We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality but not the best Westin we have stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Ranked #12 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

It had the usual decor of the Westin brand, very high quality. However I got the feeling that the decoration and fittings are rather dated now, almost like it was one of the first Westin hotels to be given this type of decor and it was over a decade ago. This Westin is in a great location in the centre of San Antonio and on the Riverwalk with a really nice view over the Riverwalk. The room was very clean so the cleaners had done a perfect job, unfortunately the air conditioning vent was not so clean, it was covered in a thick layer or durt and dust. It was also quite a noisy hotel, the walls must have been very thin because we could hear people on both sides of us and hear slamming doors and possibly the lift down the corridor, there was also a loud horn noise some nights which I couldn't quite work out where it was coming from. Sounded like a boat or train horn but it woke us up many times. The restaurant was really nice and the hotel had it's own shop and it's own cafe. The cafe in particular was very handy and the food was really good quality. We had breakfast buffet most mornings and it was good quality and we had dinner in the popular restaurant which was sometimes a bit of a wait. Overall, we paid an extremely high price for this hotel and the quality wasn't as good as other Westin's we stayed in and paid less for. The attention to detail wasn't quite there and the staff seemed quite run off their feet or stressed at times. Therefore I've downgraded this by one star.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Hello Simon Y,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay and for pointing out the various positive aspects of our hotel such as the great location and Zocca Cuisine d'Italia.

We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again soon!

Bill Petrella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,183 - 2,189 of 4,164 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

Picked the Westin for an anniversary weekend without the kids. Stayed in a corner suite facing the Riverwalk. Room was great. Bathroom was large and beautiful. Like other reviewers have mentioned, Westin is located on "quiet" side of Riverwalk and only a short walk via Riverwalk or surface streets to most of the restaurants. Restaurant suggestions: Boudro’s Texas Bistro, Zocca, Paesanos, Acenar, Guenther House (via short drive or long walk south down river), and Magnolia Pancake Haus (via car only in north San Antonio). For my platinum amenity, we chose the complementary continental breakfast buffet in the Zocca restaurant downstairs. Be aware that there is an optional up charge for the hot items on the buffet, which we thought was reasonable for the days that we ate breakfast at the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelsAlot1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Great location on the quieter part of the Riverwalk. Lovely to eat breakfast outside. Staff friendly and helpful and King sized bed on 14th floor very comfortable! Good fitness centre and tiny outdoor pool on the roof of the 4th floor with sun terrace.


Disappointed to find no free Wi-Fi ($7 for two hours)

Very convenient parking all around so no need to pay for Valet parking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panda222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Hello Panda222,
Thank you for the kind words!
We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again soon!
Bill Petrella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Found this Westin to be very nice. Found was good wine selection good. Room size was plenty would recommend the spa is next door but a short walk by the river walk nice place to sit and have a class if wine. Service outside is slow but getting to the bar was easy and fast.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Prichards1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed for a week on the top floor (#1527), The hotel offers the services expected, albeit a bit unpersonal due to the large size of the hotel.
The overall impression is that it is a bit tired, and could use a refreshment.

All walls seem to be thin, I had 'perfect audio' from the room next door at 2:30 AM or whenever someone walked down the hallway, and in our meeting room the banging from the kitchen could be heard.

Net - not quite what I expected for $400/night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoscouT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Hello MoscouT,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
We truly appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again soon.
Bill Petrella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

What more can i say? The location is great, far enough away from the noise but close enough to find if you want it;). View from the balcony was great! Clean rooms and friendly staff. Sadly I booked at the last minute and paid an arm and a leg.Honestly the hotel is over priced and they offer NO free amenities.Valet parking is almost $40 after tax not including tips. They charge for wifi and do not offer free breakfast. I won't likely stay here again(no offense Westin) ONLY because of the price but if you don't mind paying it's really nice here.The Drury Plaza is down the road for half the price...same view with a lot of amenities.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esm78629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Hello esm78629, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Thank you for staying with us and we sincerely hope to see you again soon!

Bill Petrella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I'm a Starwood Preferred Guest member so I stay at a lot of Westins. This one is no better or worse. The room was clean and quiet, and even though I booked a discounted rate, I had a nice room on a high floor. Staff was kind and accommodating.
The valet parking is ridiculously expensive, and the garage is right across the street, so park it yourself. The traffic in this neighborhood is insane, so leave plenty of time (particularly on a weekday or if there is an event) to get out of the downtown area.
The pool area was too small to accommodate all the guests, even though it was only March. The food was fair, not great. Wifi was iffy. And my biggest complaint about Westin is that they still are not providing electric plugs next to the beds. Every other major hotel chain has at least bought lamps with electric plugs. But at Westins, including this one, you have to crawl under the bed to plug in your phone. Ridiculous!

Room Tip: Higher floors and rooms facing the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuffCrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hello BuffCrone,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. However, it is unfortunate to read that you did not experience 100% guest satisfaction during your visit. Your comments have been reviewed and shared with our management team.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Bill Petrella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
3,187 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
3,270 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 357 in San Antonio
4,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,325 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#22 of 357 in San Antonio
3,614 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 357 in San Antonio
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Address: 420 W Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £121 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Riverwalk in San Antonio, The Westin Riverwalk is in the perfect location to relax and recharge. Expect a warm welcome when you visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Westin Hotel San Antonio
Westin San Antonio
Westin Riverwalk
San Antonio Westin
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing