We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snug Harbor Resort & Marina
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

What an Amazing experience!! Great staff, wonderfull panabo and so much wildlife!!
Every evening a nice bbq enjoying the sunset. Went kajakking with the orka's! It was so nice to see them and with no disturbing from motor. Nature at his best.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnugHarborOwner, Manager at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you Tony. We hope we made your long travels rewarding with your experience on San Juan Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    53
    14
    6
    7
See reviews for
136
198
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Snug harbor is located away from the main harbor and touristy area. We visited in April and had great weather. And maybe even the entire resort to ourselves. We stayed in the first cabin which was nice and close to our car.

We utilized the canoes and the Bon fire area and grills. It was easy to feel at home here. We didn't even turn the tv on. The main bed was comfortable. The loft could be difficult for some to crawl up to. And the not as comfortable mattress is on the floor and there is little headroom. A great place for kids to sleep


The cabin was well appointed and had lots of storage. The bathroom was a bit tight.

Snug harbor was definitely a relaxing place and a great place to go explore the island. Staff-forget his name- was very accommodating and makes you feel welcome.

Highly recommend if you want to go a little bit off he beaten path but with the comforts of home.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. I hope you had a great time venturing here to the Northwest from Minnesota. We invite you back to try out the new cabins along the waterfront that will be built this winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We specifically asked for one of the new cabins when we reserved. Instead when we arrived they gave us a Rustic Panabode. These are stuffy, run down, and extremely tight quarters for which I wouldn't even pay $100 per night. The resort was charging $250!!!

To their credit they refunded our money and we went off to the terrific Lakedale Restort.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr3332849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnugHarborOwner, Manager at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
We are sorry we did not meet your needs. When I made your reservation I made it very clear that none of the new units were available. We spoke on more than one occasion. I'm glad you were able to get inland accomodations at Lakedale. They do a nice job there. Waterfront property is extremely expensive in the San Juans. This has a significant impact on our rates. If we wish to be truely on the waters edge it is more expensive than other locations. I hope your stay in the San Juan Islands was truely memborable. I hope we can earn your business in the future in one of the new cabins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Reasonable and located in a quiet area, we really enjoyed our stay. The staff is very friendly and had lots if great suggestions on what to see, what to do, and where to eat. There is even a coffee shop on site. They also have free use of canoes for paddling around the immediate bay area. We would definitely stay here again, especially since they are pet friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJB99usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for visiting with us from so far away. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at Snug Harbor Resort for 2 nights. Our little cottage was one of the units closest to the water, which we loved. Our cottage (4) was very outdated though, the bathroom had a terrible musty, unclean smell that permeated the whole place. There was a futon in our room as well as a bed. The bed was comfortable but the futon was covered in dog hair. We were unable to set our clothes on it or even sit on it ourselves without having dog hair on us. I would recommend staying at Snug Harbor but splurging on the more expensive, more modern cottages.

Room Tip: Choose one of the newer, updated rooms. If you are riding your bikes on the island be aware that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Heather,

Thank you for the review and your comments. We strive to have all our units spick and span at all times but pay esspecially close attention to the water front untis since they are older. I apologize it was not to our standard level of cleanliness for your visit and we will share your comments with our housekeeping staff. This winter all the waterfront cabins will be replaced with the same new cabins that have been built in the back. I hope you will come back and stay with us again in the newer units.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed for two nights in one of the new Panabode 2 bedroom cabins, and loved it! These new cabins are beautiful and sparkling clean, with all pine wood inside and lots of windows for light and a terrific view of the bay. We were there mid-week so it was very quiet and peaceful.
The cabin has a full kitchen with cooking pots, utensils, silverware, glasses, plates, coffee cups, and an electric coffee maker and a French press, as well as 2 of those hotel style coffee packs and sugar packs but no creamers. There is full size fridge, stove, microwave and large gas barbeque grill and picnic table out on the deck. There is also a TV, DVD player and a docking station with speakers for your Ipod.
The bedrooms are a bit small but I thought the bed and pillows were comfortable and the linens nice. There are bedside tables with lamps, though one of the lamps in our room wasn't plugged in and I didn't see a plug close enough for it. Each bedroom also has a wardrobe for clothes and/or luggage. I didn't see an in room safe. The bathroom had lots of towels, little bottles of shampoo and body lotion and there was also a hair dryer. The shower was great with good water pressure and plenty of hot water.
They are building more of these cabins so we did hear a bit of noise from that but I thought it was minor. We stayed in cabin 14. It was the farthest from where the construction was going on, and I think also had one of the best views.
The resort has a small store where you can buy snacks, souvieniers, drinks, ice cream, etc. and next door is a coffee shop and small gift store with clothing, hats, photographs ect. available for purchase. The coffee shop wasn't open while we were there which was disapointing because I had planned to get latte's and oatmeal there for breakfast. We didn't buy groceries because we decided to drive into Friday Harbor for meals. It's a short drive and worked for us, but this is definitely something to consider because the food in the little store is nothing to write home about..things like chips, crackers, cup 'o noodles, mac n cheese, etc. So if you want a nice meal in the evening you either need to bring food and cook it or head back to Friday Harbor.
One of the things I enjoyed the most was that we were able to walk down to the marina from our cabin to depart for both whale watching tours (I recommend Legacy Charters) and sea kayaking tours as well. Also there are canoes available to use to paddle around the bay.
All in all we had a really lovely time and I am looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a two room panabode up on the hill, number 14. These cabins offer the most privacy. Cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeruTraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for the extensive review and I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. My wife and I have put a lot of heart and soul into the cabins and it is gratifying to hear stories of people enjoying them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed for three nights in a N'oreaster cabin, and it was fantastic. Our 8 year old absolutely LOVED the loft! Not long after arriving we saw two otters in the harbor and a bald eagle flying overhead. It is close enough to Friday Harbor that you can pop over there to eat at any of the restaurants, or shop at the grocery store to bring food back to your well equipped cabin. Everything was clean and well kept, and it was great to have a nice TV and wireless throughout. We would have liked for the Cafe to have been open during our stay, but maybe because it was mid-week an don't yet summer, it was closed. But we would HIGHLY recommend staying here. It was awesome.

Room Tip: Kids really will love the lofts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
6.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
461 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
353 reviews
7.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
152 reviews
12.2 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
157 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Resort & Marina

Property: Snug Harbor Resort & Marina
Address: 1997 Mitchell Bay Rd, San Juan Island, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#2 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our 17 cabins and three suites are spacious with beautiful interiors, expansive glass, vaulted ceilings, full kitchens, and uninterrupted, stunning views. Snug Harbor's incredible setting is unparalleled on San Juan Island. Arriving by boat is always an option, since we have our own private marina. We are perfectly located for adventures throughout the islands. Once you arrive and explore the resort, you will discover the unique features, comforts, and amenities provided to each of our guests. We strive to make each guest's visit amazing and memorable. We offer four paddle boards, two kayaks, canoes and bikes for the complimentary use by our guests. Our own Mitchell Bay Coffee is open daily offering an array of coffee beverages, local pastries, waffles, soups, and more. And if you are looking for somewhere to host an event, our new events room with seating for up to 50 is now available. When you come to Snug Harbor be ready to detach a little. This is an ideal place to unwind and relax (while we have free wi-fi throughout the property and great cell phone reception, there are no phones in the cabins). Allow the peace and serenity on Mitchell Bay overtake you. We believe our guests have said it best. One recent Trip Advisor review stated "This place is truly paradise" and our favorite Facebook post simply stated "The cabins are epic". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Marina Hotel Friday Harbor
Snug Harbor Resort & Marina Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing