We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ambiance, but a few minor details” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Ranked #6 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“ambiance, but a few minor details”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Westin was a good choice for a business trip - the lobby is comfortable, the rooms well appointed, and the airconditioning ( it was 103 degrees outside) worked quite well.
The restaurant/bar on the Riverwalk level is a comfortable place to eat or just hang out.
The few details -- seemed the concierge was often not on duty - just when you needed advice on where to go for dinner, or other information. The bellmen often helped out, however, The tiny gift shop - the only place in the hotel to get a water or a soda o to take to your room or on a walk, was frequently unattended.

Definitely a nice hotel, and I would stay again.

Room Tip: I paid more for a Terrace Room to have a seating area outside. Enjoyed it, but with the nice seating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gogoanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you gogoanywhere for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out various positive aspects of the property. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,718
    835
    225
    101
    61
See reviews for
821
1,106
95
1,300
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jenks, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Overall good experience. Airport shuttle would be nice! Location is good as it is just far away enough from the noise of the bar/restaurant area but everything is accessible. I would definitely recommend the Westin!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannoxa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for staying with us Dannoxa3 and taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on you stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Outstanding hotel in a great location. Staff was very helpful and went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. Room was immaculate! The beds are wonderful! Enjoyed the balcony overlooking the Riverwalk. Can't wait to visit the Westin Riverwalk again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathryn1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you kathryn1004, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

My pleasant experience started before our family even arrived in Texas. I received a call from Ingrid at the Westin while we were waiting to board our plane in LAX. She thanked me for choosing Westin and proceeded to ask if there is anything she can do to make our stay a pleasant and memorable one. She did not make any promises, other than she will do her best, which was enough for me. She also inquired if we are celebrating something special.... Now that is a great way to make someone feel like a valued, special guest.

Ultimately my family and I were all very happy to be able to have a room with a small balcony overlooking the river. Yes, one of our two request was granted, and truly appreciated. Front desk was very warm and friendly and we enjoyed our chat with a young gentleman in the front desk. Check-in was pleasant and quick. My kids while waiting enjoyed the free dark chocolate by the check in area, and we took advantage of their "merienda" (free snacks) of cheese, fruit and crackers (you purchase the drinks and cocktails) while enjoying the relaxing music located in the welcoming lobby/sitting area before heading up to our room. Our room has two double beds, a desk, a nice armchair, and it was very comfortable and roomy enough for a family with two kids. I like it that there were sufficient number of hangers and our marble bathroom was bright and had enough room for our "stuff". The room temperature was perfect. Since everyone had their own IPads, iPhones, we were glad to have enough outlets right at the desk. It would have been wonderful to be able to have a dock for an iphone so we can play our own music though. Something the hotel may want to add to their rooms. Our beds were what we always expected from Westin - very comfortable.

The hotel is elegant without being stuffy. Location is one of the reasons I selected Westin. We were right at the Riverwalk within walking distance from the best restaurants in town, and one of them is right at the hotel. They also gave us the best recommendations on where to eat "Tex Mex" food. The Alamo, Ripley's, Museums all within walking distance. I felt so fortunate to have been able to visit this city as the Riverwalk is so beautiful and I am happy to have chosen this hotel. There is nothing like coming home to comfort and luxury after walking around in the heat. During our 4 nights stay at the Westin, we only used our rented van to and from the airport and when picking up and dropping off our son at the Airforce base (which was not very far). Their hotel lobby/sitting area is a welcoming, comfortable, cozy, luxurious place to spend time in. I will always have the wonderful memories of our son who is now officially an "Airman" (this is why we were in San Antonio in the first place), play card games with his siblings here. My husband and I enjoyed our free complimentary drinks while relaxing, listening to music in the lobby with our kids. Our family also used their expansive gym which had the best equipments. Their gym facility was very clean and large compared to so many other hotels I've been to.

The service staff I felt were sincerely happy to assist us. A phone call for extra towels and in less than a minute, someone was knocking at our door (that was too fast). A request for a small cot arrived quickly, and it was their heavenly cot. From the Valet staff to their waiter at the restaurant, we received nothing less than the best service during our stay. My only gripe- wifi in our room is not free. I will definitely return to the Westin Riverwalk Hotel if the opportunity allows, and recommend it to anyone I know who plans to visit San Antonio Texas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Riverwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thedreamvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you thedreamvacation, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out various positive aspects of the hotel from the location to the amazing service. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laredo
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Westin RiverWalk staff makes this hotel what it is: AMAZING FROM BEGINNING TO END!
Jose Alvarado, greeting associate, was there everyday to greet us and make sure our car was brought out safely and promptly. He genuinely cares about his guests and is great at directing them to where they need to go. Glenn, valet parking associate, went beyond any expectations of his job description. I forgot my cell phone in the car and did not realize it until I was in the room. He made sure I got it back safely and promptly. Friendly, courteous and caring. Made reservations for dinner at Zocca and Daniel was so accommodating and professional. His tableside manners, conversation and recommendations were sincere and helpful. Joe Luis, our server was hard working and in spite of being very busy, made time for all of his patrons. Serge Belanger, Outlet Manager, made it a point to come by our table to make sure our visit was all it was suppose to be. The professional, caring, friendly manner from Serge made me and my guest feel comfortable and very welcome. Serge exemplifies the embodiment of the staff at the Westin Riverwalk. Joe, bellman, was prompt, professional and friendly. He was great. Everyone from beginning to end: Front staff, house keeping, bellmen, hotel staff, gift shop staff, every single person was there to make us feel welcome and very much at home. Everyone should experience the Westin Riverwalk at least once in their lifetime!

Room Tip: I always ask for top floor room, away from elevator and ice machine. Any room at the Westin seems t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Border45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you Annie, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing our many positive aspects of the hotel from the amazing staff to the wonderful location. I am happy Jose, Glenn, Daniel, Joe L, Serge, Joe made your stay all the more special. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

My family stayed at the Westin while on vacation in San Antonio. It is a luxury hotel with excellent access to the river. Plenty of restaurants and sights to see within walking distance. Parking was inconvenient unless you have them valet. Great for babies, they brought up a crib at no charge and even offer diaper pails for use. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you Robert, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out various positive aspects of our property from the location to the ambiance. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

The Westin in right on the Riverwalk, and a short walk to the Alamo, the location can't be beat. The lobby is spacious and has many inviting seating areas overlooking the Riverwalk. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed a delicious dinner at Zocca. My only complaint is the fee for wi fi, which the Westin in Austin, where we stayed a week earlier, did no t charge.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 26travelfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you 26Travelfam, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for also pointing out various positive aspects of the hotel such as the location and the wonderful food from our amazing restaurant Zocca Cuisine d'Italia. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,376 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Property: The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Address: 420 W Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Riverwalk in San Antonio, The Westin Riverwalk is in the perfect location to relax and recharge. Expect a warm welcome when you visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Westin Hotel San Antonio
Westin San Antonio
Westin Riverwalk
San Antonio Westin
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing