We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Texan big!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Ranked #6 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Gympie, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Texan big!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

An awesome hotel with outstanding service. The rooms are spacious and and in typical Westin style, so very comfortable. We had some issues, not at all the fault of the hotel or staff, and they went out of their way to help. The late night drinks and food were delightful after sitting alongside the Riverwalk as the summer sun set. A definite return visit is in order!

Room Tip: The Riverwalk side is delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tourismteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,720
    835
    226
    101
    61
See reviews for
821
1,107
96
1,301
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

My husband and I just got back from a romantic weekend stay at this hotel. From the moment we pulled into the entryway of the hotel, the valet service was very friendly and attentive. Check-in was a breeze with competent and polite staff. The lobby was beautifully decorated for the holidays and had lux furnishings and huge windows that look out onto the Riverwalk. Both nights we stayed, there was a talented singer in the lobby that was a pleasure to hear. The hotel opens right onto the quiet side of the Riverwalk. It's a short walk to the restaurants and shops.
Our room featured a balcony from which you could see the Riverwalk, the twinkling Christmas lights and some architecturally amazing buildings across the street. The bed was very comfortable with soft pillows and a heavy warm comforter. The shower/ tub had a large shower head with plenty of water pressure and hot water which was great as it was freezing the weekend we stayed. The rooms also had a coffee maker, HBO, a lighted makeup mirror, soft comfy robes and mini bar. Long story short, this is the nicest place I have stayed at in a while and I plan to visit again. Thanks to the friendly staff!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tippyzippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you Tippyzippy, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at The Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out various positive aspects of our hotel such as the lobby, staff and room. We are happy you had a great time while staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We accidentally left an expensive camera in our room. When we realized this, we were already in NEW YORK . I called Westin and spoke with the head of security, Raphael Hanson. He was sympathetic and promised to look into matter. Within ten min. he located our camera contacted us. He took care of the shipping and provided a fedex tracking number. I am extremely impressed by the professionalism of this gentlemen. The hotel stay was wonderful too!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Starting with the valet, the customer service was wonderful. The valet passed us off to the bellman, JR Vasquez, who was one of the most helpful people I met. Not only did he help us take our luggage to our room, he helped to get us settled, got us ice and asked us if there was anything else he could do.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Riverwalk side is worth it. Rooms with 2 beds do not offer a "Suite" environme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cricket K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Hello Cricket K,
Thank you for your comment! While we are very proud of all our staff, we always love reading nice comments about specific individuals. We're certainly lucky to have JR Vasquez.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We accidentally left some expensive belongings in our rooms safe. When we realized this, we were already boarding the plane back to Los Angeles. I called Westin and spoke with the head of security there, Martiniez, Manual M. and he promptly had those belongings retrieved and shipped to us. Everything went smoothly and I was impressed by the professionalism of this gentlemen. The hotel stay it self was pretty good except the $35 a night parking, with tip, its more like $45 a day just for parking but I think every hotel there is like that due to limited space of the riverwalk. They don't have free parking like hotels in Vegas or Los Angeles.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Nice Hotel...pricey but right on the Riverwalk and we got a room overlooking the Riverwalk.
We hit a solid road block from the manager on duty at check in because the reservations for 2 fully "paid for" rooms were in the name of our sister in law (same last name). He refused to let us check in until my sister in law arrived from her flight later citing rules and regulations which I would have understood if both rooms were not already paid for. We had just driven 8 hours and I was cranky and made them know I was not happy at all.

Then JR Vazquez, Guest Services Supervisor (who should be the hotel manager in my opinion)stepped in as we were driving away to go get my sister and apologized. He was very professional and empathetic. By the time we got back from picking up sister in law, our luggage was in the room along with some treats and snacks. I would also like to recognize Miguel who was also very nice. Both of them checked to make sure we were happy campers later.

What started out with crankiness and not feeling very welcome ended up as a nice stay. You have a very nice staff there....thank you.

Room Tip: You will hear the tour boats occasionally...we were on the 8th floor. Valet parking is an extra 35...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekkest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you Trekkest, we really appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. We're glad that you were eventually made to feel welcome by JR and Miguel. We're certainly lucky to have them both on our staff!

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toluca, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

My son and I stayed at the Westin Riverwalk in San Antonio to attend the Austin Formula 1 Competition. We had a very pleasant stay as we always do at Westin hotels.
However, on this ocassion we had an unfortunate incident that had a GREAT OUTCOME thanks to CHRISTOPHER AGUILAR, the Security Officer at the hotel.
My son forgot his wallet in the room and we became aware of it until we were at the airport. We called the hotel and Mr. Aguilar not only retrieved the wallet with all its contents, but immediatly send it by Fedex to our home.
If at every Westin Hotel there is a Security Officer as honest and service oriented as Mr. Aguilar we’ll surely look to stay at this hotels in the future.

José Monroy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arturo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,390 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#9 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,004 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,825 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Property: The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Address: 420 W Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Riverwalk in San Antonio, The Westin Riverwalk is in the perfect location to relax and recharge. Expect a warm welcome when you visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Westin Hotel San Antonio
Westin San Antonio
Westin Riverwalk
San Antonio Westin
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing