We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day on the West side of San Juan Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Seas Kayaking - Day Tours

Crystal Seas Kayaking - Day Tours
Ranked #4 of 22 Tours in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Kayak Tours, Sea Kayaking Trips & Multi-Sport Vacations
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Day on the West side of San Juan Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I have been on a number of kayak trips in my 30 years in the Pacific Northwest and this one was by far the best. Crystal Seas Kayaking picks you up near the ferry dock and takes you right to Snug Harbor. Of all the kayak places we have used this was the most easiest to get in and out of. You don't even get wet. And the views! Seals, Great Blue Herons, jumping salmon, bald eagles, river otters. The guide was great too. We will definately be back again. Would not use anyone else on the islands!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    16
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, TX
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“An Exquisite Sunset Paddle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had a total blast on the 3-hour sunset kayak trip. I was a little worried that we would be sore the next day since we are not avid paddlers. But our guide, Tim, was awesome, and gave us some paddling tips and it was all easy-breezy, and I felt fine the next day. Our group included an awesome 84-year-old woman who was there with her grandson (he did all the hard work), so really anyone can do it. And what a fabulous way to spend an evening. We saw eagles, harbor seals, all sorts of birds, vegetation, and a spectacular sunset.

The customer service was also fantastic. Months before our trip they were great about answering questions and helping us with the reservations. Everyone was friendly at the Friday Harbor location where they picked us up to shuttle us to Snug Harbor, and then they were nice enough to drop us off at our hotel on the way back. I would highly recommend this to anyone and everyone. I can't wait to go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank thePeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I went with 2 other people on Crystal Seas "4-day kayaking and biking inn to inn trip on Orcas and San Juan Islands in the end of August. We had a small group of 5 people and 2 guides, Irene and Joe. The whole experience was beyond wonderful. The accomodations were amazing, the restaurants we ate at were sumptious (there was no limit on what we could order from the menu, except that you pay for your own alcohol), the picnic lunches were sumptious. Our guides were super nice and professional and always strived to make sure we were comfortable and that they were meeting any needs we might have. We loved the kayaking . Some of the bicycling was a little strenuous, but there was no problem with getting into the van for a ride. The stops along the way at the lavendar and alpaca farms were fun. I highly recommend Crystal Seas for a super vacation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cmft746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania, US
Level Contributor
511 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Excellent kayaking trip in the San Juans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We selected Crystal Seas after reading the TripAdvisor reviews and are so happy we did. The pickup point was just a short walk from the ferry terminal in Friday Harbor. Our guide, Dakota, drove us to the other side of the island. Kayaking out of Snug Harbor meant that we started in a lovely, quiet cove and were quickly away from the bustle of Friday Harbor. We took a 3 hour trip out along the island. Dakota was knowledgeable about kayaking and the island's geography and wildlife. She provided some basic instructions to improve our paddling skills. One of the small islands had lots of birds and some sunning harbor seals, including young pups. We learned some interesting history about the various coves and a former smuggling operation. We viewed an eagle's nest (no eagle) and also saw lots of jellyfish. We saw many seals playing and swimming, and a seal popped its head up just feet away from one of the kayaks. Definitely a great activity!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nylady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

My hotel suggested this place and I'm so glad they did. I just couldn't be happier with the experience. The women who booked my trip were great and knowledgeable and super friendly. I did a 4 hour group trip and it was perfect. Our guide was Tim and you really ought to try and get on his trip if possible. A heavily bearded stoutly proportioned Buddha-gnome who maintains an insanely deep and almost encyclopedic knowledge of the various ecosystems you'll be visiting. With Tim is more than just a kayak your but an ecotour, so interesting! Again highly recommend you get on his tour. An unforgettable experience!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel_goldsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crystal Seas Kayaking - Day Tours also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Crystal Seas Kayaking - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing