We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and accommodations”
Review of Bird Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bird Rock Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stayed here a night in the Bainbridge Suite (2 beds, a queen sleeper in the living room) and it was perfect for the 5 of us. We came during the week so not sure how this place would be during busy summer days because the overall layout is kind of quirky but not in a bad way. Place was clean, staff was friendly and it was close to Friday Harbor restaurants, shops, and ferry.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms share a bathroom European-style so ask about which rooms have en-suite if not stat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed this nice little hotel. Extremely friendly staff, nice complimentary breakfast, and they have bikes for use around town. When we checked in they had freshly baked cookies and freshly squeezed lemonade. Make sure you get a room with a private bath - some of the rooms require you to share common bathroom down the hall.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank TXbierfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The Bird Rock Hotel is very clean and comfortable with a delicious European-style breakfast and warm scones. Very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is well-situated right off the main street in Friday Harbor. You can use their bikes to explore the island. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

For starters... You'll get way less than what you're paying for, straight up. Nice enough place, but considerably over priced (of course, this seems to be the case with a bulk of San Juan Island businesses).
If you get the "marrowstone" suite you're likely to be terribly disappointed with the patio hot tub. Motor is ancient and extremely noisy (FAR from romantic) and the jets are pretty much non-existent! This particular room is not remotely with the upgrade price! Unless you like to simply sit in hot water outside; do not expect a true Jacuzzi hot tub with functioning jets.
After explaining our disappointment to the hotel receptionist she simply said "I'm so sorry. We've never heard of any complaints before." She didn't even offer to come and look at the problem and there was zero offer to compensate us four our disappointment. We were there on our 7 Year Anniversary and hoping for that little extra romantic something with the private shot tub; what a joke that tub turned out to be.
I took a video of the tub and jets and will post it to YouTube so you can decide for yourself. I will edit this entry with the URL once it is posted.

Room Tip: DO NOT pay for the upgrade to the "marrow stone" suite! The hot tub is FAR from worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Bird Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

Hi Adam,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience.
Yes, things on the island are more expensive than on the mainland. Just think that every nail, pillow, gallon of gas needs to be flown or barged over here. Utilities (especially water) and wages are higher, food and housing are way more expensive. Our beautiful island doesn't feel that remote, but in terms of cost, it's no different than Hawaii.
Thank you for letting us know about the Marrowstone hot tub. You were absolutely right. The jet motor was on its way out. We had it serviced just the week before you guys came and everything was fine. It's fixed now, thanks to you alerting us. I'm so sorry you didn't get to experience it the way we intended.
I also want to apologize for you feeling our staff didn't respond with the urgency you had hoped for. There is no excuse for that. We thrive to give outstanding customer service and failed to make it up to you.
I refunded you the difference between the room you had booked at our sister hotel you had felt was not romantic enough for you and your love and the Marrowstone Suite. I hope that helps a little.
We would love it if you came back sometime and gave us a chance to spoil and comfort you at either of our properties. It breaks my heart to think you had a bad anniversary because of us.
Please promise me to contact me directly if you feel like coming back. I will do what I can to make it up to you.
Thanks again for your review. We rely on our guests to let us know where we can improve.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
steffi@earthboxinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed at the Bird Rock for 3 nights at the end of April 2012. Although it is located in a historic building the rooms and furnishings are all modern and top notch. Each room is different and I liked that they had the floor plans on their website so you could book a particular room. We went on a Bloomspot coupon which was a fantastic deal. The staff is very friendly and happy to recommend restaurants and activities. Although we didn't use the bicycles that were available, many of the other guest did. We also enjoyed sitting out on the upper patio in the afternoon sun and relaxing. Great location only one block from Spring Street so you don't need your vehicle to explore town. We stayed in the Whidbey suite which was roomy with a separate sitting area. You can use the pool and hot tub at their sister hotel the Earth Box, but we did not so can't comment on that.

Room Tip: Make sure you look at their website to look at the floor plans of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kisbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We were so involved in our hectic life that we almost missed our 29th anniversary celebration. We started looking for a quick getaway that offered beauty, tranquility, romance, and adventure and found this Bird Rock Inn that offered it all. We were surprised beyond our expectations upon our arrival to this historical building with zen like interior that is so comforting and soothing to the soul when you enter to register that you forget about your hectic life as soon as you enter. There are no crowds or hectic check-ins. With only 15 rooms that continue to carry the zen theme with simplicity and calmness it welcomes you when you return from your adventures. The staff is always there for you and offer the ins and outs of the places on the island. There is plenty to see and do in this quaint ocean town. When you retire for the evening you will love the soft sheets and plush mattress...there is nothing hard about it. You leave this little inn with the feeling that you spent your time in a spa because of the clean, calm, soothing atmosphere and the friendly, professionalism, and tranquility of the staff.
JUST A FERRY RIDE AWAY TO A LITTLE PARADISE THAT RENEWS YOUR SOUL AND GIVES YOU QUIET TO REFLECT ON THE BEAUTY OF THIS WORLD. I will return often.

Room Tip: For romance, choose the fireplace room. For privacy and romance the garden basement with an outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Madeleine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Bird Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear Madelaine,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Way to make our day and put big smiles on our faces.
We can't wait to have you come visit again.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was our first time on the island and staying at the Bird Rock definitely made it a wonderful one. The place is literally right by the harbor so getting around was painless without a car. We walked or rode one of the hotel's complimentary bikes for the most part but there are also moped rentals around town as well. As far as the hotel itself, it felt like a beautifully restored historic harborside home. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay a pleasant one. Preparing fresh flowers in the room, booking reservations, outlining bike routes...they basically did all the things we hate to do when we go on trips. The Orcas room we stayed in was adorable. Where most B&B's love to ovedose on floral and grandma, this room was tastefully decorated and had everything we needed. It's definitely a place we look forward to going back to again and again. We would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the San Juan Islands who enjoy the comfort and simplicity of a historic B&B but with the convenience and professionalism of a hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
528 reviews
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
525 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
164 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#11 of 11 in Friday Harbor
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Rock Hotel

Address: 35 1st St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7973
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range: £135 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bird Rock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bird Rock Hotel of Friday Harbor is a refreshing combination of an historic external structure and clean, modern interiors. Bird Rock Hotel’s authentic, original, old San Juan Island hotel exterior opens to an exquisitely crafted, eco-intelligent collection of stylishly modern interiors ranging from deluxe, harbor-view, king-jacuzzi suites to simple european-style sleeping rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bird Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Rock Hotel Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing