We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dining experience”
Review of Coho Restaurant

Coho Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Coho Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Spring
Description: Coho Restaurant serves Island grown Pacific cuisine with a Mediterranean flair. Coho's Chef creates exciting menus developed around the seasonality of fresh ingredients from the surrounding Islands. Each night, this "Best of the San Juans" restaurant menu showcases simple and artful fare that allows the flavors of the individual ingredients to resonate on the palate. Coho's wine cellar has been recognized by Wine Spectator with an Award of Excellence. Coho is set in a historic Craftsman House - three blocks from the ferry landing in walkable downtown Friday Harbor. Coho's intimate setting provides the perfect atmosphere for a fine dining special celebration or a relaxed night out with friends. Consider making a night of it at one of our nearby Inns.We invite you to dine with us and Savor the San Juan Islands! Buon Appetito!
west hills, ca
Level 6 Contributor
552 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Good dining experience”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Was glad I made a reservation as this was a busy place. Enjoyed the Coho salad and the stuffed trout. There is a long wine list. The decor is very pleasant and service was attentive. Good coffee to end the meal along with homemade ice cream

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    75
    26
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Although the restaurant is quite small, the atmosphere is very pleasant and the service was very prompt and efficient. Food was excellent - cooked properly and artfully presented. Would definitely eat there again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Alabama
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best dining experience on San Juan Island!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Friday Harbor offers many excellent dining choices. To stand out among so many good restaurants is not an easy feat - Coho Restaurant did just that!

We were seated promptly at the time for which our reservations were made. The atmosphere was friendly, the food was truly incredible, and the service outstanding! What gracious hosts and terrific food! Notable entrees included the salmon and the halibut.

The experience capped off a terrific visit to Friday Harbor which will bring us back again one day. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Appalling service and attitude!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

After a wonderful whale watching experience Wednesday 4 September 2013 we spent the night in Friday Harbor.
When it came to where to eat we opted for COHO as the menu sounded reasonable. The small restaurant was part full - several tables were still available. We waited and waited to have our presence recognised, but to no avail.

Eventually, a male member of staff deigned to come over but fiddled around at the checkout for a while and didn’t even give us eye contact. I said to my husband “are we invisible”? We were on a holiday of a lifetime from Edinburgh, Scotland, and had become accustomed to the super American service.

Well, service this wasn’t. Eventually we were unenthusiastically shown to a small table wedged between the restroom and the kitchen. I asked for one of the other tables and the response was so rude that we just left.

We went down to the harbour and couldn’t have had a more different and positive experience at the Cask and Schooner - welcoming people, good food and a lively atmosphere. Thank you Cask and Schooner for rescuing our Friday Harbor experience.

I don’t understand why the service and attitude was so poor at COHO. This was end of season - surely a great reason to be all the more hospitable?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank diane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cute Place in San Juans”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had a very nice dinner at this popular eatery in Friday Harbor. The food and wine list was superb but the service was very slow (not enough wait staff). A little noisy for an intimate dinner. Good location and easy parking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hutchplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coho Restaurant also viewed

 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Coho Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing