We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Claustrophobic rooms”
Review of The Orca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Orca Inn
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Claustrophobic rooms”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The location was good. Short walk to town. It was the room that was on the small side. Barely big enough for a full size bed which one side was up against the wall. Headboard side was away from wall so heat/air would not be blocked.

Room Tip: Good only if you need a place to sleep and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papa Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orcainn, Manager at The Orca Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to offer a review.
You are right, our Micro rooms are very small (although we have King and Double Queen rooms that are twice the size for just a few dollars more). However, we're pleased that we're able to fit a lot into that small space, including a microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV, bathroom and shower, and even an air conditioner (which a lot of hotels on the island don't offer).
It's also a good location...far enough from downtown to avoid the noise and traffic, yet close enough to walk.
Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    110
    64
    21
    21
See reviews for
60
114
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Cheap and clean rooms. The wooden panelling and heavy wood furniture give a 70s sauna feel to the experience and the "micro-queen" rooms are honestly described. Quirky showers. Easy walk into town and all of the facilities and activities there.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank janeyk419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

OK this is very basic place just to crash.
If you want to laze around,feel good and want to hang indoors stay away from this place.
But if you are going to go out for biking/zip lining and just need a place to crash this is what you need.
Good stuff:
Economical
Clean basic facility
In downtown so you wont run out stuff to do
Bad stuff:
Small rooms
Thin walls you will hear people flushing and coughing as well
no breakfast -no coffee machine

On busy day they wont let you check in early -we had to wait for 3 hours before they gave us room keys.

This was not at all pleasure trip for us we came rushed back one day early to get some sleep .

Room Tip: Check for new rooms/new furnished , some rooms had new AC and new beds ours was quite old which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NilayNeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Friday Harbor hotels

California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent two nights this month at the Orca Inn. The room was small, but since we booked last minute this was all that was available.

Good points:close to town, wifi worked well, had fridge & microwave, hot water for shower, tv, bed was comfortable, and had plenty of parking.
Not so good points: ac was loud and took awhile to cool off room, room was small/layout of furniture wasn't great, and no ice machine.

Owners/staff were friendly. It did appear they were installing new ac's in some of the units. Would consider staying again, but would get a larger room.

Room Tip: Request a deluxe king. Rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

If all you need is a place to sleep for one night but you also have hygiene and cleanliness standards this is the place for you. Nothing fancy but it is clean, and you also get AC/Heat, TV, microwave, and fridge. Most of the day activities in Friday Harbor are adventurous and pretty draining so all you will have the energy for is sleeping anyway. Bed was very comfortable. I left clean and rested without breaking my bank account!

Room Tip: The micro sized rooms are good enough if you only need a place to sleep for one night. Yes, they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The good thing about this place is affordability and location. The location is within walking distance (12 min) of Friday Harbor shops and food. Aside from this,
a) the rooms are very small
b) the furnishings are not great. I did not feel comfortable with the bed, seeing how there was some hair around the bed and the cover was very worn.
c) you can hear people in the other rooms
d) showers are very special (hot water for no more than 10 min, then wait 20 min for next shower)

Cheap can go both ways. It's light on the wallet, but you also get what you pay for. The staff was nice and friendly and I did manage to get a good night's sleep. However, I would not stay here again nor would I recommend anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jigga_JZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Its not just that the rooms are small, but the motel owners are cheap. We arrived early yesterday just to drop off luggage, but they don't have a storage area, we were told to dump our bags on top of the junk clogging up a supply closet. I asked if there was a bathroom to use, and they directed us to the Shell 2 blocks away. (Really? The office manager must have some bathroom to use.) When we actually checked in hours later we also discovered: the blinds didn't work, the AC didn't work, the shower door didn't close, the floors were slimy, the windows dirty, the mattress was warped and the loud noises from the broken mini fridge kept me up all night. Oh, and remember to read the website because your bikes can't come inside, they have a cheap bike rack for everyone to share in the parking lot. Bonus! At 7 am the alarm clock in the room next to us went off but no one was in the managers office to turn it off (paper thin walls). So the alarm went on incessently until we left. The only good things about this place is the WiFi. Seriously, spend a few more $$ and go elsewhere.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
12.5 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orca Inn

Property: The Orca Inn
Address: 770 Mullis St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8083
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Orca Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend a night...Not a fortune! It's really simple: Smaller Rooms = Smaller Rates. At The Orca Inn, we are proud to offer the smallest rooms in the state of Washington! Which means we have the lowest hotel room rates on San Juan Island. (Of course, for just a few dollars more, we have larger King and Double Queen rooms). With the money you save, you can spend more on amazing whale watching tours, incredible kayak trips, and other island adventures that you will remember for a lifetime. As Mr. Carson once said, "The business of life is the acquisition of memories." And at the Orca Inn, business is good! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Orca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orca Hotel Friday Harbor
The Orca Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing