We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as beautiful in person as the brochure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Friday Harbor House
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2011

not only is the view of the harbor amazing, the beds very comfortable, the food excellent, and the staff very friendly, but this hotel is so close to everthing in town (except the duck soup inn which is far far from everything) that you can park your car once and then walk everywhere you want to go---if you decide to leave at all. we didn't attempt to take advantage of spa services, so i can't speak to that, but i can say that the staff were supremely accomadating in helping me arrange several surprises for our stay. the bar in the restaurant is small (4 or 5 chairs) but the view from the restaurant and terrace for any meal is breathtaking. i know there are rooms with a "partial" view or even possibly no view. we paid the little extra ($10 per night...totally worth it) for the "harbor view" room. the tub which looks into the bedroom (though does have thick curtains around it that are easily closed for privacy) was a wonderfully romantic feature of the room. but there are little extras that let you know it's family friendly too.....like the table of board games in the hallway to choose from to take to your room. we had a truly excellent stay here and would certainly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellovers82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
There are newer reviews for Friday Harbor House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2011

We spent one night at this hotel after purchasing a package including room, dinner and breakfast. On arrival we were greeted with very friendly staff, given complimentary parking at the back of the hotel and shown to our rooms. The hotel is an older building which has been extensively renovated in the rooms. Our room had a fireplace, lovely view of the harbor and large jacuzzi tub and separate shower. Everything was clean and comfortable. The restaurant is small with a lovely view. The food and service were a bit disappointing and perhaps reflect the challenge of employing trained staff on the island. Breakfast was very nice and more of a small buffet then the continental breakfast that we expected. After checkout we were able to leave our car parked at the hotel while we explored the small town. Very convenient location and from what we could tell it appeared to be the nicest hotel and restaurant in Friday harbor.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afuzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

If you can contend with having a TV from the 1990s that's to the side of your bed and unviewable, if you don't mind a tiny room, if you don't care if your mattress is so old it sinks like jello, stay here atbthe Friday Harbor House. The view from SOME rooms is great. But if you are expecting service, forget it. Everything here feels 20 years dated. Carpets are stained. Wood jambs are chipped and need refinishing. Walls are paper-thin. And the front desk never has enough people to handle the crush of visitors. The whole place feels jammed, odd for a getaway on an island that has just 3,000-odd people. Get your views during the day and save your money to spend on many of the great restaurants in town. The hotel is a huge disappointment at a ridiculous price.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

This modern hotel overlooks Friday Harbor and it is fun to watch the ferries, other boats and seaplanes come and go. We had a room that had a full harbor view, but you can get virtually the same experience from the terrace of the hotel's Bluff restaurant on the ground floor. Our room had a gas fireplace (which we used) and a whirlpool bath that looked into the bedroom from the bathroom (which we didn't). We enjoyed the food and drink at the evening happy hour, but were a bit disappointed in the complimentary continental breakfast, which we found rather monotonous. We tried to celebrate our anniversary with a massage, but this proved to be impossible to arrange during business hours for some reason, which seemed odd since the hotel features its spa services in its advertisements.

Service was very friendly, but a bit erratic. Our bed was made each day and the bathrooms were cleaned, but an aspirin table that was on the floor when we checked in still hadn't been vacuumed up by the time we left.

Room Tip: Most rooms have some kind of water view.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArnepDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

This was my husband and my first trip away from our baby girl, and it was the perfect place to stay to "transform" back into ourselves from our Mommy and Daddy alter egos! We got a corner view room and stayed up late into the night talking and watching the ferries and other boats come in and out of the harbor. The room was clean, with a beautiful gas fireplace, little balcony, and a fabulous 2 person jetted bathtub. We got a package deal with a gift package of products from the lavender store in town, a bottle of wine, and two of the best chocolate truffles I have ever tasted. The restaurant is small but has a beautiful view; I just wish they had more in the way of seafood (being on an island and all) instead of just a fancy version of traditional American fare. Continental breakfast good with excellent house made granola. Everything in town, including the ferry terminal, is within walking distance. A little pricey, but we had a wonderful time. We wished we could've stayed longer!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candlesky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

My husband took me here for my 30th Birthday. I had been looking forward to this trip for months, and both of us were extremely disappointed. First of all, there is no front desk. It's a podium, with a phone. We had to wait 39 minutes past our expected arrival time for our room to be cleaned. After we moved all of our things in our room, and started to relax... 2 housekeepers walked right into our room, without knocking... and started to clean. Their only explanation was that it was dirty. So we sat on the bed uncomfortably and waited for them to scrub our bathroom, and dust around the bed.

The bed pillows smelled like body odor... I'm guessing the housekeepers didn't have time to wash them, or replace them. The tv was placed in an odd corner, that made it impossible to watch from bed, or in any of the chairs. The soundproofing was horrible. We could hear people walking down the hall.

The hotel just seemed extremely understaffed. The view from the room was very beautiful. And, the restaurant was excellent. Those were the only two positive things I can say about our stay.

The room rate was highly overpriced for what you get. (broken luggage cart & spotty internet) We will not be returning, and wouldn't recommend this place to a friend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cityslicker101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friday1946, General Manager at Friday Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Dear Cityslicker101,

First and foremost, happy 30th birthday!

I am very sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, especially given the delay in check-in and the confusion regarding the cleaning of your room. Thank you for taking the time and effort to share your experience. We appreciate your feedback, as it only helps us improve.

We are proud of offering top notch service and cleanliness standards here in the San Juan Islands - and I apologize that we were not able to provide you with these basics at the beginning of your stay. We have already addressed this concern and once again, appreciate that you took the time to share your observation.

Additionally, thank you very much for your kind words in regards to the Bluff Restaurant and our Harbor View rooms.

I would be pleased to speak with you directly on this issue, learn a bit more about the specifics and try and make it right. Please feel free to contact me directly:

Alan Stephens, General Manager
360-378-8455.

Best regards,
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Great view of the harbor, can walk to every place in town, and can eat here or close to here.

Room Tip: Harbor view rooms are the best. See ferries, etc.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremiahred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
516 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
363 reviews
4.8 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friday Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friday Harbor House

Address: 130 West St, PO Box 1385, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8335
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range: £184 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friday Harbor House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friday Harbor House perfectly complements the charm and serenity of the San Juan Islands and delightful shops and restaurants of the town. Upon entering our lobby, a friendly smile greets you. Your room features a cozy and romantic, Zen-like atmosphere with a picture window, a fireplace and an oversized, jetted tub-for-two that is the perfect way to wind down at the end of your day. Enjoy locally-sourced cuisine inspired by the Islands at the Friday Harbor House restaurant, all while admiring panoramic views of the San Juan Channel, ferry landing and marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Friday Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friday Harbor House Hotel Friday Harbor
Friday Harbor Hotel
Friday Harbor House San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing