We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a wonderful surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Friday Harbor House
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Wow. Had we known, we would have booked our entire 5 days at this one hotel and just stayed in Friday Harbor. While the front desk location was a bit confusing and unassuming, the suite was marvelous. The bath huge with all the nicest of amenities including a ceiling heater in the water closet and a jetted tub. We had taken many ferries and felt like we'd been traveling forever. When front desk personnel took us to the room, I immediately collapsed on the most cozy and comfortable of beds for an afternoon nap. The suite had reading material on the hotel, restaurant choices and included full breakfast. A sliding glass window lead out to a beautiful harbor overlook. A gas fireplace, very clean, very comfortable and many small details made this stay our favorite in a five day tour.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
There are newer reviews for Friday Harbor House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We loved it here! Had a room with a view of the harbor. It had a tub with the view, and a fireplace as well. Also there was a good selection of books in the room which was nice. The bath products were good, too. There are 2 bathrobes provided. The staff was friendly and helpful and even walked you to your room. There was a fridge in the room, with a bottle of wine (they also included a bottle opener) and water.

Don, the breakfast chef, was so nice and gave us tips on what to see around the island.

There were some comments about the ferry being loud, but it wasn't at all.

We are definitely planning a return trip here.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank riddle2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friday1946, General Manager at Friday Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you so much for the great review of Friday Harbor House! Please remember us for a romantic get-away again for Valentine's weekend. We enjoyed reading all your comments and hope others will come and experience for themselves this amazing place with a breathtaking view!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had a corner room on the 2nd floor, facing the harbor and it was beautiful. huge bathroom, windows on two sides of the room. The service was excellent. The view was beautiful. The breakfast was GREAT!!! Felt like we were in a secluded spot, but yet at the same time felt like we were in the middle of everything. I Highly recommend this hotel...make sure you get a room with a view!.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a view room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

First off wow what a view, it's pretty cool to wake up and see the city of boats in the fog early in the morning and at night with the wall size windows you can watch the ferries coming in from the bed. The rooms are nice and peace full, we couldn't hear any one else. The restaurant food was so-so, but the hotel was nice and professional.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Qsroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

First the positives, we reserved a room facing the harbor, if staying at the harbor house, it is the only room you want. Absolutely stunning view of the sound, ferries, and boats. Great location, can walk every where in town. Fireplace and spa tub. Great bed, very clean and large rooms. The continental breakfast was ok, not great. Loved the coffee, they served the San Juan Island coffee. The homemade bagels were awful, but the homemade granola was very good. Served in the bluff restaurant, nice view. Very pleasant and helpful staff. The only negatives for us was the drains didn't work well in our room and not enough towels. Definitely would stay there again!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 34,35 or 36....harbor front
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here several days in September and truly loved the location!! We were fortunate to get a balcony room with a water view. I would never return without getting the same room. It's the best!! It was so fun to watch the ferries, as well as lots of other happenings in the harbor. When we arrived we found a shattered wine glass on the balcony, and Morgan came to sweep it up immediately. He was courteous as could be. We found the service to be wonderful our entire stay. We loved the large mugs and nice wineglasses in our room. The rooms are great, very modern and comfortable. We did notice the tables seem worn, as do some parts of the room. That is why I give this property only a four star rating. Once you have have stayed at the Allison Inn in OR it's hard to give any hotel five stars unless they are flawless. It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel and we will highly recommend Friday Harbor House to our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellynewmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

During our trip to San Juan Island's whale watching excursion we were fortunate to get a room here!
The B&B is so conveniently close to the ferry, the boats that take you whale watching and awesome restaurants. All within walking distance. The room was spacious, clean, modern updated and cozy! The jacuzzi tub and fireplace were wonderfully relaxing after driving up from Seattle and a long flight in from Tennessee two days prior to arriving on San Juan island.
The breakfast was awesome, service attentive and friendly, the view from the room and dining area into the bay...spectacular!
Great job on making us feel comfortable and cozy!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tnrunrgrl262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
516 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
363 reviews
4.8 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friday Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friday Harbor House

Address: 130 West St, PO Box 1385, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8335
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range: £184 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friday Harbor House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friday Harbor House perfectly complements the charm and serenity of the San Juan Islands and delightful shops and restaurants of the town. Upon entering our lobby, a friendly smile greets you. Your room features a cozy and romantic, Zen-like atmosphere with a picture window, a fireplace and an oversized, jetted tub-for-two that is the perfect way to wind down at the end of your day. Enjoy locally-sourced cuisine inspired by the Islands at the Friday Harbor House restaurant, all while admiring panoramic views of the San Juan Channel, ferry landing and marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Friday Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friday Harbor House Hotel Friday Harbor
Friday Harbor Hotel
Friday Harbor House San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing