We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True westin comfort... quieter part of Riverwalk tho”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Ranked #6 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“True westin comfort... quieter part of Riverwalk tho”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My mom really likes Westin proprerties and this one did not disappoint. For us, though, if we come back again we'd stay down just a little bit to where there is more activity. Across the riverwalk from us was a parking ramp. We would have rather stayed where there was more restaurants, hotels or shopping across from us.
Our room with balcony was very large with larger bathroom. We even got 2 luggage stands. We thought it a little strange that only the suites had chairs on the balcony though.
The staff was great and we enjoyed the pool area. The exercise room looked pretty large too

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Schus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Hi 4Schus,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. As you pointed out, we are on the quieter part or the Riverwalk, but we like to think of this as a positive feature. :)

Thank you for staying with us and we sincerely hope that you stay with us again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,778
    862
    240
    106
    63
See reviews for
846
1,140
96
1,338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrero, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I was my first time to the area and as a guest service manger at a sister property, I was very pleased. The property is right on the Riverwalk and it was such a nice atomosphere with all the holiday decor surrounding us at every turn, really puts you in the holiday spirit. The food in the resturant Zocca was great and the staff was so professional and helpful. Accomidating us with personal service that is expected of a Westin hotel brand and treating us with special attention every moment in the hotel. Words cannot express the great care they took in making our stay an enjoyable one by all staff members, especialy: Daniel Valdez, Daniel Arriaga, Angel in Zocca, Grace, James, & Heidi Gross at the front desk, Naren Naidoo, & Ignacio Castro the concierge. It was my grandparents anniversary and James sent up a lovley amenity to thier room. And when my grandfather got dizzy in the lobby Michael in security had the EMTs there litteraly in minutes for us. My only complaint was my room was quiet dusty. But all and all a wonderful stay. If i ever go to San Antonio again this would be the hotel I choose, because the staff is so attentive to any need we had and that shows how much they care about there guests.

Room Tip: We had rooms facing the river, great view. Do not forget to stop by the lobby when they have their w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you Jamie, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at The Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out various positive aspects of our hotel such as our location, staff and Zocca Cuisine d'Italia.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

You cannot go wrong with this hotel. While the front desk staff seemed a bit inexperienced, all other staff has made up for it. I was traveling on business and my associate was sick. The staff (specifically Eugene Schlaff) offered to make chicken noodle soup and take care of her so that I didn't miss my meetings. They went above and beyond what was expected. And, we always felt welcome and wanted as a customer. The hotel is on the popular Riverwalk and a short distance from all of the best restaurants. It will be tops on my list if/when I return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labeakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We took our daughter to San Antonio for a special 10 year old birthday weekend. The Westin staff and especially Ingrid S. went out of their way to make it meaningful for my 10 year old daughter. She loved the surprises and really appreciated how the staff made her feel turning 10. Great hotel, but what made it so nice was the special attention to details for a special found lady. Thank you and we will recommend you in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night for a AAA rate and received the city view King on the 4th floor. The room was tired and scuff marked. There was a stain on the bathroom wall near the toilet (brown) that worried me and a hair on the clean sheets under a dirty bed pillow that is placed on the bed for decoration. There were old room service dishes in the hallway outside of our room and we didn't check in until 7 pm.....so they had been sitting there a while. All common areas were clean and the associates were all pleasant and helpful....I just wouldn't spend top dollar for this hotel or another Westin again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kingcake50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you Kingcake50 for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Our operational teams were astounded to read that you experienced so many mishaps during your stay at our property. I can assure you that your experience, albeit discouraging, is not indicative of the quality of service we typically provide.

Thank you again for your comment and we welcome the opportunity to demonstrate that we are able to provide the quality of service you have every right to expect from the Westin Riverwalk.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The staff at the river-level restaurant, La Zocca, is execellent every time! Serge B. was especially attentive, as he filled today to be helpful to his team. The food is great and the price are very reasonable!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Hello Paula G,
Thank you for your comment! While we are very proud of all our staff, we always love reading nice comments about specific individuals. We're certainly lucky to have Serge!

Thank you for dining at Zocca and we hope to see you again soon.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Unless your destination is La Posada then Westin on the quiet beautiful end of the river is the place to be. Beautifully landscaped, shaded walking trails along the river, quiet gardens for sitting and reading, spacious rooms, great food, outside dining verandas are just a few of the stars in this hotel's crown. Management is eager to please as is the staff. Visit all of the attractions from your quiet serene retreat but don't stay in the fray. Beds are heavenly. Beautiful surroundings. Great place for that very special get a away. Don't forget to eat at Zocca's it is a rare treat. Take advantage of the brunch, late nite libations at the bar and patio dining. Be warned you will want to return often. P.S. Facial at the spa was one of the best I have experienced and I am a regular spa visitor and hard to please.

Room Tip: When selecting a balcony room be sure and ask the size of the balcony. Do get a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snippsnapsold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 356 in San Antonio
3,052 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 356 in San Antonio
3,176 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 356 in San Antonio
3,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 356 in San Antonio
3,008 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 356 in San Antonio
1,477 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#12 of 356 in San Antonio
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Property: The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Address: 420 W Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Riverwalk in San Antonio, The Westin Riverwalk is in the perfect location to relax and recharge. Expect a warm welcome when you visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Westin Hotel San Antonio
Westin San Antonio
Westin Riverwalk
San Antonio Westin
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing