We love this Grand Dame of a Hotel. We have stayed there almost every year for over 20 years. When it's just my husband and I traveling, we prefer one of the older king bedrooms. If we are with our 11 yr old son or our 87 yr old "Pawpaw" or both, we always book a double room with balcony overlooking the pool. Keep your heavy shade drawn closed in the summer, while your out, so the room stays cool! The TV's are fine, but do not expect to receive all the top Cable stations. Why are you watching TV? The Alamo is literally next door and so is the Riverside Mall. The Convention Center is 3 blocks away, even shorter through the air conditioned mall. Riverwalk access is all around you. Trolley Tours is downstairs, as is one of the FINEST antique shops in the United States. The Menger Bar is THE place to go especially during Alamo Battle reenactment days. The Crockett bar across the street is good on those days too.
Now, the best part of this Hotel to us is the "Breakfast Buffet with Omelet Station", YUMMY!! Also, try to snag one of their scrumptious Chocolate Chip cookies at lunch time (11:00). The best you'll ever have! They go fast though. Also, we ALWAYS do a bed bug check mo matter where we go and we have NEVER seen any at the Menger. A lowly spider or too, but NEVER a bed bug! Always check for yourself though. Give the Menger a chance, you just might become a loyal guest as we became years ago!!

Room Tip: If you want to splurge, get either the King Suite or the Alamo Suite. Simply fabulous! You can als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwendolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Your delightful comments regarding the Historic Menger Hotel are appreciated.
You have hilighted the many reasons to stay with us and to visit San Antonio.

The ladies and gentlemen of our staff will be pleased to learn that their committment to exemplary guest service has exceeded your expectations.

When your travels bring you back to San Antonio, we look forward to your return to the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

If you need to recruit rough riders, do as Teddy Roosevelt did, sit in the bar of the Menger Hotel. Conversation comes easy.
Let me tell you about Larry Gonzales. He works in the reservation office. That is where I stormed in, bent out of shape about malfunctioning equipment in the "business center". Larry with his soft voice had me pacified in no time: "I'll help you,Sir." And help he did, for about an hour. It took that long to fix the problem. Larry was patient with me as I have to be with a pediatric patient. We finally got it done. Menger Hotel, if you read this: give Larry a hefty raise ! He is the face of your hotel.

While I am at it: the food here is surprisingly good. Usually I shun hotel restaurants. This one is worth a visit. Good solid quality as I find it in Europe. Competent waiters, too.0

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tillhein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.
Please accept my apologies for the situation you experienced in our business cernter. I am very pleased to learn that Larry Gonzales was able to assist you.

It is truly rewarding when a guest takes the time to personally recogonize a member of our staff. Your comments will be shared with Mr. Gonzales and the ladies and gentlemen of our staff as we strive toward our committment to exemplary guest satisfaction.

We look forward to your return to the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My husband and I recently stayed two nights at the Menger Hotel in San Antonio for our 1st wedding anniversary. We were very pleasantly surprised when we were upgraded to the Alamo Suite at the same rate we had booked for the King room. The Suite was huge, beautiful, and had great views of the Alamo and plaza! This surprise gesture really made our trip to the hotel exceptional. Yes, you have to pay for parking but this is to be expected when staying downtown in a large, historical city, and the valet guys are wonderful and attentive. When we first arrived at the hotel, my husband left his cell phone in the car and realized after we starting checking in at the front desk. About 5 minutes later, one of the valet attendants ran up to us and presented his phone to him. Overall, the staff at this hotel are very nice without being overly clingy and really went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and pleasant. The room was perfectly clean, comfortable and quiet. I must mention that the hotel was less than half occupied and we barely saw any other guests for the majority of our stay. I can't wait to come back to the Menger and enjoy another trip to San Antonio!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your delightful experiences with Trip Advisor.

Congratulations on your first wedding anniversary. We are pleased that you selected the Historic Menger Hotel for this special occassion.

We hope that you select the Historic Menger Hotel as your lodging choice for many years to come to celebrate or just enjoy a "getaway." We look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This was my first time staying in the 'Ol Menger. The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance to the River Walk. The hotel is old but nice. Rooms were fine. Staff was nice. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJTravelguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

When a guest takes the time to share their experiences with Trip Advisor, it is truly appreciated.

We are pleased your first stay will be one of many in the future when your travels bring you back to San Antonio and the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
1,999 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,239 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 358 in San Antonio
3,135 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,912 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menger Hotel

Address: 204 Alamo Plz, San Antonio, TX 78205-2687
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#84 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#104 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £108 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Menger Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1859 hotel next to Alamo, 1 block from Riverwalk. Originally built in 1859, The Menger Hotel is located in central San Antonio, one block from the famed Riverwalk, the Children's Museum, and the Buckhorn Museum. Nearby points of interest also include the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, and San Antonio Central Library. The hotel's Colonial Room Restaurant serves American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch. The historic Menger Bar, a replica of London's House of Lords Pub, features cherry paneling and booth seating. Room service is also available.The Menger Hotel's tropical courtyard garden looks out onto an outdoor heated pool. On-site recreational amenities also include a spa tub, a sauna, and a fitness facility with cardiovascular equipment. The full-service Alamo Plaza Spa offers spa treatments including massages, scrubs, facials, and a Finnish sauna. More than 11,618 square feet of flexible function space accommodates up to 750 guests and includes the Plaza Ballroom, 9 meeting and conference rooms, poolside rooms, and a terrace that overlooks the Menger Court. Valet parking is available (surcharge). Complimentary wireless Internet access is offered in all public areas. The Menger Hotel is a smoke-free property.Built in 1859, the five-story Menger Hotel is next to the Alamo and just one block from the Children's Museum and the shops at the Riverwalk; the arts community of La Villita is four blocks away. The hotel features the Colonial Room Restaurant and the historic Menger Bar, a replica of London’s House of Lord’s Pub. Additional amenities include an outdoor pool, a spa tub, and a spa offering European-style treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Menger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menger Hotel San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing