We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Ranked #6 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in great location”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This was my first time to San Antonio and this was just the perfect hotel for such a stay. Perfectly located on the river walk and a very spacious hotel. Only problem was they had a huge school group in so the staff were very distracted and when a few things did not work in the room it was very difficult to get any service. Check out took way too long.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,732
    840
    229
    102
    62
See reviews for
830
1,113
96
1,306
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I was at the Westin Riverwalk last week for a conference. In general Westin hotels are memorable for service and ambiance and this hotel is no exception. Its location right on the Riverwalk made exploring easy. Rooms were very comfortable. I didn't experience Zocca, the on-site Italian restaurant, but the food provided for the conference was quite good, well-prepared and reflective of the location - Tex-Mex offerings in addition to more standard fare. The only issues had to do with a misunderstanding regarding the room - I added an extra night for the friend I was rooming with because she was arriving a day early, and the hotel for some reason canceled the original 4-night reservation which my friend found out when she got there but was able to straighten out. We also had problems getting housekeeping to follow through on requests for additional coffee cups and other items for the room, and one day we went without a bathmat (we got a bath sheet instead). But these are minor issues, and overall I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Something cool I found out on the next to last day: the hotel is full of art, furniture and decorative items dating back to the 17th and 18th centuries! As you wander around in the lobby and on the ballroom level look for small cards attached to the walls - they are descriptions of the items they are near. In particular there's a lovely tapestry and a chandelier on the 2nd floor near the grand staircase that are spectacular and date if I remember correctly to the1690's, and a wardrobe in the lobby that is almost as old. Wish I had realized this sooner.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any "bad" rooms in this hotel. Ours looked out on a parking garage, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamiChampagne, Director of Rooms at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback about your experience at The Westin Riverwalk, Orizaba. Thank you for pointing out all the positive aspects of the hotel from the wonderful location to the beauty of the hotel. We are especially thankful you noted the art work we have around the hotel. We are very proud to feature all our art work to our guests and patrons. We apologize for the spotty service you received from the booking issue and housekeeping. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Jami Champagne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We had a group of about 250 people meet at this property. The service from the front door to the housekeeping staff was exemplary. The hotel is beautiful and in an excellent location with quick and easy access to the river walk. Our attendees raved about the comfort of the sleeping rooms, they are well appointment with over sized and modern bathrooms. The food was also top notch. I would not hesitate to stay there on my own or bring another group. We did not receive any complaints about the hotel from our survey and that almost never happens. Hats off to the Westin Riverwalk! Thank you. Chris B.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms with the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, PR
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Recently stayed here on business.
The pros: Very clean and well-maintained property, the rooms very clean and well-appointed. The location is central and right in the middle of the San Antonio downtown area, near all the restaurants and the "riverwalk" scene. The hotel has a nice gym with a view of the river, and a small pool overlooking the river as well. The pool was catching great sun at around 3PM when I checked it out, so it's not one of those urban hotel pools that catch the shade from nearby buildings.
The cons: Parking is available at a third-party garage across the street. Cost me $15 overnight. Paid at the machine with a $20, and got 5 one-dollar coins back. Not too easy to use $1 coins, some places don't even recognize them! Or you can valet and they will take it across the street and charge you more. WiFi is available, for a $15 fee for 24 hours. Why hotels charge their customers WiFi fees is still a big pet peeve for me.
Other than that, a very good place, and I paid $129 for the evening, VERY reasonable considering that it's a very solid hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a riverview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAAFY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamiChampagne, Director of Rooms at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Thank you Daafy for your valuable feedback about your experience at The Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out many positive aspects of the hotel from the cleanliness of the property to the amazing location. We hope the cons you stated don’t deter you from visiting us again. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Jami Champagne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We just stayed at The Westin Riverwalk last weekend. We had an excellent experience all around. Beautiful view of the San Antonio Riverwalk. Relaxing poolside. Elizabeth Alvarez of housekeeping brought us truffles to celebrate our anniversary! And Sandra, the concierge went above and beyond to help me get to a meeting offsite on-time and with the pieces I needed printed from the business center. Jennifer McKee and Yarri were super professional and did a fantastic job arranging our stay.The restaurant was in a gorgeous setting, with great food that was affordable. Thank you!

Room Tip: Stay in the Riverwalk side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AzulCeleste70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We had a very large room, a junior suite, which was nicely appointed with a very large bathroom and overlooking the Riverwalk. Joe F., the bellman, provided excellent service and gave us a good tip about eating turkey legs at the Fiesta.

We didn't like the fact that there were no additional perks, such as a welcome reception. The parking was very pricey at $30 per night, which we had to accept because the Fiesta crowds made self parking impossible. At checkout, it took a half hour to deliver our car, which is not acceptable when paying for valet parking. If you aren't planning to taking your car out, just self park in the same lot and save $15 per night.

There were no chairs or table on the patio, and when we asked if they provide chairs, we were told they were all being used for "upgraded rooms". Having booked a junior suite, we felt these should have been provided to us by request.

The front desk personnel were very friendly when we checked in. We were disappointed that a hotel such as this was "pet friendly," which we feel detracts from a four-star property.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss Point, Mississippi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

From the right on it valet parking to the lightening fast and attentive check in you know you have arrived as you are wowed from the beautiful lobby and furnishings. Once you are in your room things just slow down to RELAXATION! We had a king room with a river view terrace. After I had shed my shoes I noticed a very wet spot in front of the bathroom. When I called the front desk to tell them it was wonderfully resolved by offering us an upgraded room (room on the 4 th floor with a full terrace complete with patio furniture) we were moved and settled in no time. SERVICE is what the Westin understands and delivers. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButtonwoodFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamiChampagne, Director of Rooms at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback about your experience at The Westin Riverwalk, ButtonwoodFarm. Thank you for pointing out various positive aspects of the hotel from the wonderful room to the exceptional service. We are happy your issue was resolved and you were moved to a better room. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Jami Champagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
3,458 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
3,034 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
2,879 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Property: The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Address: 420 W Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Riverwalk in San Antonio, The Westin Riverwalk is in the perfect location to relax and recharge. Expect a warm welcome when you visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Westin Hotel San Antonio
Westin San Antonio
Westin Riverwalk
San Antonio Westin
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing