We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hospitality Gatekeepers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Ranked #6 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Matteson, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hospitality Gatekeepers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I just completed a 4 day stay at this property and was blown away by the attentive service and professionalism of the staff!

Had the pleasure of meeting the General Manager, Bill, who showed genuine interest in my stay, as well as, the Operations Director, Danita, who personally offered activities and dining options. Each time I approached the entrance doors to the property, I was always greeted by the door staff, who engaged me in conversation. The valet service was prompt in delivering my car and very friendly!

Each morning I ate breakfast in the hotels restaurant and upon my being seated, Pam, my waitress, remembered my breakfast preferences and saw to it that my dining experience was enjoyable.

Being in the hospitality industry myself, I take great pride in those that imbue what the industry is about.

If you're going to be away from home and have to stay in a hotel, why not do it in one that will treat you like they truly have an interest in your comfort and satisfaction.

Great job Westin San Antonio River Walk Team

Room Tip: I was on the river walk side and could not hear the river cruise boats at all. So, this worked very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyrone L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,732
    840
    230
    102
    62
See reviews for
831
1,113
96
1,306
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The first morning at the hotel I was awaken by the jerk in the room next to me turning on the news at 5:45 am at the highest volume and then leaving the room. A call to Security to resolve the problem. It is no the hotels fault that guest can be inconsiderate jerks. My second night I had to change rooms upon returning from dinner as sewer gas had overtaken my room and it was making me sick. While inconvenient the hotel handled the situation well and to my satisfaction. I did find the street noise to be extremely loud all the time. There is a city bus stop at the hotel and the sound of large diesel engine woke me all night, even up on the 14th floor. In my first room upon arrival at my room the floor was messy, as in it had m&m's from the previous guest on the floor and the desk had crumbs all over it. The room was a bit run down. For over $200 a night I suppose I expected a little more. I stayed at the hotel 13 years before and I'm not sure much has changed in those 13 years. The beds were comfortable and the overall apperance of the hotel common areas was nice. The hotel could benefit from some well-placed signs on how to get to the Riverwalk. I have been to the hotel on several occasion and I have a hard time getting to the Riverwalk almost every time and I am not directionally challenge either.

Room Tip: Ask for the Riverwalk side of the hotel not the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AggieVixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you AggieVixen for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Our operational teams were astounded to read that you experienced so many mishaps during your stay at our property. I can assure you that your experience, albeit discouraging, is not indicative of the quality of service we typically provide.

Thank you again for your comment and we welcome the opportunity to demonstrate that we are able to provide the quality of service you have every right to expect from the Westin Riverwalk.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wapakoneta, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just returned from another wonderful stay at the Westin Riverwalk and once again were overwhelmed at the personal attention the staff gives their guests. Before we even arrived we received emails from the assistant manager, Ingrid Schmidt, welcoming us back and asking how she could make our stay even more enjoyable. Between her and Concierge, David Swift, we felt like we were going to visit family (family you really like that is!). Our stay began as a business trip for my husband and extended into a get away weekend. Beyond the top notch service (including the manager at Zocca), the beauty of the hotel and the amenities of the pool, spa and fitness center, you just can't beat the central location of this resort.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to the Riverwalk view room. It's so worth it. Also look into any special de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamalisa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hello Mamalisa2013,
Thank you for taking the time to post such positive comments and for telling us about Ingrid and David. We're certainly lucky to have them on our staff!

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Associates who met us as we drove up were exceptional! They are so friendly and helpful finding directions and just down right nice. Thank you Oscar! and all the others who were so helpful with our vehicle and genuine. You make us want to come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from any service rooms. There was a loud bang noise every hour all night long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Westin Riverwalk Hotel Staff always have a smile on their face and bend over backwards to please customers regardless of size of event or reason for stay. We are so pleased with the service. Jorge Galindo, Erik Sanchez are simply exceptional

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Velbeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeoye Falls, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

David Smith was very helpful and did a great job arranging flowers and dinners for Valentine's Day guests. I referred to him as Cupid.
The location of the Westin on the Riverwalk was so convenient to everything.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djsnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hello djsnyder,
Thank you for your comment! While we are very proud of all our staff, we always love reading nice comments about specific individuals. We're certainly lucky to have David.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We were here for a business conference and stayed a few extra days. So happy we did! The staff was great- spectacular actually. Jorge and Armando were excellent!
Our room was plenty big, luxurious, had a huge balcony, and the housekeeping did a great job. I needed a suit pressed, no problem. More coffee, no problem. The pool was terrific, luckily we had a 92 degree day there so it was perfect. Zocca was very nice, the breakfasts were fabulous, the business breakfasts, lunches and our awards dinner menu and foods were amazing.
I never had to open the door in the lobby myself- not sure what a previous reviewer was talking about.
The riverwalk, what can you say? Just unbelieveable.
It was so great we are planning a personal trip!

Room Tip: Try to get a riverview room- the rooms facing the street are a bit louder- this was valentines weeke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr70545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,471 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,042 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,893 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Property: The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Address: 420 W Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Riverwalk in San Antonio, The Westin Riverwalk is in the perfect location to relax and recharge. Expect a warm welcome when you visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Westin Hotel San Antonio
Westin San Antonio
Westin Riverwalk
San Antonio Westin
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing