We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Treatment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Ranked #6 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Treatment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

During the last week of March, my husband and I, along with my brother and his wife, stayed at The Westin. The staff at this particular property was wonderful -a cut above the rest. Every encounter we experienced with any Westin employee at this location was excellent. From the reservationist, to the attendant at the front desk, to the server at the restaurant, to the doorman. Their attitude, professionalism and conduct reminded me of the definition of hospitality.

The breakfast buffet was hot and the food was good. No complaints there. Service was great. Employees were accessible and helpful.

Our room was on the river. Fun. You'll pay a bit more, but if you enjoy watching the activity in the evening from your balcony, it's worth it. A little noisy with the door open due to bus traffic, but Remember, the Riverwalk is in the heart of the city. Close the doors and there is no noise problem. It was nice in the evening to look out at the river and see the boats of tourists, as well as the decorated lighted carriages making their way down the street. The beds were very comfortable and the shower head in the bathroom was like a waterfall. Nice.

Loved it here.

Room Tip: River view. A bit more, but worth it if you're into night viewing of activity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,720
    835
    226
    101
    61
See reviews for
821
1,107
96
1,301
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

It had the usual decor of the Westin brand, very high quality. However I got the feeling that the decoration and fittings are rather dated now, almost like it was one of the first Westin hotels to be given this type of decor and it was over a decade ago. This Westin is in a great location in the centre of San Antonio and on the Riverwalk with a really nice view over the Riverwalk. The room was very clean so the cleaners had done a perfect job, unfortunately the air conditioning vent was not so clean, it was covered in a thick layer or durt and dust. It was also quite a noisy hotel, the walls must have been very thin because we could hear people on both sides of us and hear slamming doors and possibly the lift down the corridor, there was also a loud horn noise some nights which I couldn't quite work out where it was coming from. Sounded like a boat or train horn but it woke us up many times. The restaurant was really nice and the hotel had it's own shop and it's own cafe. The cafe in particular was very handy and the food was really good quality. We had breakfast buffet most mornings and it was good quality and we had dinner in the popular restaurant which was sometimes a bit of a wait. Overall, we paid an extremely high price for this hotel and the quality wasn't as good as other Westin's we stayed in and paid less for. The attention to detail wasn't quite there and the staff seemed quite run off their feet or stressed at times. Therefore I've downgraded this by one star.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hello Simon Y,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay and for pointing out the various positive aspects of our hotel such as the great location and Zocca Cuisine d'Italia.

We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again soon!

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwall TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Picked the Westin for an anniversary weekend without the kids. Stayed in a corner suite facing the Riverwalk. Room was great. Bathroom was large and beautiful. Like other reviewers have mentioned, Westin is located on "quiet" side of Riverwalk and only a short walk via Riverwalk or surface streets to most of the restaurants. Restaurant suggestions: Boudro’s Texas Bistro, Zocca, Paesanos, Acenar, Guenther House (via short drive or long walk south down river), and Magnolia Pancake Haus (via car only in north San Antonio). For my platinum amenity, we chose the complementary continental breakfast buffet in the Zocca restaurant downstairs. Be aware that there is an optional up charge for the hot items on the buffet, which we thought was reasonable for the days that we ate breakfast at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsAlot1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Great location on the quieter part of the Riverwalk. Lovely to eat breakfast outside. Staff friendly and helpful and King sized bed on 14th floor very comfortable! Good fitness centre and tiny outdoor pool on the roof of the 4th floor with sun terrace.


Disappointed to find no free Wi-Fi ($7 for two hours)

Very convenient parking all around so no need to pay for Valet parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panda222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hello Panda222,
Thank you for the kind words!
We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again soon!
Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Found this Westin to be very nice. Found was good wine selection good. Room size was plenty would recommend the spa is next door but a short walk by the river walk nice place to sit and have a class if wine. Service outside is slow but getting to the bar was easy and fast.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Prichards1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed for a week on the top floor (#1527), The hotel offers the services expected, albeit a bit unpersonal due to the large size of the hotel.
The overall impression is that it is a bit tired, and could use a refreshment.

All walls seem to be thin, I had 'perfect audio' from the room next door at 2:30 AM or whenever someone walked down the hallway, and in our meeting room the banging from the kitchen could be heard.

Net - not quite what I expected for $400/night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoscouT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hello MoscouT,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
We truly appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again soon.
Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

What more can i say? The location is great, far enough away from the noise but close enough to find if you want it;). View from the balcony was great! Clean rooms and friendly staff. Sadly I booked at the last minute and paid an arm and a leg.Honestly the hotel is over priced and they offer NO free amenities.Valet parking is almost $40 after tax not including tips. They charge for wifi and do not offer free breakfast. I won't likely stay here again(no offense Westin) ONLY because of the price but if you don't mind paying it's really nice here.The Drury Plaza is down the road for half the price...same view with a lot of amenities.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esm78629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hello esm78629, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Thank you for staying with us and we sincerely hope to see you again soon!

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,389 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#9 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,004 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,825 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Property: The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Address: 420 W Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Riverwalk in San Antonio, The Westin Riverwalk is in the perfect location to relax and recharge. Expect a warm welcome when you visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Westin Hotel San Antonio
Westin San Antonio
Westin Riverwalk
San Antonio Westin
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing