We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a nice mini get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Friday Harbor House
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a nice mini get-away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

I found a good deal for this hotel online and bought a night on a whim.
This is a really nice, boutique hotel, a few blocks from the ferry in Friday Harbor. The staff were pleasant, our room had an amazing view, a gas fire-place, and a jacuzzi tub. The bed was comfy, and the amenities were good (they have baskets of board games that you can take to your room in the hallway). Our reservation came with a complementary breakfast buffet downstairs, which was excellent as well.

The restaurant (The Bluffs) absolutely made the trip. The wine selection was very nice. Our server was very helpful. I'm not a huge fan of restaurants where they plate everything to look like it's the Leaning Tower of Pisa, but the quality of the food and the cooking was OUT-STANDING.
Order the pork chop. (You'll thank me later.)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBW0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    117
    34
    22
    3
See reviews for
60
334
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We would recommend the Friday Harbor House our stay was very nice! The staff is very accommodating and also very friendly! The food was very good and we enjoyed the sockeye salmon. We also enjoyed a resonable happy hour. Make reservations for a table as soon as possible they tend to get pretty busy! We had an opportunity to meet the chef and he seems to want to please the guests and loves the feed back!! This would be a wonderful wedding gift! Loved the view and the jacuzzi tub! Suzzies mopeds were lots of FUN!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLawsonHudak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

We stayed at the Friday Harbor House so we could get out of Seattle for the night and just relax. We found a great deal online for this place and were not disappointed with the package we booked.

The hotel is a couple of blocks off of the ferry terminal and it was very easy to find (you don't need a car in Friday Harbor, everything is within walking distance). We were early so they held our bags until our room was ready. We got to check in about an hour early which was great.

The room was nice and clean and had a great view of the harbor below and the ferry dock. Just of couple of things about the room that could use improvement: the t.v. was the size of a computer screen (very small) and the bed had not great pillows and was kind of squishy. Other than that, we loved the tub and the i-pod docking station and it was convenient to have a fridge in the room as well.

We ate dinner in the on site restaurant and it was super tasty (try the manila clams, yum!). Breakfast was continental style but you can tell that they use good ingredients (high quality tea, good granola, freshly baked frittata, good scones). Overall this is a really cute place with a friendly staff and a great location. I would highly recommend it for a night away from it all!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleTraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

The room was nice and had wonderful views of the harbor. The room was expensive even though it was off season. The furniture was arranged oddly. The comfy chair had it's back to the beautiful harbor! The fireplace was a nice touch. The tub was nice but didn't fill very high and was a little small. They also did not seem to have enough parking.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenPhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

Had a great stay in this hotel. View is wonderful, it's fun to watch the ships come into the harbor and the big jetted tub even has it's own view. The service was perfect. Room was spotless. Breakfast included and was awesome. And the restaurant was just outstanding--we're used to great NW food since we live in Seattle, but really exceptional food & cocktails here.

Just had a great and relaxing time here.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view room for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoatTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

I took my wife on a surprise overnight trip for our 10th wedding anniversary to the Friday Harbor House. I had read reviews prior to selecting this location and felt it was among the best. We were NOT dissapointed! There are always a few negative reviews, although I could find no merit whatsoever to anything negative. This place is wonderful! We stayed on the 3rd floor in a corner room, so it had floor to ceiling windows on 2 sides and a little balcony. Views of the bay, docks, and ferry terminal. Fireplace, jetted tub in bathroom and nicely designed room overall with a touch of luxury. I didn't see other rooms in the hotel, however it appears that you could have some rooms that only have a very partial view or no view at all. We enjoyed that the TV's in room have DVD players built in and that the reception has a slection of some odd 300 movies to select from AT NO CHARGE. I treated my wife to a message which they offer at their in-hotel spa room. She said it was incredible. Their on-site restaurant-bar, also with those superb views and joined with a nice garden and outside area (great for summer and good weather) was classy and quiet. We did not dine there, however wouldn't hesitate at all to do so and the menu looked very good. Continental breakfast however which was included, was at the utmost high end of "Continental". Scrumptious! Nice selection of freshly made granola's, bakery items, fruits, cereals, quiche', etc. What was also pleasant for us was that mid-week and in March, it is VERY low season and we only saw a couple other folks at breakfast, and nearly nobody else during our stay. Quiet and relaxing. Off-season rates also made it a more realistic stay for us, however this is a higher dollar stay location. Staff were all very accomodating and friendly. Also, we walked on the ferry in Anacortes rather than take a vehicle as this location is only a 2 block walk from the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank restlesstogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnwood
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

I had been wanting to visit this hotel since my first visit to San Juan Island some years ago. It has a wonderful perch overlooking the marina & ferry boat landing. We stayed in corner room 26 on the 2nd floor which was spacious & nicely appointed and the fireplace added a romantic touch. There were some problems with the toilet & hairdryer not working properly. Anxious to eat in the hotel's restaurant due to the rave reviews, I was dissappointed. My husbands Waygu beef was nicely cooked to order, but my beef short rib was 'boneless?' & very dry. The couple's massage in the fireside room was very nice. All in all, I would probably stay here again, but not have dinner in the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scrockett57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friday Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friday Harbor House

Property: Friday Harbor House
Address: 130 West St, PO Box 1385, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8335
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friday Harbor House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friday Harbor House perfectly complements the charm and serenity of the San Juan Islands and delightful shops and restaurants of the town. Upon entering our lobby, a friendly smile greets you. Your room features a cozy and romantic, Zen-like atmosphere with a picture window, a fireplace and an oversized, jetted tub-for-two that is the perfect way to wind down at the end of your day. Enjoy locally-sourced cuisine inspired by the Islands at the Friday Harbor House restaurant, all while admiring panoramic views of the San Juan Channel, ferry landing and marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Friday Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friday Harbor House Hotel Friday Harbor
Friday Harbor Hotel
Friday Harbor House San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing