We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected plesure!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snug Harbor Resort & Marina
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2011

A majestic get away. The dock and water at your foot steps. We kayaked south to see the Orcas the first day. Kayaked north the second only to see Orcas again. The outside grilling area could not have been better. Everything you need to have a five star meal with a five star view.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennys-food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

It was a nice and peaceful place with great surroundings. We stayed at the studio room and it had everything we needed. This is a great place for bigger groups as well. They have bbq's that we could use, picnic tables to enjoy their view and even horseshoe pits. Complimentary canoe is also a great bonus. It is a busy place during daytime since it's also a marina and the staff can be quite busy. The only comment we have is a bit of a musty smell in the room and no restaurants that are that close so if you don't plan to cook in, you have to drive all the way to the city center.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The resort was was nice, clean rooms, I Ioved the view too, Michele was a delight, very helpful & polite, but Jim the "manager" was not & just rude at times,would think twice before going back because of him

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank naturelover515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We wanted a nice camping site on the west side of San Juan where we could launch our kayaks and hopefully see some Orca whales...WOW were we pleased!!! Well kept, clean sites with bathroom/showers close by...very friendly/helpful people. I would quickly recommend Snug Harbor Resort to anyone planning to visit San Juan and bike/kayak/camp this beautiful island...

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SladeIverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We needed a camping spot to spend time with our grandson. We found Snug Harbor and they had openings...lucky for us...The owner/manager was very friendly as was the woman on the phone who took our reservation. It's right on the bay and the camping area was clean, easy to get to the bathroom-2 of them...very clean, updated and a shower. You can see the bay from almost all of the 10 camping spots. We had firewood left at our fire pit which was great.
We had deer walking by very close to us and heard crickets and frogs during the night...There is a small beach to walk on...just perfect...We will definitely be back...maybe, stay in one of their cabins. Wish we could have spent a couple more days.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank generic1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

My husband and I usually stay at the Friday Harbor Inn, but prices keep going up and we wanted to try a westside location. After reading reviews on this website I was concerned about this facility, but we were very pleased we stayed here. I can only comment on the Nor'wester cabin which is the style we were in, although there are several other styles and even campsites. The cabin was cozy, clean and nicely appointed with a gas stove/oven, microwave oven, tv with some basic channels and nice covered deck. The dishware, cookware, & fridge meant we didn't have to leave for meals if we didn't want to (read: saved us money). We are kayakers, so staying here was great since we didn't have to drive anywhere to put in or leave our car unattended - we just walked down to the water! The check-in staffperson was very kind and upbeat and other visitors/boaters we encountered were also friendly. There are 2 communal campfire pits with wood provided and 2 gas grills, also plenty of picnic tables right at water's edge. There are whale watching and kayaker outfitters leaving from the marina, so if you want to take advantage of those they leave from the dock just steps away. The cons: NO CELLPHONE SERVICE. I thought I'd be worried being out of touch for so long, but I got over it. Go into Friday Harbor for cell phone service (not sure if Roche Harbor gets service?). Another traveler told us the Snug Harbor store had wifi but we didn't verify this. The outdoor gas grills need updating (ignition switches broken) or need to have working lighters (both had broken ones), but we managed to get ours going anyways. The resort store / office is only open from 9-6 so get your purchases or questions handled then. Bottom line: this isn't a fancy "resort" with room service and pampering, but the location, cabin we stayed in, staff and price were great and made our stay here a happy one.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ameliamalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Spent the long weekend at Snug Harbor and while I found the scenery and activities amazing I found the facility itself very tired and in need of some major money for basic upgrades. Two public restrooms for a facility this size just don't meet the needs of patrons. The management folks were eager to help in any way they could but just can't keep up with the maintenance required to keep this place running. Don't believe I would ever return to Snug but the area is incredible.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irish911guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
7.4 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
366 reviews
6.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
492 reviews
7.4 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
527 reviews
12.2 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
174 reviews
14.7 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Resort & Marina

Address: 1997 Mitchell Bay Rd, San Juan Island, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range: £93 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our 17 cabins and three suites are spacious with beautiful interiors, expansive glass, vaulted ceilings, full kitchens, and uninterrupted, stunning views. Snug Harbor's incredible setting is unparalleled on San Juan Island. Arriving by boat is always an option, since we have our own private marina. We are perfectly located for adventures throughout the islands. Once you arrive and explore the resort, you will discover the unique features, comforts, and amenities provided to each of our guests. We strive to make each guest's visit amazing and memorable. We offer four paddle boards, two kayaks, canoes and bikes for the complimentary use by our guests. Our own Mitchell Bay Coffee is open daily offering an array of coffee beverages, local pastries, waffles, soups, and more. And if you are looking for somewhere to host an event, our new events room with seating for up to 50 is now available. When you come to Snug Harbor be ready to detach a little. This is an ideal place to unwind and relax (while we have free wi-fi throughout the property and great cell phone reception, there are no phones in the cabins). Allow the peace and serenity on Mitchell Bay overtake you. We believe our guests have said it best. One recent Trip Advisor review stated "This place is truly paradise" and our favorite Facebook post simply stated "The cabins are epic". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Marina Hotel Friday Harbor
Snug Harbor Resort & Marina Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing