We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in Friday Harbor”
Review of Bird Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bird Rock Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed at the Bird Rock for 3 nights at the end of April 2012. Although it is located in a historic building the rooms and furnishings are all modern and top notch. Each room is different and I liked that they had the floor plans on their website so you could book a particular room. We went on a Bloomspot coupon which was a fantastic deal. The staff is very friendly and happy to recommend restaurants and activities. Although we didn't use the bicycles that were available, many of the other guest did. We also enjoyed sitting out on the upper patio in the afternoon sun and relaxing. Great location only one block from Spring Street so you don't need your vehicle to explore town. We stayed in the Whidbey suite which was roomy with a separate sitting area. You can use the pool and hot tub at their sister hotel the Earth Box, but we did not so can't comment on that.

Room Tip: Make sure you look at their website to look at the floor plans of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kisbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

We were so involved in our hectic life that we almost missed our 29th anniversary celebration. We started looking for a quick getaway that offered beauty, tranquility, romance, and adventure and found this Bird Rock Inn that offered it all. We were surprised beyond our expectations upon our arrival to this historical building with zen like interior that is so comforting and soothing to the soul when you enter to register that you forget about your hectic life as soon as you enter. There are no crowds or hectic check-ins. With only 15 rooms that continue to carry the zen theme with simplicity and calmness it welcomes you when you return from your adventures. The staff is always there for you and offer the ins and outs of the places on the island. There is plenty to see and do in this quaint ocean town. When you retire for the evening you will love the soft sheets and plush mattress...there is nothing hard about it. You leave this little inn with the feeling that you spent your time in a spa because of the clean, calm, soothing atmosphere and the friendly, professionalism, and tranquility of the staff.
JUST A FERRY RIDE AWAY TO A LITTLE PARADISE THAT RENEWS YOUR SOUL AND GIVES YOU QUIET TO REFLECT ON THE BEAUTY OF THIS WORLD. I will return often.

Room Tip: For romance, choose the fireplace room. For privacy and romance the garden basement with an outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Madeleine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Bird Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear Madelaine,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Way to make our day and put big smiles on our faces.
We can't wait to have you come visit again.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was our first time on the island and staying at the Bird Rock definitely made it a wonderful one. The place is literally right by the harbor so getting around was painless without a car. We walked or rode one of the hotel's complimentary bikes for the most part but there are also moped rentals around town as well. As far as the hotel itself, it felt like a beautifully restored historic harborside home. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay a pleasant one. Preparing fresh flowers in the room, booking reservations, outlining bike routes...they basically did all the things we hate to do when we go on trips. The Orcas room we stayed in was adorable. Where most B&B's love to ovedose on floral and grandma, this room was tastefully decorated and had everything we needed. It's definitely a place we look forward to going back to again and again. We would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the San Juan Islands who enjoy the comfort and simplicity of a historic B&B but with the convenience and professionalism of a hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel is very well located, although a bit hard to find since the sign is small and light-coloured, and does not face the main street. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast is well above average. We stayed in the Marrowstone suite. The hot tub is nice (although bring a bathing suit, since people on the balcony above you can look in). I thought the furnishings and fixtures in the room were a bit worn given the premium price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I would give 4 starts if not for the price which i thought was a little high. The staff was very friendly and suggested routes we could explore and restaurants to try out. The room itself was clean, comfortable and well kept. We had a bathroom for ourself and that helped a lot i think as we didnt have share bathrooms. The breakfast was good, nothing fancy, your basic cereal toast eggs and scones, but can keep you going for the day. We also took the bicycles that were available for free. Again not the high end ones but the very basic. they were also decent enough. we did go for a 14 mile ride and the bikes did not giv up on us so that was great. We didnt bring a car to the island, hence this was the best spot for us as it was in the middle of town and had everything we needed close by.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Although not impressive on the outside, the Bird Rock Hotel is sophisticated yet cosy on the inside. We met our grown up kids and partners there for a weekend in late March. Our rooms were beautiful and had a wide range of amenities - fireplace, comfortable furniture, nicely decorated. The staff were warm and welcoming, and Tory in particular was extremely friendly and helpful. The lemonade and freshly baked cookies were a nice surprise at reception. Breakfasts were also good, especially the warm cranberry/white chocolate scones! We would return in a flash!

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Sailingjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We checked into the Cypress room over this past weekend. The hotel was close to the ferry which was important to us as we had elected to not bring our car. The outside was not impressive at all. There was no ambience, no warm, inviting atmosphere. The front desk clerk, however, was warm and welcoming and made our check-in painless and efficient even offering left over scones from breakfast. Our room was at the top, three flights of narrow, steep stairs. The landing was so small that as another guest came out of his room, we had to back down the stairs to allow him passage around us. Ok, quaint we thought. Then we entered our room. Small...almost claustrophic with an angled ceiling and it was stifling hot. We immediately turned the thermostat all the way down, but there was no way to turn off the heat. The index was reading 82 degrees. We stayed just long enough to thin our packs and get back outside thinking it would be cooler in the evening. We started to mention how hot it was in the room as we went out, but other guests had arrived and the lobby was very congested. We came back later in the afternoon to freshen up for dinner and again the room was stifling. We tried opening the one window in the room which was mostly blocked behind the bed, but it had a security lock on it and we couldn't. We had the ceiling fan on, but again the thermometer read at 80 degrees. When we came back after dinner,there was no one at the front desk. We decided to open the small refrigerator in the room and we did leave it open all night to cool the room down. We did get it to 76 degrees and slept under just the sheet and with the fan going. The fan, unfortunately was out of balance and made a heck of a racket, so we used the complimentary ear plugs. We wanted to stay for the breakfast on Sunday morning, but by 5 am we were so ready to get out of there, we took a quick shower and headed into town for breakfast before catching the early ferry back to Anacortes. We will not stay here again. It was quiet, the staff was pleasant and accomodating, the location is perfect at 35 1st Street just a block up and over from the ferry, but the smallness of the room combined with the heat and stuffiness made for a very unrelaxing and unpleasant experience for us both.

Room Tip: Do not take any room at the top as heat rises and you will smother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali-Jw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Bird Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear Heartrock7,
I'm so sorry we didn't live up to your expectations.
The Bird Rock is a historic building, built in 1891, and is one of the oldest hotels on the island. We are proud to preserve such a unique piece of island history, but I agree, it has its limitations. We aren't allowed to alter the outside much. Even though in the summer with our amazing gardeners doing their magic it is quite lovely to sit on the patio among seasonal flowers zipping a margarita in the sun.
Having been built at a time when hotel rooms, living spaces in general, were much smaller, makes for some funky corners, small stairways and weird nooks. We hoped to capture the charm of the historic building and combining it with modern amenities and comfort. I'm sorry it didn't work for you.
As for the heat in the room, the fan and the window: that is just unacceptable. Thank you for bringing all this to our attention. I'm so sorry you had to suffer through what doesn't sound like a pleasant night at all.
Please contact me and we'll figure out a way to spoil you in a well ventilated, spacious setting.
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience and where we can improve. We hope you give us a chance to make it up to you.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
steffi@earthboxinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#1 of 11 in Friday Harbor
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#11 of 11 in Friday Harbor
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Rock Hotel

Address: 35 1st St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7973
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range: £132 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bird Rock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bird Rock Hotel of Friday Harbor is a refreshing combination of an historic external structure and clean, modern interiors. Bird Rock Hotel’s authentic, original, old San Juan Island hotel exterior opens to an exquisitely crafted, eco-intelligent collection of stylishly modern interiors ranging from deluxe, harbor-view, king-jacuzzi suites to simple european-style sleeping rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bird Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Rock Hotel Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing