We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tavern noise terrible...Great Hotel.”
Review of Bird Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bird Rock Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auburn, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Tavern noise terrible...Great Hotel.”
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Stayed in the "Shaw" room kitty corner a local Tavern. Rock and roll till 2 am. Partiers coming and going, and yelling till 2 am as well. No notice of this till arrival when given set of ear plugs for our stay.
Not a good sleep and paid top dollar for the room which was otherwise very nice.
Great people, nice location (except for the Tavern).

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    100
    25
    17
    7
See reviews for
60
218
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2010

If your stopping off in Friday Harbor for the night -- book into the Bird Rock Hotel. The staff will make you feel right at home, help you find local sites to see, feed you delicious cookies with strawberry lemonaid, and recommend places to eat (We highly recommend Maloulas - fabulous). From check in to check out - five star treatment.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

To be honest, we did not stay at this fancy B&B right up the hill from the ferry terminal. What we did however experience gave us the overwhelming reassurance that any stay at this hotel would be a memorable one. The staff helped us incredibly and as we were non-guests that should be even further highlighted. Again, we may only be speaking of one small aspect of one’s stay in a hotel, but be certain that there is no lack of service, kindness, or comfort in this establishment.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hokiejonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Have stayed here twice, before and after renovation. I'm even more impressed now that the decor has been modernized. A short walk from the ferry, pleasant staff, a comfortable bed. The rooms are small but the outdoor deck makes it feel large. Parking is a challenge but you can park at their sister hotel in town, and besides, you don't want to bring a car to the island anyway. Take your bike and exercise! San Juan Island is always beautiful, any time of the year.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seattlekaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2010

I stayed 2 nights but wished it could have been longer. This Hotel has a unique feel to it from great rooms, soft warm furnishings, really good breakfast with fresh home made scones & good coffee all topped off by the wonderful, friendly staff. You also get free access to pool spa & sauna...perfect after a long day cycling or kayaking in the San Juans. I would definitely recommend making this hotel your base and exploring the other islands (Orcas & Lopez) from here because the ferry connections are so easy. It is very close to the Friday Harbour restaurants & ferry terminal and a great base for cyclists. Make sure you stay here!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

You are warned it can be loud and being on a hill does create extra car engine noises, not to mention the bar across the street. But you can't beat the location from the ferry and the staff is very friendly and knows the area because they live here. Even pointed me in the direction of where to see the island's resident camel. That's knowing your stuff! Orcas room was fantastic, king bed very comfortable and the flat-screen HDTV with HD channels was exceptional when it came time to rest from seeing the island. Parking can be tricky but it's manageable, at least in the offseason. Probably tougher in the high-season. Good idea to find parking (and navigate nearby shops) before the next ferry unloads otherwise you deal with heavy traffic. Tasty scones with basic breakfast. Good conversation with the hosts as well.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaselineVolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, WA
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2010

We went to Friday Harbor to relax and shake up our routine a little (and so I wouldn't have to cook every night ;-). We needed to find a hotel that had an extra room because we were traveling with our 15-month-old son. And we wanted to be close to all the shops, etc.
The Bird Rock was exactly what we were looking for! We got the Salt Spring Suite, which had a min-kitchen. My only complaint, and it is minor since I didn't want to actually cook, was that there really was hardly anything in the kitchen and the microwave didn't seem to work (although it could have been operator error; we never asked the staff about it). But, the refrigerator was plenty big enough and that was all I really cared about.
Anyway, that was just a little blip compared to how much I really loved staying at the Bird Rock. The staff, every one of them, were super friendly and helpful. They let us know that they were there to make our stay more comfortable and get us anything we needed. They were also great with recommendations for places to go eat (The Cannery for lunch & The Backdoor Kitchen for dinner were awesome!!) and places to go have fun.
The room was pretty, and had two TVs. I don't think they say that in the description. But it was really nice to have one in the living room for daytime use and one in the bedroom for nighttime use after the baby went to sleep.
As I said, the location was great too. One block up from the ferry and there is a grocery store right behind the hotel, which was wonderful for quick trips for milk and such.
Overall, I would recommend this to anyone who wants to stay at a hotel with friendly staff that is close to everything.
Wonderful place!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4321Lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
504 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Rock Hotel

Property: Bird Rock Hotel
Address: 35 1st St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7973
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#3 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bird Rock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bird Rock Hotel of Friday Harbor is a refreshing combination of an historic external structure and clean, modern interiors. Bird Rock Hotel’s authentic, original, old San Juan Island hotel exterior opens to an exquisitely crafted, eco-intelligent collection of stylishly modern interiors ranging from deluxe, harbor-view, king-jacuzzi suites to simple european-style sleeping rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bird Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Rock Hotel Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing