We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whale of an experience!”

San Juan Excursions
Ranked #3 of 24 Tours in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our Guarantee: See whales or your next trip is free! Fun and educational whale watch/wildlife cruises you'll never forget! April through September from Friday Harbor in the "sunny San Juan Islands" aboard the spacious, comfortable and stable 65 foot vessel "Odyssey." Locally owned and operated with local naturalist guides. 10% AAA, military, teacher and other discounts.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Memphis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Whale of an experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

San Juan Excursions was the highlight of my trip to Washington! The Naturalists on board are extremely knowledgeable of the wildlife, the islands, and the Orcas, and do whatever they can to accommodate their guests and enhance their experience. Within the first 45 minutes of our 3 hour excursion, we found ourselves among 30 Resident Orca whales, many of which were quickly identified by the crew through markings, behavior, and whale calls that you can hear via live underwater microphones.
It was a spectacular experience and worth every penny! If you find yourself wondering which tour to take (since there are many available from San Juan) your expectations will be exceeded by San Juan Excursions!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lvlup31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watchwhales, Front Office Manager at San Juan Excursions, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hi lvlup31!

Wow! Thank you for such a great review! We are so happy you had a fantastic time and that your tour with us was such a highlight of your WA adventure! We are so grateful for your comments and thank you for taking the time to share your awesome experience.

We hope to see you out here again in the future!

All the best,

~ The SJE Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    24
    4
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sedro Woolley, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My family -- 3 generations aging 9 to 70 -- really enjoyed our afternoon on the Odyssey with Captain Pete and 3 very informative and entertaining naturalists. It happened that the clouds cleared a bit and we had sunshine for most of the trip! We enjoyed seeing many harbor seals (only a couple of days before they were due to give birth) and a bald eagle in a tree above its nest, but the real thrills came from the J Pod orcas we saw near Eagle Point at the south end of San Juan Island. We had guests from Germany and India and all were thrilled at the sight of these beautiful creatures. Every breach and spy hop was greeted with cries of delight, even moreso when a mother and baby came very close to our boat! I understand that now (late June) is one of the best times to see the orcas. One couple had gone in spring and this was their 3rd try. This company guarantees you will see whales or you get the next trip free. They also provide binoculars with some form of idea as collateral. There is a snack bar and plenty of seating as well as a wrap-around deck for viewing. I spent 3 of our 3.5 hours outside and am now very sunburned. Don't forget sunscreen! Another perk is that one of the naturalists takes professional-level photos which they share via email with anyone wanting them, so you don't need great equipment or skills to get memorable photos! It's a great value! We had a Groupon deal and I believe they also give senior and AAA discounts to be sure to ask. VERY nice staff all around!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank grannyzip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watchwhales, Front Office Manager at San Juan Excursions, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hi Grannyzip!!

Thank you for such a great review and for taking the time to share your experience with us! What a fantastic family outing! We love being a part of something so special for a family to remember together.

We remember that day aboard the Odyssey, too! What a fantastic wildlife day. We are thrilled you got to be a part of it.

Thank you for complimenting our vessel, staff and company promise of the raincheck. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you out on the Odyssey again in the future!

All the best,

~ The SJE Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Made our trip to Friday Harbor worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Felt like being out on the water with family. The boat was homey and comfortable. The crew was warm, friendly and truly knowledgeable about the sea life. Their love of the orcas really shines through. Thanks for a fantastic day!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank blakjak88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watchwhales, Front Office Manager at San Juan Excursions, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Hello Blakjak88:

Thanks for taking the time to share your cruise experience!! What a wonderful compliment, we appreciate that you felt cozy and comfortable out on our tour. I will pass on your comments to our naturalists and Captain Pete, who will be thrilled to know you had such a great time.

All the best from our team and we hope you join us again in the future!!

~ The SJE Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, Washington
1 review
“What a day to spend an afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The crew is exceptional . . . smiles always . . . positive attitudes! After seeing a beautiful mother Humpback and her calf we were ecstatic, and were overwhelmed when we received free return trips because we did not see an Orca. Wait . . . Humpback verses Orca . . . are you kidding. We saw a whale and a whale calf. Wow, in a day when a person's word does not mean what it used to, this team means what they say. You may see a myriad other sea life, but if you do not see an Orca you get a free return trip with no expiration date for that return. Great stand up company!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeacebringsLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watchwhales, Front Office Manager at San Juan Excursions, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Peacebringslove!!

Wow! Reading your review brings such a huge collective smile across our faces, and we are so appreciative that you would take the time to share such wonderful thoughts about our company. It is our true goal to bring the kind of satisfaction and enjoyment you express to all of our passengers' tours. We cannot wait to bring you back out on the Odyssey with your raincheck to see an Orca. We extend our fondest thanks for complimenting our honesty as a business, our commitment to excellence, and will share this review with our whole team.

All the best!

~ The SJE Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“Orcas at Friday Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The crew was amazing! Very friendly and knowledgeable. The whale watching that day 6/17 was incredible we saw 16 different whales and they came up to the boat for great pics best day ever! .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watchwhales, Front Office Manager at San Juan Excursions, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Jo-Ann!

Yay! Yes, June 17th was such an amazing whale day, and we, too, were amazed by the photographs we got that day. I am so happy to hear your experience was just as magical!

We so appreciate you taking the time to share your amazing cruise experience, and hope to see you again in the future on another tour aboard the Odyssey.

All the best! Enjoy the photos!

~ The SJE Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Juan Excursions also viewed

 

Been to San Juan Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing