We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Treasure”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snug Harbor Resort & Marina
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We recently stayed in the "tree house" to celebrate our anniversary and were so pleased with our accomodations and the Resort staff!! The tree house is secluded from the other units, has a great view of the harbor and is well furnished (fully stocked kitchenette...for those who want to stay in and prepare food that they bring and a jetted tub in a large bathroom) for a quiet weekend away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Friday Harbor. We arrived prior to the posted check-in time, just to look around before we decided what to do with our day and were promptly and warmly greeted by Kenny, the manager and another staff member, Michelle. Both were very friendly, accomodating and shared details of the resort with us to make our stay more enjoyable.

This property is truly a hidden jem! It's in a gorgeous location that is easy to find, there are various types of accomodations to cater to all types of visitors and seems like a great place for families to stay. There is a small general store/gift shop in the lobby, a horse shoe pit, fire pits, complimentary canoe use, a BBQ and a number of outdoor seating areas right on the water. We were lucky enough to be there in time to see all of the beuatiful falls leaves and sail boat racers returning from a race.

Traveling with pets? We had our large, energetic puppy with us as well and they were very pet friendly!! There is plenty of room for your dog to roam with you around the property.

We will definately stay at this resort again!!!! Many thank you's to Kenny for helping to make our visit an enjoyable one!! I will be telling my friends about the Snug Harbor Resort!!

Room Tip: The Tree House is not only great for a couples romantic getaway, it would work well for a small fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mebo799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    52
    13
    6
    7
See reviews for
130
193
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in the tree house for a weekend in mid-October. We arrived later than anticipated, due to ferry delays, but we contacted the front desk and they were so kind to turn on the heat and leave the lights on for us. It was our first time in San Juan Island and definitely left a good first impression. The tree house was very spacious and cozy. It's fully furnished with a queen size bed, a pull out futon, a kitchenette with all the necessities, dining table, tv, a full bathroom with towels, basic toiletries and a Jacuzzi tub! And waking up to the view of beautiful Mitchell Bay was icing on the cake.

Snug Harbor Resort is approximately a 15 minute drive from Friday Harbor, where we spent most of our day. It rained most of the time we were there so we couldn't take advantage of outdoor activities, but that was expected. Snug Harbor would be perfect for a summer trip and a great alternative to pricey hotels/resorts in Friday Harbor!

Cons:
- There is no overhead shower, just the handheld attachment.
- Poor WiFi connection (but this shouldn't be a big deal in the summer where you can spend most of your time outdoors)
- Noises (only because I'm a light sleeper): The house creaks a lot and the heater makes noises, if you leave the heater on.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snugharbormanager, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you for the nice review Naice, the Tree House is one of my favorites. We will look into the WiFi issue and add a clip for the handheld on the overhead bar. Thank you for helping us make Snug Harbor a better place to stay.

Erik Nelson, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2011

It was the last weekend in October. Saturday was BEAUTIFUL and Sunday wet. We Kayaked for 2 days and had a blast! Snug Harbor Resort was clean and quiet and we practically had the place to ourselves. I am told that the place has a new manager, "Kenny" and he is a super nice fellow as is the lady who runs the store. My girl friend and I had a great time tent camping and enjoying the evening looking out over the harbor. I highly recommend the place and recommend going in the off season for a different, reasonably priced experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stayed right on Mitchell Bay. Kayaking four days saw Orcas two days. Beautiful, peaceful comfortable what more can i say. I totally recomend this resort!

Room Tip: We stayed in the tree house and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed in the "tree house" - beautifully redecorated, tastefully redone, really nice place to stay away from the noise and commotion of Friday Harbor on the other side of the island. You will need a car to stay here - but worth it. Also free use of canoe, firewood facilities, store, etc. Very nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiller620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2011

A majestic get away. The dock and water at your foot steps. We kayaked south to see the Orcas the first day. Kayaked north the second only to see Orcas again. The outside grilling area could not have been better. Everything you need to have a five star meal with a five star view.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennys-food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

It was a nice and peaceful place with great surroundings. We stayed at the studio room and it had everything we needed. This is a great place for bigger groups as well. They have bbq's that we could use, picnic tables to enjoy their view and even horseshoe pits. Complimentary canoe is also a great bonus. It is a busy place during daytime since it's also a marina and the staff can be quite busy. The only comment we have is a bit of a musty smell in the room and no restaurants that are that close so if you don't plan to cook in, you have to drive all the way to the city center.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
7.4 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
331 reviews
7.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
477 reviews
6.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
130 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
487 reviews
12.2 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Resort & Marina

Property: Snug Harbor Resort & Marina
Address: 1997 Mitchell Bay Rd, San Juan Island, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#2 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our 17 cabins and three suites are spacious with beautiful interiors, expansive glass, vaulted ceilings, full kitchens, and uninterrupted, stunning views. Snug Harbor's incredible setting is unparalleled on San Juan Island. Arriving by boat is always an option, since we have our own private marina. We are perfectly located for adventures throughout the islands. Once you arrive and explore the resort, you will discover the unique features, comforts, and amenities provided to each of our guests. We strive to make each guest's visit amazing and memorable. We offer four paddle boards, two kayaks, canoes and bikes for the complimentary use by our guests. Our own Mitchell Bay Coffee is open daily offering an array of coffee beverages, local pastries, waffles, soups, and more. And if you are looking for somewhere to host an event, our new events room with seating for up to 50 is now available. When you come to Snug Harbor be ready to detach a little. This is an ideal place to unwind and relax (while we have free wi-fi throughout the property and great cell phone reception, there are no phones in the cabins). Allow the peace and serenity on Mitchell Bay overtake you. We believe our guests have said it best. One recent Trip Advisor review stated "This place is truly paradise" and our favorite Facebook post simply stated "The cabins are epic". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Marina Hotel Friday Harbor
Snug Harbor Resort & Marina Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing