We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Camping Review” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Camping Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at Lakedale for three nights and we had a fantastic time. The place has lots of things to do for kids that are easily bored. The facilities are clean, the staff is friendly and the camping sites are excellent. The only reason that I am not giving it five stars is that we originally were given a site along the road with no trees. I seriously question why anyone would be put there because the sites would be unbearable on a sunny day. However, when we saw an unoccupied site the staff was very helpful to allow us to move. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Excellent camping resort except stay away from the sites along the highway with no trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank groupleader66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    98
    40
    26
    8
See reviews for
165
125
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayyona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I can't understand why anyone would give this place a bad review. It was clean, well maintained and everyone was friendly and helpful. We loved the canvas cabins. We got much more than we expected. We would definitely recommend it to everyone. It's a great place for everyone, not just kids.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimjaeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I recently had a wedding at Lakedale. As many of you know, its hard to plan a wedding, and even harder to plan one that is on an island. I live in the greater Seattle area so going back and fourth between locations was something that I had to plan for. Going back and fourth (when needed) was very simple. The ferries are always on time and as long as you are there early, you will get on. From there, getting to Lakedale is very simple. When coordinating the logistics of the wedding, Lakedale staff were very responsive to all of my questions and went above and beyond in many areas. The planning of the wedding was seamless. The actual wedding day was amazing and I would not have been able to do it without the talented, responsive, efficient Lakedale staff. They met and exceeded every need that I had and helped to create the best day of my life. I had no worries at all. From setting up the reception, setting up the signs, the chairs for the ceremony, cocktail hour prep, you name it - they were on it.

As far as the guests, we had a majority of them stay at Lakdedale, almost renting out the entire resort. This worked out SO well for several reasons (Thank you Lakedale front desk staff for making this SO easy, split checks and all!).
1. We were able to see our guests for more than a night; most of them came up a day or two in advance to make a vacation out of it. It was so great to spend time with people that we knew we would only see for a second on our actual wedding day.
2. The guests were able to make mini vacations out of our wedding, taking their own time to explore the island (Thank you to MaryAnn and her map!!)
3. The guests did not have to drive home and take the ferry after the wedding. With our wedding going until 10pm, they were all able to relax and enjoy the night, knowing that they didn't have to catch a ferry the same night.
4. Everyone was relaxed and kids were occupied! The resort brings such an atmosphere of serenity and relaxation, everyone was relaxed. We did not have the "high stress" atmosphere that I sometimes hear about during pre-wedding activities. There are so many activities for kids, they were all occupied with smiles on their faces. Not to mention, there are many activities for adults as well! From fishing to paddle boarding, canoeing and ping pong, all guests were entertained at their own leisure.

After such an amazing wedding, I would recommend getting married at Lakedale to anyone. The landscape is gorgeous and made for impeccable pictures, the staff's knowledge, responsiveness, and kindness made the logistics so much easier. From all the stories and pictures, we know our guests had a great time. Even more, this was our dream wedding and everything was absolutely perfect. If you are looking for a place to get married, I know that Lakedale can make your dream wedding come true as well!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Seems like this is a great resort for kids to play and swim and row canoes around a small lake. But for adults just wanting to tent camp in a natural setting, you can do much, much better for a much more reasonable nightly fee. The campsites in the area we camped in were basically lakeside lawns; not exactly my cup of tea. On an island where campgrounds are scarce, perhaps it should be expected, but the fact remains that of the 4 campsites we stayed at in the san juans, this was by far the most expensive. It cost almost twenty dollars a night less to set up a tent at Moran St Park, where you could actually camp on a beautiful lakeside, in the shade of a thick forest of trees looming high above.

My advice is to skip this place unless you want a place for your kids to play, or unless you're interested in staying in a nice lodge.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank NateW747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3Lakes, General Manager at Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hello NateW747 !

Thanks for staying with us and giving us feedback ! Lakedale offers so much more than camping. We have incredible lakeside canvas cabins, a lodge with 10 rooms, 7 real log cabins along with RV sites and an Airstream trailer that perhaps you might come back to enjoy! Lakedale also has a general store, three lakes stock with trout, boat rentals, ping pong, volleyball, giant chess set, bocce ball, horse shoes, swimming and so much more than any state park has to offer ! We do hope that you return and enjoy our entire facility !

Sincerely,
Karl Bruno
GM Lakedale Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I read about Lakedale in Sunset magazine and couldn't wait to check it out. I was disappointed with the reviews NOT the resort. Our family stayed in the glamping tent. Yes they are close together but the entrances face completely away from each other, giving you a very private feel. We had a partial view of the lake and never saw any of the others staying up there on the hill with us. We must have had very considerate neighbors because it was so quiet, I expected to hear voices, you are in a canvas tent after all. It IS glamping when you don't have to put up a tent, start a fire to eat breakfast and best of all a comfy, warm bed to sleep in. The breakfasts consisted of hardboiled eggs, 3 different types of cereal, fresh fruit, juice, tea,hot cocoa, pancakes, oatmeal, muffins and most importantly good strong coffee. The staff was wonderful, it is very laid back, that's what we love about the San Juan Islands, it has a great vibe that feels like you are a world away. The kids loved the lake, no swimmers itch! They control the geese problem in humane ways, and a shower will take care of it anyhow. The tokens were free and more than enough, people were giving them away. We painted bird houses in the activity tent, and hiked a bit seeing whales for two solid days. If you are an adult couple that does not want to be bothered by gleeful children I recommend the 14 and up resort on Lopez Island. Otherwise relax, kick back and splurge, it's not cheap it's the SJI's. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msix411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We spent a night at one of Lakedale Resort's lakefront glamping tents and was not disappointed. Friendly and accommodating staff, well stocked store and lots to do therefore perfect for the entire family. Volleyball, life size chess board, ping pong, kayaking, canoeing, row boating, fishing, tie dying, arts and crafts, bicycling or just relax by the lake and enjoy the tranquility and beauty. The tent itself had all the conveniences (queen bed, comfortable futon complete with warm blankets, dining table, night table, lantern, towels, lawn chairs and a fire pit. Quiet time is between 10pm - 8am and it truly was quiet in spite of all the children enjoying themselves during the day. Accommodations include a lodge, cabins, airstreams for rent on camp site, glamping tents, regular camp sites for those basic campers as well as sites for your camper. Bathroom and shower areas are very close for convenience and clean. We look forward to returning again for a longer stay!

Room Tip: You have lots of options at Lakedale Resort depending on what kind of experience you are looking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PetersonFamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have tent camped here for two years in a row and can't wait to go again. Clean facilities, fun activities and swimming area. We enjoyed the games and the treats at the general store. The staff is very friendly and outgoing.

Room Tip: buy firewood outside of the resort. There are lots of roadside stops for firewood bundles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Summer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
4.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
4.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
3.5 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
3.9 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes

Property: Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes
Address: 4313 Roche Harbor Rd, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-9754
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 82-acres, with three spring water lakes, Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes is an ideal San Juan Island getaway. Easily accessible by ferry or floatplane from Seattle, Lakedale Resort is nestled between Roche Harbor and Friday Harbor on San Juan Island, Washington. It’s a one-of-a-kind experience and a breath of fresh air – literally.Lakedale Resort features a variety of accommodation options, including a 10-room lodge, real log cabins, canvas cabins for a fabulous glamping experience, and camping. Lakedale Resort near Roche Harbor and Friday Harbor is also a great destination for teambuilding, meetings, and retreats, providing you with an inspirational setting to achieve your goals. Your group will enjoy the many activities that Lakedale has to offer including swimming, fishing, and canoeing on one of our three lakes. Or imagine taking over the lodge for your wedding and having your ceremony overlooking Fish Hook Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakedale Resort At Three Lakes Hotel Friday Harbor
Lakedale Resort At 3 Lakes
Lakedale Hotel San Juan Island
Lakedale Resort San Juan Island
Lakedale Resort At Three Lakes Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing