We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Friday Harbor House
Nearby Hotels
Friday Harbor Suites(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Earthbox Inn & Spa(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$224
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Island Inn at 123 West(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$331
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Orca Inn(Friday Harbor)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bird Rock Hotel(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Discovery Inn(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tucker House Inn(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$267
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roche Harbor Resort(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveller rating
355
126
36
24
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
126
36
24
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharbor view roompartial viewgas fireplacecontinental breakfastjetted tubcorner roomfloor to ceiling windowsthird floorgranolawithin walking distancewhale museumwonderful hotelsmall balconywonderful roomflat screen tvrooms are largesan juan islands
Filter
Updating list...
333 - 338 of 544 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at Friday Harbor House the first week in March. It was our first time to the San Juan Islands.The hotel was charming and enjoyable walking distance to town. Our room was very nice and quiet with a beautiful view of the harbor and a cozy gas fireplace.The breakfast was perfect...oatmeal with currents and large walnuts, assorted fruit, breads and a delicious steel head spread for bagels. They also have a great happy hour and I suggest the onion soup. I think all the drinks and appetizers are like $5. 5 stars from Texas

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wileyluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friday1946, Manager at Friday Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear guest-

Thanks for joining us all the way from Texas!

You named a couple of my favorite foods from our Executive Chef, Kyle Nicholson and the rest of the BLUFF team--the homemade steelhead spread and of course--the French onion soup!!!

Thanks very much for your kind review.

Regards,

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I went with Friday Harbor House because the suite we wanted at 123 was not available. We went with the partial view king, which was advertised as half water, half city. But it was definitely more city view, with a little view of the harbor if you went out on the deck. But that was fine, we were only there for one night--oh how we wish we could have been there for longer!

The room was great! It reminded us a bit of our honeymoon suit in that the jetted bath/jacuzzi opened up to the rest of the room (minus the killer penthouse view you get in the city), and it was very relaxing. They had bathsalts among their travel toiletries, which was perfect.

The Bluff restaurant is superb. It has a stunning view of the harbor. I recommend making reservations (we did this via OpenTable), as we were able to get a great window spot and noticed that those without reservations were seated away from the windows. We did a mix of happy hour along with their regular menu, and all of it was exquisite. Not to mention the included continental breakfast--one of the better included with stay continental breakfasts I've had (oatmeal, granola, dried fruits, various fruit butters, potatoes, creamy scrambled eggs, juice, pastries, salmon spread, etc), after ones in Paris.

The location is great, too, as it's walking distance from the ferry, as well as quite a few shops, restaurants, and cafes.

Service was friendly. However, if you have questions for the staff, we found it better to just go down the few floors (by stair or elevator) to talk to them directly, versus calling via the phone since there was only one person to answer, anyway. Also, I believe concierge is only available until 9pm, which was not a problem at all for us, but may be for some other guests.

In the hallway/lobby areas, there were great decor, as well as books and games for guests!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanaleilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friday1946, Manager at Friday Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear guest-

I'm sorry that 123 didn't work out for you-but I'm very pleased that you were "pleasantly surprised" by what Friday Harbor House has to offer.
Thanks so much for your kind remarks on the team, the guestroom and our abundant breakfast--we look forward to having you back!

Regards,

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

Let me first begin by saying this is the users wife to give you a wives perspective. It was a perfect surprise for an overnight get away from Tacoma. Delightful front desk girl, Lindsey, and service and recommendations for dining and anything else.
What a view! I believe all of the rooms face the harbor and ferry port and have a small balcony. Don't miss out on the nighttime view and sounds from your balcony.
The room was comfortable enough to stay for longer. Sit by the fireplace in the comfortable lounger with the cozy throw blanket or enjoy a bottle of wine with provided opener and beautiful glasses. Snacks and bottled water along with a mini fridge and great coffee and tea selection greets you. Also an invitation to the restaurant becons you to dinner there. Breakfast was healthy and felt special the next morning with egg dishes, oatmeal, yogurt and baked goods. Always finishing with a great cup of coffee.
The large jetted tub in the room was especially inviting.
Would stay again! :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OU4EVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Recently stayed at this conveniently located hotel. From the outside of the hotel my first impression was it had an uninteresting look. However, once inside my opinion changed. Our room was nice and clean, we had a nice view of the harbor and a great soaking tub in the bathroom. The staff was very nice and extremely accommodating. The continental breakfast that is included in the room price was quite satisfying. They even had really good in-room coffee. We chose to have dinner one night in the restaurant and found the menu to be full lovely choices. We are looking forward to returning in this summer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friday1946, Manager at Friday Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear Guest-

Thank you so much for your visit-we are so glad you gave us a chance and were "pleasantly surprised"!

We look forward to having you back with us.

Regards,

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The Friday Harbor House is an amazing, picturesque location atop a hill overlooking the harbor. The views from the sound-view rooms are breathtaking. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated and help you feel like you're at an exclusive spa or bead and breakfast. Of course, one of the main attractions is that all (most?) of the rooms have large jetted tubs which help you slide into the island lifestyle. Unfortunately, during our overnight stay, the boiler for the hotel broke leaving all of the guests without water. A call to the front desk had the manager in our suite to look at the issue and, unfortunately, ultimately found that it was a hotel wide problem. Being that it was late on a remote island there wasn't anything to be done until morning. However, the hotel proactively offered all guests a free night in compensation. The following day, we also got a letter of apology from the cooperate group who runs the hotel apologizing. While it was inconvenient the staff at the desk and the letter were both so friendly I feel they went above and beyond to ensure that we had a pleasant stay. We're already planning a return visit! As for the other offerings, the breakfast was tasty and local and the amenities in room were very nice as well. I've been telling all of my friends to stay here and so you should give it a try. If this is what it is like when something goes wrong, imagine how great it would be when everything is going right? :)

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friday1946, Manager at Friday Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear anthrojason:

Thank you so much for your raving review of our property and our team at Friday Harbor House!

Again, we apologize for the hot water and know that we’ve taken steps to avoid this in the future.

We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself and that you’ve decided to come see us again. We are looking forward to it!

Regards,

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews