We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
silver spring
Level Contributor
321 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed in the main lodge and loved it. Although rustic looking, it's actually quite modern and comfortable. Good wifi coverage and an outstanding breakfast (try the pancake machine). And a super friendly staff. With great views over the lake, this is an ideal place for a restful and relaxing vacation. Plenty of things to do, or do nothing at all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drbking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    99
    41
    26
    10
See reviews for
169
133
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Went group camping for a week, I advise never using the G2 group camping site. Uneven, rough, probably the ONLY place on the site that gets zero shade until about 7pm.

Positive side: kids could ride around on their bikes, had plenty of space for our group.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful grounds, super friendly staff, very clean. Only 2 things that throw the whole experience off - TRAFFIC noise & cabins are practically on top of each other. Too bad, otherwise practically perfect in every way! An expensive $$$, beautiful canvas cottage, bed sooo comfy! Wonderful to have bathroom attached & not so close to other campers - (the only one!) Too bad they located game area right in backyard of cottage & busy main highway right across pond in front of cottage, otherwise just as picture perfect as pictures suggest! (If only pictures had volume!) I'll keep looking for the perfect, a little more secluded, glamping experience. Very crowded for being so complicated to get to. Tent camping looked fun! Looked like a great place for a family vacation. Lots to do for kids. Not so great if you're looking for a more secluded, quiet retreat.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coloradodusty08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have wanted to visit the Lakedale Resort for a few years now and finally had the perfect excuse for a getaway when I signed up for the Lakedale Resort Half Marathon this summer. Everything about my experience was amazing!

My trip started out with a gorgeous ferry ride over to Friday Harbor. The town of Friday Harbor is very quaint and a lot of fun. The drive over to the resort was beautiful and relaxing. When we arrived at Lakedale Resort, the first thing I noticed was how friendly everyone was. Check in was a breeze and in no time we were enjoying the grounds. My favorite thing about this place is that there is something for everyone. You can stay in the Resort, camp out in the camp grounds, get your own private cabin, or go "glamping" in one of the canvas cabins. I was lucky enough to stay in both the lodge and in a canvas cabin.

My first night my friend and I stayed in the lodge. There was a BBQ that night for people in the race. The food was delicious, all homemade by Maryanne, one of the full time staff members. The staff was extremely friendly and we got to know Maryanne very well by the end of our trip. She was always bustling about the grounds ensuring that everyone had everything they needed. She also heads up the breakfast in the lodge. The second we sat down to breakfast the next morning, she came out and greeted us, asked how our first night was and made us the best omelettes! We sipped coffee on the beautiful back deck overlooking the lake.

The next night, after the race, we moved to the canvas cabins. We had so much fun in our canvas cabin! This was my first time "glamping" and it was a blast. You get to feel as though you are camping but don't have to sleep on the ground! The lodge provides a little bag in the cabin that has warming bags and other goodies for your stay. We tucked the warming bags into the sheets when we went to bed and they kept us warm all night. The cabin was adorable and very clean. We had our own fire pit and the staff started a fire for us as soon as we asked for it. If it weren't for them, we would have been trying to start a fire all night! We never had to wait for anything. There is a little country store on the grounds that has everything you could want. We bought smore's sticks and some delicious dried fruit that Maryanne makes and sells there. It is the best! They have everything from dinner items, dessert, wine, beer, clothing and other gadgets in the store, so if you forget anything you don't have to drive all the way back into town. That night we took a paddle boat out on the lake to watch the sunset. It was very relaxing.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone. It is perfect for kids, romantic for couples and a blast for a girls trip. I loved the vibe of the resort and truly enjoyed my stay. Staff was very attentive and I cannot wait to go back next year! If you haven't made it to the San Juan Islands before, this is the perfect place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed in a canvas cabin fir 3 nights at Lakedale. Everything from the cleanliness of the cabin to the helpfulness of the staff was amazing! The hot water bottles in the evening to warm our toes were a real treat! The showers and washrooms were clean and well taken care of. The tokens that they gave us, they gave us 2 each per day, gave us a 5 minute shower but I swear it was longer. We fished, rode our bikes, made tie dyed shirts, canoed, and played life sized chess everyday. I can highly recommend this resort as a great place to stay for young and old. Next year I want to stay longer!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank cscmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at Lakedale for three nights and we had a fantastic time. The place has lots of things to do for kids that are easily bored. The facilities are clean, the staff is friendly and the camping sites are excellent. The only reason that I am not giving it five stars is that we originally were given a site along the road with no trees. I seriously question why anyone would be put there because the sites would be unbearable on a sunny day. However, when we saw an unoccupied site the staff was very helpful to allow us to move. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Excellent camping resort except stay away from the sites along the highway with no trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank groupleader66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayyona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I can't understand why anyone would give this place a bad review. It was clean, well maintained and everyone was friendly and helpful. We loved the canvas cabins. We got much more than we expected. We would definitely recommend it to everyone. It's a great place for everyone, not just kids.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimjaeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
3.5 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
441 reviews
3.9 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
139 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
489 reviews
11.5 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
4.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes

Property: Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes
Address: 4313 Roche Harbor Rd, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-9754
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 82-acres, with three spring water lakes, Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes is an ideal San Juan Island getaway. Easily accessible by ferry or floatplane from Seattle, Lakedale Resort is nestled between Roche Harbor and Friday Harbor on San Juan Island, Washington. It’s a one-of-a-kind experience and a breath of fresh air – literally.Lakedale Resort features a variety of accommodation options, including a 10-room lodge, real log cabins, canvas cabins for a fabulous glamping experience, and camping. Lakedale Resort near Roche Harbor and Friday Harbor is also a great destination for teambuilding, meetings, and retreats, providing you with an inspirational setting to achieve your goals. Your group will enjoy the many activities that Lakedale has to offer including swimming, fishing, and canoeing on one of our three lakes. Or imagine taking over the lodge for your wedding and having your ceremony overlooking Fish Hook Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakedale Resort At 3 Lakes
Lakedale Resort At Three Lakes Hotel Friday Harbor
Lakedale Hotel San Juan Island
Lakedale Resort San Juan Island
Lakedale Resort At Three Lakes Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing