We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room in a great location.”
Review of Bird Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bird Rock Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable room in a great location.”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We selected the Bird Rock Hotel because it was only a block from our kayaking trip pickup location and ferry dock. The staff was pleasant. It was a little pricey at $200 a night for the Whidby room, but the amenities were very nice. The robes supplied were incredibly soft. The shampoos and lotions were locally made. We took advantage of the one-speed bikes (with wide, old-fashioned comfortable seats) for a lovely five mile ride around the peninsula and enjoyed the welcome cookies and lemonade on our return. A nice breakfast launched us on our way.

Watch out for the corner posts that rise about eight inches at the foot of the bed. You can easily smack your leg on them.

Earplugs were provided, but we did not use them and really didn't feel that we needed to with the location of our room. There was some early morning noise around sunrise, but it wasn't too much of a problem for us.

Room Tip: I think the Whidby room is quieter than those that are directly on the street. The Whidby is a lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan_1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    98
    25
    16
    6
See reviews for
59
212
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I can't say enough great things about this hotel. It's really more like a B&B rather than a hotel - this is a place where they really get to know you and make you feel at home. The staff were all so nice and welcoming and went out of their way to provide all the necessary comforts.

We booked the Whidbey room which was classified as their "standard room" but really it's anything but. It's a one bedroom suite although the bedroom is really just big enough for the queen bed and two side tables. There's a living room and kitchenette area. The living room is very cozy and has a sofa bed for additional guests. The bathroom is decent sized and larger than some big name hotel chains I've stayed in. The bed is one of the best beds I've slept in. The room is modern compared to most places on the island.

The amenities are pretty amazing. Direct TV, local shampoos and soaps (which all smell amazing), fluffy robes to wear (so much softer than what I've had at 4* hotels), well-rounded breakfast with juice, coffee, tea, homemade scones, toast, yogurt, fruit, eggs, etc and in the afternoon they have homemade strawberry lemonade with freshly made chocolate chip cookies. What more can you ask for??

Location wise, it's perfect. It's a 5 min walk from the ferry and very close to the main area of town (Friday Harbor is small so most places are close). You can also use the amenities such as the pool, jacuzzi, sauna, etc at their sister hotel, Earthbox Inn, which is less than a 10 min walk up the street. We didn't have a car so I'm not familiar with the parking situation.

So why take off a star in the rating? It really pains me to say what's been said a thousand times on here but yes, there are some ridiculously loud noises at this property at ungodly hours. I thought I was pretty safe considering that the Whidbey room is recessed into the back of the building but I was wrong. Around 4am, I was woken up to the loudest screeching noise that continued for the next 2 hours. It sounded like someone was unloading a delivery truck with one of those large moving dollies to move large pallets (just a guess but still not sure what it was). And yes, I had my ear plugs in, which the hotel provides in all their rooms. I'm a pretty heavy sleeper and if I woke up to the noise, it would have to be extremely loud to wake me up. It wasn't a pleasant way to wake up before starting a three-day kayaking trip.

Friday Harbor is pricey for accommodation but given the service, amenities and modern luxuries, I found Bird Rock Hotel good value compared to the others. Regardless of the noise issue, I would stay here again and I would highly recommend this place to anyone that isn't a light sleeper!

Note: We stayed here during a time when Friday Harbor had cool weather (mid to high 60's) and the Whidbey room was very comfortable in temperature. There are two ceiling fans (one in the living room and one in the bedroom) which will help circulate the air. I think this room would stay cool during warm months because it's located down below towards the back (but it's not the basement, hard to describe), unlike their other rooms which are upstairs and I can see how those rooms can get stifling hot since hot air rises in a building, which others have mentioned previously (there's no A/C in most places on Friday Harbor).

Room Tip: Try to pick a room that isn't on the upper floors during the warm summer months. I don't th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucidlilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The hotel is great with a very helpful staff. Breakfast is 7-10 and is all freshly made. Very clean and modern with well appointed rooms. Right in the heart of town so easy access to everything. Do be prepared for some noise from the bar across the street. The onlly night this happened was Saturday night when they had a live band and it was quiet by 2 am. The hotel does warn you about the noise though.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Falconfixer86261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Wonderful surprises in this vintage but modern hotel right in the heart of Friday Harbor. We loved our room, the Matia, with a large and comfortable bed. Our room use shared bathrooms, which were very clean and convenient. The breakfast bar included many very yummy and healthy choices. This hotel had everything you might need, and the staff are super friendly and relaxed. This is a perfect hotel for a couple looking for a great hotel with easy walking access, and a range of prices for shared bathroom rooms to large suites with BIG bathrooms! Check it out, there are many perks for guests at this hotel and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My partner and I absolutely loved this quaint, updated vintage, eco-conscious hotel. The rooms transport you to a peaceful escape. The organic bedding is absolutely marvelous. I instantly feel asleep. We stayed in the Matia one night. The shared bathroom was the nicest I have ever had in a hotel. I love how the hotel uses large bottles of shampoo, body wash and conditioners in the shower instead of using those wasteful small bottles which tend to end up in the garbage. On the second night, we stayed in the Whidbey. It had a small kitchen area which could easily be used to prepare lunch or dinner.

The breakfast was delicious. I love that they use local produce. The fresh berries were marvelous and the scones were delicious. There was also a nice selection of organic teas. Each afternoon, the staff served up some scrumptious cookies!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hh
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Very nice BB/hotel. Friendly staff.

Wish they had more of a variety for breakfast. Also the WIFI was weak or did not work

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed 2 nights in the Marrowstone Suite. I'll start with the positives. The bed was rather comfortable. The bathroom is spacious and has 2 shower heads. The continental breakfast is solid, cookies and lemonade are available at all hours, and one of the staff (1 of 2) is courteous and professional.

Now for the negatives..

#1. Around 2:30am on our first night, we were awoken to the piercing sound of our bedroom window (located 2 feet from the head of our bed) being shattered, presumably the handiwork of one of the distinguished patrons of the nearby bars. When we approached the Bird Rock staff the following day to inform them of what had happened, a kind young lady replied, "Oh. I probably know the guys who did it."

We took comfort in knowing that the person who smashed in our window in the middle of the night was in fact an acquaintance of the staff.

#2. After our reassuring encounter with the staff, we set out for the day and had a great time exploring San Juan Island. We returned late that afternoon to our suite and found the front door completely unlocked. Mind you, this is the only suite that can be accessed without actually entering the hotel lobby. Now, you may scoff and say, "Friday Harbor is a quaint, historic town! There's no need to lock your doors!" But keep in mind that we had been in town less than 24 hours, and I'd already experienced a more direct threat on my safety than I had in the previous 10 years---when I lived in St. Louis. So, suffice it to say that I was not pleased by housekeeping's cavalier attitude towards the security of my personal belongings.

The remaining complaints are relatively trivial. The hot tub was too hot and couldn't be adjusted. The fireplace didn't really work. The 2nd night brought no more broken glass but the street noise is as loud as advertised and will require the use of earplugs.

The hotel offered no compensation for our unsolicited 2:30am wake up call. In fact, they didn't even offer a proper apology.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gjpalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Bird Rock Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Gjpalaga,
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay.
I'm so sorry and quite embarrassed about how our staff treated your concerns and safety. You are absolutely right, that it is of very little comfort to you to know that one of us may know who smashed the window. Please believe me that this is not how we usually react to complaints. This is not the customer service experience we thrive to give. I'm also very disappointed you found the door wide open. This too is totally unacceptable, small town or not. Just so you know, and I'm not trying to make lame excuses, the broken window has been a first. It was Friday. We have but one glass repair person on the island. We were trying to get him to look at it before the weekend and in the heat of the moment somebody must have left the door open (probably not our housekeepers; they are wonderful)
The fire place and hot tub could have been easy fixes, but I don't blame you for not bringing them to our attention.
Please accept our sincere apologies for our unprofessional behavior. Will you promise to contact me and give us a chance to make it up to you? I'll be back in the office on Saturday.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
steffi@earthboxinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Rock Hotel

Property: Bird Rock Hotel
Address: 35 1st St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7973
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bird Rock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bird Rock Hotel of Friday Harbor is a refreshing combination of an historic external structure and clean, modern interiors. Bird Rock Hotel’s authentic, original, old San Juan Island hotel exterior opens to an exquisitely crafted, eco-intelligent collection of stylishly modern interiors ranging from deluxe, harbor-view, king-jacuzzi suites to simple european-style sleeping rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bird Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Rock Hotel Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing