We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOLIDAY WEEK END”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snug Harbor Resort & Marina
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Apple Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HOLIDAY WEEK END”
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Spent the long weekend at Snug Harbor and while I found the scenery and activities amazing I found the facility itself very tired and in need of some major money for basic upgrades. Two public restrooms for a facility this size just don't meet the needs of patrons. The management folks were eager to help in any way they could but just can't keep up with the maintenance required to keep this place running. Don't believe I would ever return to Snug but the area is incredible.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irish911guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    53
    14
    6
    7
See reviews for
136
198
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2010

I read the reviews on this site from up to three years ago. Thank goodness things change. I will say my experience this past weekend was: "Serene and Beautiful" - The owners listened to the feedback and have been upgrading each cabin. The staff is delightful. Michelle is a joy to talk to. Snug is a little slice of heaven. Kayaking, bird watching, hiking, relaxing. Go see for yourself.
Mark Matteson

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markmatteson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

You need a rental car to get to the west side of the island or take the taxi but stop and get groceries before heading over. The resort has individual cabins that look out to Mitchell Bay. Bald eagles are nesting in the trees, harbor seals are floating or sun bathing right outside your window. Staff are friendly and extremely helpful, they told us where the local markets were which saved us money and the San Juan Bakery was a gem. We had a wonderful stay and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Cabins are very modern and clean with nice view. Staff is very friendly. Would recommend staying. Whale watching tours and kayaking leave from Snug Harbor.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iowatravelers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

A week after posting my review "A HUGE Disappointment!" on May 5, 2010, I received a response via e-mail from the owner of Snug Harbor, Erik Nelson, apologizing for our experience, explaining the revamping they're currently undertaking, and requesting any further comments or suggestions I could offer to make Snug Harbor a better place. I replied via e-mail to thank him for addressing my concerns, expressed in greater detail the nature of my disappointment, and invited him to phone me if he wished to speak further on this matter. I am very pleased to say he did phone me, we spoke at great length discussing our perceptions of this Resort, and he even offered and sent me a partial refund to compensate for our experience and for my input. I am most pleased to say that the owner of Snug Harbor was very attentive to my comments/concerns and has the best of intentions for improving the quality of this resort.

Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank travelswithdoggie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

This place has gone downhill fast and everyone who has been to San Juan or lives on San Juan knows it. What a shame. From the managment to the maintenance someone either just doesn't care or doesn't know the amount of money being lost and the waste of reputation that is happening right now. Decade long slip owners are pulling out and the fun and advernture of this quaint Marina is all but gone. Something needs to change.

Wake up Owners!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livealittleWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2009

The management at Sung Harbor took GREAT care of us. They were very flexable and made our stay very enjoyable. The rooms were clean and had every thing you would expect in a cabin. Very quite and layed back. We stayed in the TREE HOUSE and it was very nice and quite. You have a lot of different thing to choose from to do.

Many thanks,
Bill and Doris
SLC, Ut.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildWilliam24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
6.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
459 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
352 reviews
7.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
152 reviews
12.2 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
156 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Resort & Marina

Property: Snug Harbor Resort & Marina
Address: 1997 Mitchell Bay Rd, San Juan Island, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#2 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our 17 cabins and three suites are spacious with beautiful interiors, expansive glass, vaulted ceilings, full kitchens, and uninterrupted, stunning views. Snug Harbor's incredible setting is unparalleled on San Juan Island. Arriving by boat is always an option, since we have our own private marina. We are perfectly located for adventures throughout the islands. Once you arrive and explore the resort, you will discover the unique features, comforts, and amenities provided to each of our guests. We strive to make each guest's visit amazing and memorable. We offer four paddle boards, two kayaks, canoes and bikes for the complimentary use by our guests. Our own Mitchell Bay Coffee is open daily offering an array of coffee beverages, local pastries, waffles, soups, and more. And if you are looking for somewhere to host an event, our new events room with seating for up to 50 is now available. When you come to Snug Harbor be ready to detach a little. This is an ideal place to unwind and relax (while we have free wi-fi throughout the property and great cell phone reception, there are no phones in the cabins). Allow the peace and serenity on Mitchell Bay overtake you. We believe our guests have said it best. One recent Trip Advisor review stated "This place is truly paradise" and our favorite Facebook post simply stated "The cabins are epic". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Marina Hotel Friday Harbor
Snug Harbor Resort & Marina Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing