We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cousins weekend”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snug Harbor Resort & Marina
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We had a great time at Snug Harbor, this is our second time staying there. The scenery is beautiful and so quiet. All the people working there were so nice to us and very helpful. I would stay there again, looking forward to the new units. With nine people in our group we had two boats and two of the two bedroom units, great fun and very relaxing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snugharbormanager, Manager at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank you Teri B for the nice comments. We to are looking forward to the new cabins. They are really going to be fantastic! Hope to see you and your crew again soon.

Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

Judging from the photos and reviews of those who stayed in the Tree House, I wish we had gotten that unit. Our unit was clean which is something I expect of any place I pay to sleep in. I didn't expect the fridge to be so incredibly old that it had rust or something pitting out the exterior of the fridge door. It took so long to warm the place up that my hands were still popsicles when I fell asleep. Also the 19 inch old school TV had poor reception and no cable. The place had a mobile home feel, which isn't bad, but it isn't what I was expecting. The grounds though are a whole different story. The area is as beautiful, peaceful and quiet as other reviewers have stated. We were lucky enough to see an eagle in the tree right in front of the new construction. Firewood was graciously provided for those who wanted to use the fire pit and we would have, had we not been so tired and cold that evening. I may stay again in the new cabins that are being constructed if some of the issues are resolved with the heat, the appliances and the TV, or if the price was significantly reduced.

Room Tip: Cabin #8 the Norwester is the one with the rusted fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SeattleD19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snugharbormanager, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Dear SeattleD19,

I wanted to apologize for not fullfilling your expectations during your recent stay with us. I appreciate your feedback regarding the issues that came up. A replacement refridgerator was on our maintenance list for this spring and it simply did not get done and had fallen off of our "to do" list. It is now back on that list. We were not aware of TV signal problems and will verify our cable connections to all the units. We do have cable in the units, equipment ordered 45 days ago arrived yesterday that will increase our overall channel selections to 30 channels. Finally, there is no excuse that the heat wasn't turned up in advance of your arrival. That is standard policy for us and it simply was not done. Thank you for bringing these items to our attention. I will be emailing you a coupon for a free nights stay should you be willing to return and give us a second chance.

Erik Nelson, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The resort exuded such a serene vibe for me; it was nice and peaceful, and simply an excellent spot to be away from high rise buildings, crowds, and noise. The staffs are so friendly and very accomodating, they even warmed up the place before we got there (how nice). My girlfriend and I checked out a studio cabin (Tree house wasn't available anymore :( ), but it was spacious enough to "snug" a couple for a lovely night. The first thing we noticed was the cabin was impressively clean and organized! In the kitchen area, there was sufficient utensils, glass, bowls, etc. microwave, a small fridge, coffee maker. The living room has a futon, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was functionally spacious and did I mention very clean already!! And if you like to whale watch, the staff there can arrange that with you as well, which they did with us. My overall experience at Snug Harbor was just awesome! I would definitely reccommend to friends or anyone inquiring a spot at San Juan Island! :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estioco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This was sort of spur of the moment trip away. We need to find a place away that we could bring our dogs. Snug Harbor turned out to be perfect. The Tree House was great. It was clean and very warm and cozy. It could use a few more items to cook with though, maybe a larger fry pan???
It had a great view of the harbor and surrounding coast. Lots of wildlife to view as well. Deer, otter and fox were everywhere. The weather was okay but what cna you expect this time of year.
The host were also very gracious. They showed us a couple of the units and explained what was nearby we could enjoy.
We will be back!!

Room Tip: The view from the Tree HOuse is great. Not good for more than a couple though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The Resort: Snug Harbor resort is situated in a sheltered harbor and overlooks the other side of the harbor. Views from the property include the marina and houses scattered on the opposite shoreline. The resort has a small store which was scantily stocked (but probably due to the fact that we visited in the winter), a fire pit, bbq areas, and some outdoor seating. There are also kayaks available and a pier to walk along. If you’re looking for peace and quiet and somewhere to unwind, you will not be disappointed.

The owners / managers worked with us to change our original reservations due to a snowstorm and greeted us cordially when we arrived. There was only one other couple staying in the resort when we were there, but I would believe even when full each guest would be treated as special!

The Accommodation: We stayed in the Tree House, which was set back a little from the other cabins and accessible via a separate roadway. The view makes it very special. You have a completely unobstructed view of the harbor and boating area. There is a small personal deck outside which in warmer weather would be great for watching the world go by. Inside, the Tree House had a bedroom, a small living area, a small kitchen and a separate bathroom. There were sufficient utensils and pots and pans etc. (but no kettle – only a coffee-maker) to do most things, but the fridge was a little small. We were glad we had also brought a couple of coolers with us. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom large enough to be functional.

There were ample power sockets throughout and everything was well maintained. The TV had limited channels (just local) but that wasn’t an issue for us. The property boasted wifi but unfortunately the coverage was a little spotty and we needed to be patient to maintain connections. Cell phone coverage for AT&T was virtually non-existent. As I say, this is a place to get away from it all! One little oddity was that as it was so quiet at night you could hear all the creaks and groans of the property. The heating ‘bubbled and creaked’ and the water ‘gurgled and burped’. I’m not sure, but I think the Tree House may be directly above the water supply for the resort and there was certainly a little noticeable noise coming from it during the night!

The Good: Peace, tranquility, caring owners / managers, clean accommodations, views, you get the picture!

The Bad: Inconsistent wifi, cell coverage, limited TV, limited kitchen appliances, sparsely stocked store (but it was winter)

Overall: If you’re looking to escape from everyday life and make your own memories, you will love the peace and quiet that is Snug Harbor Resort. If however, you are a towny at heart and want all the mod cons, please book another property and leave Snug Harbor to those that appreciate it! Totally recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcx27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Beautiful setting, lots of privacy, managers very helpful and friendly. Our stay of 2 nights in January was extra quiet and peaceful. We arrived after office hours, but room was open, heat and lights on for us. This would be a great family get-away in the summer months. San Juan Island has many places to explore by land or by boat. We will be back sometime in our boat. Moorage rates are reasonable, protected harbor.

Room Tip: We chose Treehouse because it offers the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My boyfriend and I went here for New Years and it was so great!! We stayed in the treehouse and that was a lot of fun. It was quiet and serene. We had great weather, blue skies and beautiful! From the ferry to the resort was a beautiful drive as well. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
6.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
483 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
359 reviews
7.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
163 reviews
7.1 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
162 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Resort & Marina

Address: 1997 Mitchell Bay Rd, San Juan Island, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#2 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range: £97 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our 17 cabins and three suites are spacious with beautiful interiors, expansive glass, vaulted ceilings, full kitchens, and uninterrupted, stunning views. Snug Harbor's incredible setting is unparalleled on San Juan Island. Arriving by boat is always an option, since we have our own private marina. We are perfectly located for adventures throughout the islands. Once you arrive and explore the resort, you will discover the unique features, comforts, and amenities provided to each of our guests. We strive to make each guest's visit amazing and memorable. We offer four paddle boards, two kayaks, canoes and bikes for the complimentary use by our guests. Our own Mitchell Bay Coffee is open daily offering an array of coffee beverages, local pastries, waffles, soups, and more. And if you are looking for somewhere to host an event, our new events room with seating for up to 50 is now available. When you come to Snug Harbor be ready to detach a little. This is an ideal place to unwind and relax (while we have free wi-fi throughout the property and great cell phone reception, there are no phones in the cabins). Allow the peace and serenity on Mitchell Bay overtake you. We believe our guests have said it best. One recent Trip Advisor review stated "This place is truly paradise" and our favorite Facebook post simply stated "The cabins are epic". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Marina Hotel Friday Harbor
Snug Harbor Resort & Marina Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing