We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel. Can't beat the location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Friday Harbor House
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We had a partial view queen room but still had an excellent view of the marina. The room was very cozy with a jacuzzi bathtub and a fireplace. It also had a small fridge which was a nice touch. (It was nice ti not have to deal with an ice machine) There is a nice selection of items at the continental breakfast. Overall, this is a great hotel and I can see why they are always booked!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissKitty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
There are newer reviews for Friday Harbor House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We specifically booked a harbor view room, and the view exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed watching the ferries from Anacortes come and go, and didn't find the ferry horn at all annoying. Our room was very clean and roomy, and we appreciated the free WIFI. Breakfast was included, and was quite good. We would stay here again. Not a "luxury resort" but may be the nicest place to stay on the island.

Room Tip: Harbor view is a must.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bevmo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I am a frequent visitor to beautiful San Juan Island and Friday Harbor, but this was our first stay at Friday Harbor House. It was a great visit! Wonderful room, well appointed. Super friendly staff. The location is terrific, central to "downtown" but up the hill with a view, so quiet at night. It is a romantic get-away. I wouldn't necessarily recommend it for a family stay--feels fairly "adult".

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JHendricksonSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friday1946, General Manager at Friday Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you so much for the great comments of Friday Harbor House. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Friday Harbor House- pluses were location, breakfast, very roomy, views & clean.
Oddities - no A/C, but one doesn't expect a heat wave in the Puget Sound. No blackout curtains, and oddly black grout in some places where the rest of the grout was white. The jacuzzi tub was nice, but was open to the bedroom with curtains that could be drawn. Breakfast at their restaurant, The Bluff, was included, which was a nice touch also.

One minus - the Inn is at the top of the hill, and there is no shuttle. If you don't fancy doing the sherpa bit up the hill, look for taxis to the left of the Victoria Clipper dock, just in front of the shops.

Room Tip: The views of the harbor are spectacular
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrnrMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Our room was large and well appointed, although the carpet and furniture could use updating. Our balcony floor was sticky and never did get cleaned, but we enjoyed our view of the water and boats. The hotel is so well located, steps up from the beautiful harbor and surrounded by restaurants.

Room Tip: A harbor view is definitely worth the money
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We did not get a room with a view of the harbor as none were available. The room was okay but very, very dark and looked onto a parking lot....this is called the courtyard view. I thought it was very over-priced for the quality of the room. The bed was too soft and the night table had something spilled on it so I cleaned it myself. There were also some weird spots on the bathroom door, too. Again for over $300 this is completely unacceptable. The complimentary breakfast was okay but no homemade scones by the time we got there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albusthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friday1946, General Manager at Friday Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

We were very appreciative of your review and apologize for the experience you had with us. We have taken all of your comments regarding this particular room and have made changes to make it more accommodating. We do always recommend booking as early as possible for the Harbor View rooms as they do book up quickly. We have also added new items to the continental breakfast. We hope you will return soon and let us show you our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is a great place to stay in Friday Harbor. Good view of the harbor, a nice front lawn for drinks etc. Easy to walk to all things in town, so primo location. Rooms have a great two person soaking tub, and a fireplace. Would love to have some GF options at breakfast, but that's a minor detail. Be sure to book your dinners in advance as many restaurants in Friday Harbor are closed on Sunday, Monday or Tuesday.

Room Tip: If you want to a balcony that you can go out on, be sure to ask for it.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lachlan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
363 reviews
4.8 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friday Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friday Harbor House

Address: 130 West St, PO Box 1385, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8335
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range: £184 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friday Harbor House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friday Harbor House perfectly complements the charm and serenity of the San Juan Islands and delightful shops and restaurants of the town. Upon entering our lobby, a friendly smile greets you. Your room features a cozy and romantic, Zen-like atmosphere with a picture window, a fireplace and an oversized, jetted tub-for-two that is the perfect way to wind down at the end of your day. Enjoy locally-sourced cuisine inspired by the Islands at the Friday Harbor House restaurant, all while admiring panoramic views of the San Juan Channel, ferry landing and marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Friday Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friday Harbor House Hotel Friday Harbor
Friday Harbor Hotel
Friday Harbor House San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing