We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Tub and Amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Friday Harbor House
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel was on a bluff over looking Friday Harbor. It was very nice and the staff was accommodating . We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel. The food was excellent. Both breakfast and dinner were made from fresh, quality, ingredients. We had a ground floor room that opened onto the outdoor patio of the restaurant. Not very private. The in-room Jacuzzi tub was fantastic after a long day's bike ride. If I had not been part of a bike tour I probably would not have chosen this place since it was pretty pricy for what it was. I guess that is to be expected at the height of tourist season. Probably one of the nicest hotels in the town of Friday Harbor.

Room Tip: Avoid ground level.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smeissne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
There are newer reviews for Friday Harbor House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in a Harbor view queen room for two nights in July . The room was on the second floor and had a nice view but with all the people sitting outside for happy hour we lost our privacy. Would be nice with a balcony but all in all the room was good. Fireplace and a tub which we did not use due to that it was a beautiful warm summer night. It was nice to sleep with the glass door open .
The included breakfast was ok but strange that the restaurant staff did not wipe down the tables for dew out on the lawn for guests to enjoy the sun and view. We did it ourselves and other guests then came out as well to enjoy their breakfasts outside.
The staff was ok , not overly friendly but polite.
I would stay here again but next time on the third floor so it would be more private and not having to listen to people walking above us.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bestefar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

OK, it's on an island where you need to get to the ferry 2 hours early, water is scarce and everything needs to be trucked in at great expense. This place has the best LOCATION and it is so memorable we have been there twice. Its hard to believe that people can complain because of the price when the rooms are spacious, nice, well furnished and the view is UNBEATABLE. Parking maybe a but tight, but what does the best property in SJI cost? This is an excellent small hotel with just 23 rooms and even the "town view"rooms have a partial water view. Service is good, breakfast is included and did I mention the view is spectacular. The only disappointment was that the restaurant (Bluffs), one of the best in FH, was closed on Monday and Tuesday due to a lack of staff.
Great rooms, view, service. I recommend it highly. But watch out for my wife, she makes people take pictures if us overlooking the harbor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FredStl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friday1946, General Manager at Friday Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hello Fred,
Thank you so much for your kind comments. Our commitment next summer is to be open 7 days a week lunch and dinner or maybe all day. We are busy planning and appreciate your critique as we continue to perfect our beautiful Inn. We look forward to your return.

Margie O"Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Friday Harbor House is a wonderful thing to do for yourself. Splurge and get a harbor view room with a spectacular view of the harbor and the ferry activity.
The staff is friendly and attentive and can arrange for anything you might want to do. The restaurant is also fabulous and there are other very fine restaurants within walking distance. Very romantic experience.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Donk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Friday Harbor House is ideally located atop the bluff overlooking scenic Friday Harbor. It's a short walk from the pier either up the stairs (one block away - 75 stairs) or, if dragging bags, about 3-4 short blocks (uphill). The rooms are spacious, very clean, and well appointed with modern furnishings. Each room also had a new gas fireplace (not needed during my stay). The entire staff (desk, restaurant, housekeeping) was friendly and helpful throughout my stay...even provided a ride to the local post office to mail souvenirs home! (THANKS, Margie ;-) ) We stayed in 2 rooms over 4 days. Rm 11 overlooking the bay with an awesome view and free access to the back lawn; and Rm 39 overlooking the town with a partial water view. Both rooms were quiet, comfortable and more than adequate. I was very pleasantly surprised that a seaside "mom-n-pop" style hotel was such an outstanding value. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a relaxing retreat on San Juan Island. Easily within walking distance to all Friday Harbor restaurants, shops, the Whale Museum, and more. Loved it!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MikeStheRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a nice room overlooking the water with a fireplace and a small balcony. The price was right and it was a charming place to visit. Loved looking at the boats coming and going. This was very convenient to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgorgegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at this property in mid-June. The Island is lovely. We had a great view of the harbor from our first floor room. As the restaurant was closed the night we stayed, we had a picnic dinner on one of the lovely tables provided just outside of our room. The breakfast was very good. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. We were disappointed that the restaurant was closed for dinner on the night we stayed, as we had heard it was great, and wished the staff had informed us of this upon making the reservation. Friday Harbor is very quiet in June from what we could tell. Most shops were closed by 5 or 6 p.m. The weather is a little cool at that time as well. The rooms could use a bit of updating/soundproofing but otherwise a great location on a beautiful island.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are probably quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAP34550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
516 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
363 reviews
4.8 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friday Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friday Harbor House

Address: 130 West St, PO Box 1385, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8335
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range: £184 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friday Harbor House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friday Harbor House perfectly complements the charm and serenity of the San Juan Islands and delightful shops and restaurants of the town. Upon entering our lobby, a friendly smile greets you. Your room features a cozy and romantic, Zen-like atmosphere with a picture window, a fireplace and an oversized, jetted tub-for-two that is the perfect way to wind down at the end of your day. Enjoy locally-sourced cuisine inspired by the Islands at the Friday Harbor House restaurant, all while admiring panoramic views of the San Juan Channel, ferry landing and marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Friday Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friday Harbor House Hotel Friday Harbor
Friday Harbor Hotel
Friday Harbor House San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing