We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale Watching with Friends and Family”

San Juan Excursions
Ranked #3 of 25 Tours in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our Guarantee: See whales or your next trip is free! Fun and educational whale watch/wildlife cruises you'll never forget! April through September from Friday Harbor in the "sunny San Juan Islands" aboard the spacious, comfortable and stable 65 foot vessel "Odyssey." Locally owned and operated with local naturalist guides. 10% AAA, military, teacher and other discounts.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
1 review
“Whale Watching with Friends and Family”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Whale watching experience was really great, thanks to San Juan excursion staffs. They had a story to tell about each whale, so by the time you see the whales, you already know them. The vessel was good with heated cabin inside which has coffee and snacks. The ride is about 3 to 3.5 hours depending on where you spot your whales. They took us to a 30 minutes extra drive just to see another kind of whales which were passing by which was great and felt that they went out of the way just to make us happy :). San Juan Excursion have more information about whales and they do their work with lot of passion.(get ready for a small biological class :)).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rajeev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watchwhales, Front Office Manager at San Juan Excursions, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Rajeev!

Thanks for such a wonderful review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on Trip Advisor. I will pass on your comments to your naturalists, who truly are amazing with their breadth of knowledge, aren't they!? They find such joy in sharing stories about all the individual orcas, their family lines, and significant characteristics.

We hope to see you out this way again in the future and again thank you for sharing your great trip memories!

All the best,

~ The SJE Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    26
    4
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Friday Harbor, Washington
1 review
“7th Grade Marine Adventure”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Excellent time on the water with 54 7th grade students on their Marine Adventure field trip. We all appreciated the knowledge, positive energy, friendliness, and professionalism of Captain Pete, Jerusha, and Brittany. It's a trip I look forward to every year!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watchwhales, Front Office Manager at San Juan Excursions, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hi John!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We look forward to taking out the FHMS students every year. Being able to share this experience with our local community is truly something special. I will pass on your comments to Brittany and Jerusha, who look forward to the tour every year, too.

All the best to you and the entire class!

~ The SJE Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berthoud, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Tour and Knowledgeable Crew!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a great experience with San Juan Excursions. I was very impressed by the knowledgeable crew and how they interacted with all of the people on the tour. They spent a lot of time educating us about the whales and had a real passion for their jobs. I loved the photography service they provided. While we watched and enjoyed the whales, the staff was taking photos for us, and then provided them FREE of charge! I have been on many tours who take photos, then charge a large fee for them at the end of the day. Not the case here! Also, they have a wonderful "Orca Guarantee". Since we didn't see any Orcas on the day of our tour (we did see a mother humpback and her baby), we got a voucher to come back for another tour, free of charge, with no expiration date! I would definitely recommend this tour company and would take another tour with them if I return to San Juan Island someday.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MJGoodrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watchwhales, Front Office Manager at San Juan Excursions, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi MJGoodrich:

Thank you so much for such an awesome review! We are so happy that you appreciated the photos and the raincheck voucher. We try our very hardest to ensure each tour is spectacular. Seeing humpback whales is an amazing experience in itself.

I will pass on your comments to the rest of our team, and we look forward to seeing you out here again in the future!

Best regards,

~ The SJE Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Truly amazing.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

It was amazing! For the first time I've had the opportunity to see wild Orcas in the ten years I've lived on San Juan Island, and it was truly inspiring.

The crew for the day was Captain Pete, Jerusha, and Melissa. They did a wonderful job at pointing out wildlife from afar by nothing more than behavior.

When the Odyssey got out past False bay where J-pod had been reported they almost immediately started pointing and naming each of the Orcas almost as soon as their dorsal fins rose above the surface!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watchwhales, Front Office Manager at San Juan Excursions, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Luke R!!!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your awesome experience aboard the Odyssey!!! We are thrilled that you had such a great wildlife day, and I will pass on your comments to Jerusha, Melisa and Pete. Their ability to identify the orcas is truly amazing!

We look forward to seeing you out here again soon.

Best regards,

~ The SJE Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We greatly enjoyed our experience with San Juan Excursions. The crew was extremely knowledgable about the environment and the whales, each showed a strong passion and respect for the wildlife. They spent a great deal of time answering questions and educating passengers about the whales and the Puget Sound in general. One of the crew members took pictures of the orcas we saw on our trip and then e-mailed them to us free of charge. This allowed us to relax and enjoy the experience without attempting to get "the perfect shot". While some may be driven by profit this company seemed set on providing a great experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank g s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watchwhales, Front Office Manager at San Juan Excursions, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hi g s:

Thank you for writing such a great review about our company. We love to hear that our commitment to your experience shows, because we truly are here to share this wonderful place with our passengers, photos, wildlife and all!

I will pass on your comments to our naturalists who will be excited to hear that their passion is evident. We hope to welcome you aboard the Odyssey again soon!

Best regards,

~ The SJE Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Juan Excursions also viewed

 

Been to San Juan Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing