We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "Glamping"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great "Glamping"”
Reviewed 9 July 2008

We spent two nights "glamping" in the canvas tent section of the campground resort over the Fourth of July. Such fun! It was a perfect mix of true camping and yet having all the bedding, portable lamp, and fire pit all taken care of. (Especially since we had flown in from California and couldn't possibly bring all the usual camping equipment.) The location is just pristine greenery with birds and fish - the quintessential family camping experience. I highly recommend it, but don't bother with the upgrade. (Ugly overpriced ponchos.)

  • Liked — Lovely scenery and comfortable tent
  • Disliked — Didn't need the upgrade
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelsavvy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    99
    41
    26
    8
See reviews for
166
128
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2008

Despite being from Seattle, only 3 hours away, this was our first visit to San Juan Island. I booked the Lakedale Resort because the website made it look so serene and picturesque. Well, the website didn't mislead: the resort is as terrific as it looks! We rented a cabin, which was rather pricey, but the floorplan was just what a family needs. We have two teenagers and they had the bedroom, while my husband and I had the loft bedroom + bath. The kitchen was great for all our meals and we cooked out every night on the BBQ. We truly took advantage of the resorts' ammenities: sitting out on the lodge deck to read, playing chess in the lodge lobby, viewing the free movies, hiking the property and enjoying the cabin. The grounds are so well maintained and since our Cabin (#3) was right next to the hot-tub gazebo, we took advantage of that too! Even the little General Store on-site was nice. You can rent fishing gear and a canoe (one thing we didn't do) and we saw people catching trout right outside their cabin. My photos of the stay are even beautiful. :) NOTE TO THOSE MAKING A RESERVATION DIRECTLY WITH THE RESORT: Ask for the AAA rate if you are a member. I am a member but didn't know that they had a special rate and they didn't offer it to me when I made the reservation. I could have saved a little money and I was disappointed that they wouldn't give me the AAA rate when I went to check-out. It was my fault but it would have been nice if they had offered it to me either when I made the reservation or when I checked out. Live and learn....

  • Liked — The setting and the beauty of the surroundings.
  • Disliked — The cost.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaseyBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2008

The Lakedale Resort is an absolutely beautiful place. It sits in the middle of San Juan Island on a peaceful lake. There is a large outdoor porch and a nice lobby. Its location is convenient for getting to both sides of the island and all the various sights and things to do on the water.
This is a great spot for getting away from it all, but is close to lots of outdoor activities.
San Juan Island is a great place for nature lovers. You can book a whale watch to see Orca whales or rent a kayak and try to find them on your own. The scenic beauty is breathtaking and there are lots of hiking and walking trails. After all this activity, the Lakedale Resort is wonderful to return to and relax. Lime Kiln State Park and the British and American Camps on the Island are great places to visit.
The restaurants there make a point of using fresh and locally grown ingredients. We had wonderful meals at the Duck Soup Inn and The Place, as well as Steps Wine Bar.

  • Liked — Its rustic beauty.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berkwilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2008

My husband found this place. It was our first time on San Juan Island and what a treat. The room was beautiful and looked out over the lake. I think we were the only ones who used the deck. Not sure why! It was great. Lakedale is still close to town but far enough out that you feel like you're in a hidden away lodge. Very comfortable. The jetted tub was so soothing. The staff was a mix-all friendly. We never saw the same person twice. A couple of them were very very friendly and happy and helpful and the others were friendly enough but seemed to want to be somewhere else. That certainly didn't affect our stay. We loved it and will go back again as soon as possible. We've always stayed on Orcas, but will come back to San Juan Island again, for sure. This is an excellent place to stay, especially if you can get in on a special. Thin walls (as you'd expect from anywhere these days) and a small bed, these are the only less-than-perfect aspects of the place that we could see. Go there!

  • Liked — That it was out of the main downtown area but still close enough when we wanted to go into town.
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WolfTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2008

The cabins were cute with a nice fireplace. The downstairs bathroom was cold, not a big deal but we did have a mouse in our cabin. I was worried about the mouse because of fear of hantavirus and other disease around the kids. Maybe I'm paranoid but the fresh droppings every morning were creepy. It was the off season so the desk shut down at 5p.m. and they would forget to bring us coffee for the next day/towels. There is no resteraunt or nearby store for coffee or breakfast and we felt forgotten by staff. Tried the hottub but it was too dirty to go in. Maybe it is better there in the summer but I don't think we'll go back to find out.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank nomiceplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2008

Rented a cabin for a family of four for two nights while attending a wedding in Friday Harbor. Arrived late and keys were waiting for us. Cabin was rustic and very attractive. Kitchen was well equipped. Breakfast for first morning was in refrigerator. The cabins are in a beautiful setting. The resort is close to town.

The only problem was related to heating. The entire cabin is heated by the gas fireplace in the living room. That was fine for the living room, kitchen and upstairs bedroom. The downstairs bathroom had no heat and remained very cold all the time. The downstairs bedroom had a separate electric heater built into the wall. Every time it cycled on, it made a loud rattling noise which made sleeping in that room difficult. I notified the front desk about the problem the first morning of our stay but they did not fix it. So two of us did not sleep well for two nights.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aspen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2008

Four of us rented one of Lakedale's cabins for a cozy getaway on the San Juans. The cabins are great - 2BR, 2BA, nicely furnished, gas fireplace, equiped with a full kitchen, and we could even bring our dog. We arrived late and the staff had left so they just taped a key and friendly welcome note to the lodge door. They also provided a basket of breakfast muffins, cinnamon rolls, Starbucks coffee, hot chocolate and cider mix, cereal and milk on the first day. There are some things to be aware of: the upstairs "bedroom" is really an open loft so has limited privacy, and the lodge is about 4.5 miles from Friday Harbor and more than that from other attractions so don't expect to walk anywhere except on the property (although that is large and quite nice). The breakfast basket doesn't get refilled and the place is not cleaned unless you request it (which we actually preferred).

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — No internet.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
3.5 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
415 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
331 reviews
4.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
130 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
487 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#7 of 10 in Friday Harbor
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes

Property: Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes
Address: 4313 Roche Harbor Rd, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-9754
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 82-acres, with three spring water lakes, Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes is an ideal San Juan Island getaway. Easily accessible by ferry or floatplane from Seattle, Lakedale Resort is nestled between Roche Harbor and Friday Harbor on San Juan Island, Washington. It’s a one-of-a-kind experience and a breath of fresh air – literally.Lakedale Resort features a variety of accommodation options, including a 10-room lodge, real log cabins, canvas cabins for a fabulous glamping experience, and camping. Lakedale Resort near Roche Harbor and Friday Harbor is also a great destination for teambuilding, meetings, and retreats, providing you with an inspirational setting to achieve your goals. Your group will enjoy the many activities that Lakedale has to offer including swimming, fishing, and canoeing on one of our three lakes. Or imagine taking over the lodge for your wedding and having your ceremony overlooking Fish Hook Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakedale Resort At Three Lakes Hotel Friday Harbor
Lakedale Resort At 3 Lakes
Lakedale Hotel San Juan Island
Lakedale Resort San Juan Island
Lakedale Resort At Three Lakes Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing